We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Riad, Grim Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes
Ranked #11 of 27 El Jadida B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Riad, Grim Town”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A nice riad, in a superbly not nice town. I feel mean writing this, but just don’t see what the fuss is about El Jadida. While there I did declare it “the worst place I have ever been in my life”, which may be a little harsh, but that I said it at all it says quite a lot.

I was imagining a pretty little town like Cochin in India, but it is infact a grey, depressing place with rubbish in the streets and kids hanging around. Infact, seeing as the riad was next to a secondary school, there were a LOT of kids hanging about and playing football in the street, and teenagers herding together don’t seem to be pleasant people to be around the world over.

Having said all that, the riad is lovely and spacious, and the owners polite and friendly. If it were anywhere else I’d be bigging it up like anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Harmonie for two nights on our way down the coast in July 2012. The choices of accommodation in El Jadida, a town that is only slowly making its way onto tourist itineraries, are still very limited, but this place is a real gem. In fact, it was probably the best place we stayed at in all of Morocco. It is a bit difficult to find, and after stubbornly searching on our own for an hour or so we finally gave up and called for directions. Fabian, the owner, came to get us. Despite being hard to find, it is not far from the old town - a ten-minute walk down the hectic market street takes you to the main gates of the Cite. The riad has a homey atmosphere, as Fabian and his family live on the ground floor. They openly promote this aspect on their website, and we chose it based on that so that our 9-year-old son would have someone to play with. The rooms were very clean and uniquely decorated, and the roof-top terrace was the ideal place to relax. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty. Fabian and his boys were the perfect hosts (his wife was out of town when we were there, so unfortunately we didn't get a chance to meet her). We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had spent onlyone night in El-Jadida, on our way from Essaouira to Casablanca. I wish it was two, both for the sake of town and the riad. Riad Harmonie is a lovely refurbished, spacey house where you will feel at home. And that statement is not cliche, as the owners - English-speaking French couple with lovely kids - actually live at the spot (level 0 is where they live, 1st and 2nd floor are for guests). The kids are very kind. Everyone is very friendly and sincere, with helpful hints and tips about the town - it absolutely gives Riad Harmonie the harmony of its name.

Rooms are well-decorated and comfortable. Ours was not too big, but enough for two with an infant (= lots of additional luggage). Very comfy beds. Breakfast was very good. We did not have time to explore everything the riad has to offer, but we saw a bar on the roof which probably starts in high season (did not ask).

If you come by bus, do take a petit taxi but be sure to remember the street and show it to the driver. Moroccan street numbers can be crazy and the riad is quite new, so many taxi drivers don't know its name.

El-Jadida is not (yet) on "the best of Morocco" map, but when we come back to this country, we intend to come back to El-Jadida and visit Riad Harmonie. This should be a recommendation on its own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaetostoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Rooms very clean and comfortable with meal service. Great food! Beautiful roof terrace, views of city. Walking distance to Cite. Great help + advise for visits and surfing. Highly recommend for a relaxing, quiet stay in family comfort.

Room Tip: We liked the room closest to the roof terrace access for views and sunny breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Jadida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#5 of 12 in El Jadida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Soleil d'Orient
Riad Soleil d'Orient
#1 of 27 in El Jadida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison d' Hotes de la Cite Portugaise d'El Jadida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar El Jadida
Dar El Jadida
#7 of 27 in El Jadida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Riad La Villa & SPA
Riad La Villa & SPA
#9 of 27 in El Jadida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes

Property: Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes
Address: 5 Derb Moulay Ismail, El Jadida 24010, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in El Jadida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old sewing school in the heart of the medina of El Jadida, Our Riad is an oasis of peace and we are waiting for you to spend holiday in the heart of authentic Morocco. Open the door of Riad, let outside the noisy life of the medina, and enter in the tranquility ofour house. Lulled by the singing of birds and the fountain noise holidays are begining, change of scenery and relaxation guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Harmonie Maison d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing