We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in the center of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Chakir Mogador
Ranked #39 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dewey Beach, Delaware, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Riad in the center of town.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you want to stay in the center of town this is a great option. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, the staff is friendly and the breakfast was phenominal. The only downside was I found it very difficult to sleep with all the noise on the streets. It seemed the only time it was quiet was between 2 am and 6 am. I was woken by construction on the building next door around 630 or 7. However this was nobody's fault, maybe just my own misfortune. I got the feeling that the entire town is noisy so if you want a nice quiet place to stay there are several options just outside the gates. There are tons of great shops and cafe's within a very short walk and the staff ( english speaking ) were very helpful in providing help and advice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsay_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    90
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
78
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked 4 nights in the Chakir suite, as it ticked all our boxes - patio, terrace (you need some "outdoor space" in a riad), dining area, frig, kettle, mini-bar, a bathroom, washing machine, toiletries, etc. None of those facilities existed! The (very pleasant) chap in charge said some were "riad facilities" (eg patio, dining area) but didn't appreciate that that was very different from "room facilities". "Toiletries" = 2 bars of soap! Room smelt musty, felt damp, bed sheet had the texture of fine sandpaper (albeit clean sandpaper), breakfast very basic compared with the similarly-priced but excellent Riad Alek. There's a fine line between "rustic charm" and "a bit run-down" and I think this was in the latter category. We left after one night and moved to the very good Residence La Galiote.

Room Tip: Check that you'll get what booking.com says you'll get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed at this riad for one night between our stay in Marrakesh. Its bang middle of Essaouira medina so getting around is easy and its only 10min walk to the beach! the rooms are traditional but the bedding could have been cleaner. however no complaints as the staff are wonderful and the breakfast was more than adequate. In fact i had the best freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast in this place than i did in my entire holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a lovely, tastefully decorated, clean and relaxed riad, offering several roof terraces for sun bathing and cool relaxed lounges. Rooms were cleaned daily, and were comfortable and cool.

Breakfast included pastries, and warm freshly baked bread.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, providing maps and directions, and recommending a high quality Hammam and massage and even phoning ahead to book for us.

The Riad is centrally located within the Medina, for a 5-10 minutes walk to the port area &
beach and handy for restaurants, and souks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this riad as part of a 10 day stay in morrocco!! What a super super place, it's 1 of 3 riads we stayed in during our stay and its by far the best.
The staff are lovely, very helpful, great resturant suggestions and yet even helped buying tea!! Can not rave about this place enough! Super clean, we had a lovely blue room and we think it was perfect! Don't know what room the chap above was in, but we had all the extras as advertised on booking.com. We also booked there. We will go again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

For the impatient: the stay in this hotel was by far the most pleasant among the many places we visited during our two-weeks' trip to Morocco.
The riad is very conveniently located in the old town of Essaouira (a small town anyway). The room was nice, furnished with taste, and clean. (It was a bit small, this being the only minus in this review.) The inside of the riad is by itself beautiful, and a pleasant place to spend time and to meet other guests. The staff was lovely in every respect: excellent breakfast, timely interventions for fixes in the room. And their suggested restaurants were indeed worth trying. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DgoGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff is excellent - helpful, friendly and speak english very well. They gave us map on a first day.

Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed daily. This is a cozy place, not too much noise but you can here that the city lives during the night and it timidely invites you to go outside and have fun ;)
The only "but" is the hot water - forget about it in the morning. The water is hot during the day and in the evening, but it also depends on the number of guests. Hot water is quite important in such a windy place as Essaouira.
They serve the best moroccan breakfast I ever had - two types of pancakes, french bread, croissant, honey, confiture, butter.

One "but" - it happened twice during my 3-day visit that they added water to the orange juice - big minus.

Generally - very good, also for a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar El Qdima
Dar El Qdima
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#29 of 74 in Essaouira
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Iles
Hotel des Iles
#52 of 74 in Essaouira
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chakir Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chakir Mogador

Property: Riad Chakir Mogador
Address: 13 Rue Malek Ben Morhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chakir Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in full heart of the medina, with some steps from the port and the beach, Riad Chakir Mogador is the privileged place of your stopover in Essaouira. This house of hosts, entirely restored in the pure respect of the traditions and Moroccan architecture, will allure you by its restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Chakir Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chakir Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing