We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own palace”
Review of Villa Quieta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Quieta
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoy unique and personal places to get away from the formulaic hotel chains but you run a risk if you do this without being prepared for surprises (good and bad).
This place rightly had excellent reviews but like many unique places may not always be perfect in every area for you or provide equivalent to full service hotel. However, their motto, "treat it like your own home" is seems an impossible request unless you own your palace. We were the only people there so it was very quiet with only 3 visible staff and Jamil at front desk and many other things. He ensured our comfort, although "only" a B&B there was always mint tea on arrival back, if desired, and a simple continental breakfast (juice, tea, coffee, breads, jams), followed by chat about sundry affairs in Britain.
The nice sized deep pool looked green on arrival but by the next day was pristine, with towels and tea beside it for our comfort. There is a TV in main lounge, or royal reception room as I liked to think of it as. There is excellent free WiFi in lounge and around but not in our room. The little groups of rooms are separated by sumptuous seating areas with ample terrace space, even if the hotel was full it could still be very quiet.
It is 1mile from medina gates and the road was a little rough in places seemingly due to major improvements to waterfront, you are out of town with limited food choice on door step. We found the the walk fine and an aid to digestion on return, perhaps small children would not, however the local food choice would be fine for children, I'd guess, and it had some entertainment for them. There was 24hour access for late night people. Internally the house and furnishings are stunning, stunning! A good shower in our room (11) and with sea view, the modern accoutrements, sockets, toilet roll holders are showing usage but if you have a stately home you know how difficult that can be. The town is friendly even in the souks and crime free apparently, the staff at Villa Quieta even friendlier. Think of it not as a B&B but as if your millionaire uncle had invited you to stay while he is out of town for the week. Lovely.

Room Tip: No 11 has sea view but ample terraces for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferdie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for these lovely compliments , We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Quieta & looking forward to seeing you soon again in Essaouira.
Best regards .
Mourad .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 466 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have had a realy nicy time in villa quieta, the rooms are very nice and clean thr hotel is next to the beach where you can get surf and kite stuff to rent, but its also very quiet. The pool is nice and clean and ists fun to hang out there. The personal is very professionell and nice all in all i want to come back every time

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Dennisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for these lovely compliments , We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Quieta & looking forward to seeing you soon again in Essaouira.
Best regards .
Mourad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have enjoyed a week staying at this wonderful villa.It was my first visit but my son Daniel had stayed previously and loved it so much that he insisted that I come and stay here.
I was not disappointed the staff are wonderful especially Jalil who was so helpful and always smiling.The rooms are all spotlessly clean and spacious and many have their own private
terrace as well as a large rooftop terrace.
It is very peaceful and so quiet here and about a 20 minute walk from the Medina.The beach is just across the road where you can walk for miles
We look forward to returning to Villa Quieta as it is such a special place..
Daniel And Catherine Wirths

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were really spacious and all very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for these lovely compliments , We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Quieta & looking forward to seeing you soon again in Essaouira.
Best regards .
Mourad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We (party of 6 adults) stayed in the Villa Quieta for 2 nights in March 2008, and all had a wonderful time.

From the welcoming pot of mint tea while we filled in our registration cards, to the radiators installed and turned on to heat our rooms in the evenings, the service was always attentive and discreet.

The hotel is a former family home and is fabulously furnished with rich fabrics, mosaics, plasterwork and lots of the tuya wood furniture typical of the Essaouira area.

The rooms are luxurious and range from smaller doubles to large suites, some with their own 'private' terrace facing the sea. There is also a public terrace with sea view, a walled garden with plants, flowers and an outdoor swimming pool. Too bad it was rather windy and cool during our stay, so we didn't get a chance to use the pool.

The entire hotel and grounds are kept spotlessly clean, and there is a guard on duty at the gate all night.

The hotel serves a wonderful breakfast of pancakes, Moroccan breads, pastries, coffee or tea, fresh orange juice, fruit and yoghurts; they do not serve dinner or other meals. There are plenty of good restaurants in Essaouira itself however.

The only possible drawback is the location, the hotel is at the end of the beach promenade, maybe 2-3 km from the town centre, a very pleasant walk which takes 20-40 minutes depending on your fitness level. There are plenty of taxis at the entrance to the old city walls so no problems getting to the hotel if you don't feel like walking home.

Essaouira itself is well worth a visit, a laid-back fishing town, not yet affected by mass tourism. It is right at the end of a long beach with lots of windsurfers, and the old part is surrounded by a medieval rampart complete with watchtowers and cannon. The town is famous for tuya wood, be sure to visit the workshops built into the town walls on the ocean side for some tuya wood bowls, boxes, or just about anything you can make from wood.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank FergusF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words. It is with great pleasure to read your review and makes us feel very happy . We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mourad / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite donnant sur le jardin est superbe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MouradRahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank philippe p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MouradRahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cosette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MouradRahham, Propriétaire at Villa Quieta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Quieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Quieta

Address: 86 Blvd Mohamed V | Bord de plage ., Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $96 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Quieta 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a private mansion renovated into a luxurious family run Inn. On the beach, a 20-minute walk from the hustle-bustle and humidity of the medina, the Villa Quieta warmly welcomes you. You are totally secure here. Villa Quieta is spacious, sunlit, tasteful and refined. A successful blend of traditional and modern design, you will find the same comfort as in the most luxurious palaces. We have 13 double rooms, a quadruple, a two-person suite, and a penthouse — each room different and personalized with original art, fresh flowers, handcrafted furniture, and modern, luxurious bathrooms. Breakfast is served on the terrace (overlooking the bay of Essaouira, the beach, the town and the port) or in the unforgettable grand salon (approx. 4,000 sq.ft. decorated with elaborately hand-chiseled plaster ceilings, mosaic tile and Moroccan traditional furniture.) For more intimate moments, you may choose one of the smaller, cozy salons with fireplaces. A unique green expanse in the town, the Villa Quieta is the only Charm Hotel situated in a scented garden. ACTIVITIES: Miles of natural beach await you for windsurfing, fishing, long walks, water sports, camel rides, horseback riding …all a few steps away. Art galleries, fitness club, cybercafes, artisanal shopping, massage, beauty treatments, hammam, available close by. SERVICES AVAILABLE: Car rentals, bicycle rentals and airport transfers can be arranged for you; assistance in choosing and reserving activities, restaurants, guides and excursions in Essaouira and the rest of Morocco; laundry and dry cleaning; babysitter; doctor on call. AMENITIES: Welcome tea and cookies; chauffeur service in Essaouira; free parking; concierge; fresh flowers and hair dryer in room. Please tell us if you have a special need or request. With our discreet, friendly staff we are here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Villa Quieta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing