We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
South Molton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I hate to say how great this place is That I DID want it to Become Too Popular !
Goal I owe it to Jean Phillipe & the team to Say That the riads are huge and styllish and n Is the pool. the breakfaats are brilliant and nothing is Too Much Trouble for thiers guests. Which miss it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank weso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    42
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
183
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is a beautiful setting and the place is very relaxed in every way. The swimming pool was a great size and the pool area in general was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and Philippe, the manager, couldn't have been more charming and genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying ourselves. It is a little way out of Essaouira - about 8km - but it was easy to get a taxi there and back for about 9 euros each way. There are some very good restaurants in the medina, but I have to say, 2 of our best meals of the holiday were actually at L'Arganeraie - a delicious lamb tagine on our last night and an amazing fish tagine prepared for us by Jawad who managed the restaurant and bar - it was superb! In addition, Jawad also arranged a 'meshwi' (lamb cooked Berber-style in an underground oven) one evening which included Berber musicians, and a fantastic belly-dancer (who was actually one of the other hotel guests!).

We rented a ground floor half-riad. It was spacious and comfortable and pleasantly decorated, and the young lady who cleaned for us each day did a great job. We loved the breakfasts - moroccan pancakes with a selection of jams, home-made peanut butter, freshly squeezed orange juice and a choice of eggs. All of the meals were freshly prepared with excellent local produce to a very high standard. I would say that the charm of this place is in its very personal service, in the interaction with individual staff and the great ambience. We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCALBRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Just spent a week at this place with friends and families. We were all very disappointed with the place and spent a full day trying to find another place to move to at the last moment. Unfortunately, all the other riads with pools were already booked by then so we ended up staying.
First, they told us we had 6 rooms (which we paid for) and then gave us a villa with 5 but told us there were 6 rooms when we checked in. We also found out there was also no hot water in the half the bathrooms or the kitchen.
The pictures on the internet are very misleading. The place was not a hotel or anything resembling it. More like a collection of empty houses that they are trying to rent out. No hot water, the wrong number of bedrooms, kids had to sleep on sofas in the salon, kitchen had almost nothing in it - even the stove was not connected to anything. THe only things they provided were beds, towels/linens and a sofas to sit on. We booked for a party of 13 (6 rooms) and they gave us a villa with a table with 4 chairs and 3 lounge chairs outside. It really didn't work for a group of 13.
You are also far from town and shopping or restaurants and have to prearrange transport - cost is about $20 each way to town.
It was very hot in July, so you could really only swim in the morning or late afternoon. There was nothing to do the rest of the day unless you hired a car and went in to town. THere is no AC in the houses and it's quite hot during the day, but cools off at night as long as you leave all windows open and don't mind a few flying friends coming in.

On the positive side, the pool was very nice for the kids, breakfast was fine and the bartender was good but that was about it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukrsally2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

L'arganerie is 8km from essaouirea town, a cheap taxi ride and one you'll be glad you took!.
It's a magical place, the stunning majestic riads pepper the beautifully well kept grounds( with tortise!!), the main house with pool are in the middle of the property, it's a sight to behold. The staff here are exceptional and the food is scrumptious, i'm still dreaming about the home made peanut butter- I kid you not it's amazing!
We had a wonderful time here it's very relaxing, serene and calm- just what we needed. Our riad was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. This place is ideal for families, friends, couples.....just about everyone in fact! we met friendly donkeys, goats and cats on our way to the shop and the locals are very hospitable and friendly.
Phillipe is a true gentleman and he and his staff will do their utmost to make your sojourn a very pleasant one. You won't be dissapointed and you'll keep coming back here.
Sinéad & Denise ( Ireland)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
4.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de l'Arganeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Property: Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Address: Imi Ntagant | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de l'Arganeraie 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couple, friends, family or groupwe would be delighted to welcome you to your home away from home at Domain d’Arganeraie. Situated one flight of the seagull from the medina and ten lengths of the driver from the Golf Mogador, this oasis of greenery (more than 3 hectares) boasting hundred year old argan trees has ten Riads with traditional Moroccan architecture that are nestled like flower petals around the pristine eternity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de l'Arganeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Arganeraie Essaouira
l Arganeraie Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing