We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, a lovely hotel”
Review of Villa Garance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Garance
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Very centrally located (quite a long walk through the narrow streets), this Riad was great. Small and simple it was a lovely oasis amongst the bustle of the town. The roof terraces were a welcome addition with good views over the town. Beware, rooms to the front overlook a playground for a school teaching young children, not great if you want a peaceful lie-in.

Overall the hotel, location and staff were great, I'd recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RoerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Villa Garance
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

In the centre of the medina, but down a narrow alley, so fairly quiet. The accommodation is lovely, comfy beds and linen and tasteful decor. The roof terrace is wonderful, lots of areas where you can eat or chill out in private, we were also treated to afternoon tea and nibbles if we were up there in the late afternoon. Breakfast is also up on the roof, which is a great way to start the day, although people who find stairs a challenge may struggle as it is four floors up. The highlight was the owner, Christine, who speaks excellent English and made us feel so welcome. She provided us with great advise and information and was so helpful... by the time we left, we felt we had known her for years!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisier at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great well located riad in medina. Quiet, though some rooms overlook a school & may not be. Lovely decor & art throughout. Christine the owner is lovely & all the staff are great. Good breakfast served on the roof. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Possibly avoid the ones on the school side unless you like to be waken by children playing/arriving.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangermooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although we could only stay there for a night, it was perfect. Great location, beautiful roof terrace, very kind host lady (perhaps the owner) and all the staff was very sweet, too. We loved the breakfast, which was simple, yet with a little twist. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated with many authentic details. Moreover it's a riad, so great for those looking for a more authentic stay. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrteKaralaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff were the highlight, all very charming and enthousiastic. Location was also very good, there was free wifi in the lobby and the breakfast was very decent (but not the best). The owner also showed us around and instructed directions over the city map, which was also very helpful. This hotel (like many in Essaouira) is deep into the medina so if you have a lot of luggage it is wise to hire someone to carry it to the hotel.

One of our rooms (the only room in terrace) was fairly poor and in stark contrast to the other rooms of the hotel (with little light and a makeshift PVC door/wall). We did not mind as we stayed one night but avoid it if you are staying longer.

Room Tip: Stairs, especially after the first floor are quite steep so pay attention if you are travelling with...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PromeneurSolitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was on of the best places we stayed in our visit to Marroco. The reception and information on our arrival was excellent. It's a petty that the the glass doors with curtains interferes with your privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's advisable to arrive in Essaouira in the afternoon - midday is not kind to the colours, and the town looked like a ghetto. By sunset it was glorious though, so don't be put off.

I speak French very poorly, and chose Villa Garance as I heard that English was spoken. When I arrived the proprietors were not in, so I stumbled to explain that we had a booking, and we managed to eventually understand one another. The room we stayed in was utilitarian, but nice enough. We had to request a heater. The decor isn't as charming as other riads I have been to.

That said, the bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a little grimy around the edges. The shower head was loose so the shower stream pointed at the wall.

The rooftop (like most things in Essaouira) was grimy, being as it is hostage to enormous seagulls! Watch your head on the way up! The doorways are some of the lowest in Morocco! Watch your feet on the way down! The stairs are precipitous! The view is mostly of rusty satellite dishes and a horizon of blue water. Breakfast was plentiful. While the crepes and coffee were great, the other offerings were a bit bland.

I hurt my wrist earlier in the trip. I asked one of the owners where to find a bandage and they sprung to action. Before I knew it a doctor was in my room, making sure nothing was broken and bandaging it with utmost care. The owners were lovely, kind and helpful.

In summary, Villa Garance is a bit run down and less of a visual delight than other similarly priced riads. However, if you are after warm hospitality, you will find it here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garance

Address: 10 Rue a. Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $68 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Garance 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garance is a charming, spacious riad, beautifully decorated inside, with bags of history and charm, and is located in a small street in the heart of the Medina, only a short walk from the ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. You will be truly delighted with everything that Villa Garance had to offer: elegant, clean and large bedrooms (10 single, double, twin or for families up to 5 people, from 15 to 35 m²); the large roof terrace with distant sea views, where a delicious and hearty homemade breakfast is served in the sunshine, where you can have sunbathe with a book throughout the day; and the charming and helpful owners Marie and Pierre, who are extremely friendly and give you lots of information on the history of Essaouira along with recommendations for restaurants and activities. All bedrooms are heated, with private bathroom, and have large windows except two of them which give access to a bright patio. Lunch, diner and massage can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Garance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing