We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of a World Heritage Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Iglesia El Jadida
Ranked #5 of 26 El Jadida B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

L'Iglesia is located in the old Medina/Mellah of El Jadida, within the walls of the 16th Century Portuguese fortress/walled city of Mazagan (UNESCO World Heritage). It's literally a few steps from all the monuments (the Manueline cistern/place d'armes, the ramparts, the Assumption Church, etc.). The hotel has 2 buildings: one is a 19th century Spanish church and one is the Capitainerie, former consulate. Location is perfect (walking distance to pretty much everything there is to see in the old town), service is impeccable, and the ambiance is very 30s, old charm, different era, plush time travel feeling. Although our room (#1) in the church building was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and relaxing with gorgeous sunlight in the morning, the windows are directly on the street, which was quite by night, not so much early morning. Café do Mar next door, which is an annex to the hotel, is perfect for a relaxing bite/drink (Moroccan mint tea or fresh Tangerine juice and delicious galettes/crêpes) with a breathtaking view on the sea and the Medina. Gorgeous at sunset!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AichaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for L'Iglesia El Jadida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Rather tired and hot, I arrived at L'Iglesia with 2 hours to kill before the Mazagan hotel bus was due to pick us up. With two young children who were equally tired and hot, as a bonus! The kind and accommodating receptionist made us completely welcome, offering drinks and food and a place to rest for as long as we needed it.

The interior is quaint, and completely beautiful! Very small with only a few rooms, but gorgeous. It felt like we were transported into 1936 and perhaps Laurence of Arabia would come down the stairs at any minute! A refreshing sea breeze made the stay even more pleasant as the children ended up playing in the walled courtyard outside. And you could not be more central to the heart of the old Portuguese city, really beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzaandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room was in a separate building from the reception and dining area. A huge old church bell has been housed there, as well as an eclectic collection of old radios, mirrors and other antiques. We could have spent another day trawling through all the interesting artifacts. Enjoyed our meals here. Our room was spacious and the style has been kept to look quite monastically spartan but comfortable. Unique.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 wonderful days in El Jadida in recently opened L'Iglesia.

If you are familiair with The Beldi in Marrakech, you immediately recognize their great sence of style. Beautiful colours on the walls, funky items and collections from coffee mills to Moroccan heads & tin boxes.

A great part of the hotel is located in an old church, which gives a very tranquil admodphere. How often can you raise your glass in a church?

The food served is simply wonderful. Especially the fish, daily fresh and served either on a great terace or in the cosy restaurant.

The location in the old Portugese town is Morocco at it's best, still a headen treasure, so Conda Nest you're so right

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willemadriaansmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I didn't know El Jadida, we were so surprised to find la Iglesia, a shelter of good taste which I believe is only recent. The owners are super nice and we extended our stay. The decoration is up there, the restaurant was quite efficient and the staff super friendly. Definitely recommend it for anyone cruising this lovely medieval fort..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Atenção na reserva, peçam para ficar no edificio da igreja
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordHiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Jadida hotels
55.9 mi away
Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ibis El Jadida
Ibis El Jadida
#4 of 11 in El Jadida
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget El Jadida
Ibis Budget El Jadida
#3 of 11 in El Jadida
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Suites El Jadida
Art Suites El Jadida
#11 of 11 in El Jadida
29 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Maison d' Hotes de la Cite Portugaise d'El Jadida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Iglesia El Jadida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Iglesia El Jadida

Address: Eglise Saint Antoine de Padoue | Cité Portugaise, El Jadida 24000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in El Jadida
Price Range: $148 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Iglesia El Jadida 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first charming hotel in the old portuguese city of El Jadida. L'Iglesia is a converted 19th century Spanish church, now decorated in a 1940s/50s style, overlooking the ocean and the old portuguese city, and also a seperate wing of the property is housed in the former US consulate, where the restaurant is located (with a large terrace next to the remparts).The hotel has an amazing view and each room has a different decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Iglesia El Jadida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing