We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have their booze licence back”
Review of Au Petit Paris

Au Petit Paris
Ranked #44 of 223 Restaurants in El Jadida
Price range: $8 - $67
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gastronomie FrançaiseSalades géantesPoissons fraisSpécialités de canard (foie gras, confit, magret,...)Menu enfantDélices marocains
Reviewed February 24, 2019

I walked past one evening a few weeks ago with a friend and one of the waiters whom I know from before dragged us in to show us that the place was half full and that people were drinking.

I'm so glad the French owner has succeeded, against the odds, to get the alcohol back after the death of her husband in a bike crash.

We just stopped for a quick drink as we weren't expecting this and had other plans, but it's on the horizon for an evening out soon.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank SolomonBinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

This a cafe resturant bar .but much the latter having lost it alcohol license it is just limping on .never eat in a restaurant that has no clients......

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

I really felt for the young french couple that run this restaurant in the years they struggled before finally being granted a drinks license. They must have many times contemplated giving up and trying elsewhere and it is good that they are now making a living after all their effort.

The menu is not extensive but covers a broad spectrum from quick snack to fine dining. In the evening the side with the bar can be crowded and usually noisy if you want you can dine on the purely restaurant side which is much less popular with the locals. The bar side is not really suitable for young children at night.

Service for food is usually good and attentive but as the night progresses and the competition for drinks service increases it can take time to get a drink.

Prices are modest but as with any where in Morocco drinks can soon run the bill up. You can eat for under Dhr.100 but three courses of more substantial type will be about Dhr.300 without drinks. An acceptable bottle of Rose is available for Dhr.140 but you can pay far more.

By eleven at night it is usually packed with young people and the music is too loud for me although watching the dancing is a pleasant pastime.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It's about time I wrote another review of this excellent restaurant. It has always served good food, but I always found the premises a little gloomy. They seem to have got the balance right now. The left hand entrance as you look at the building is the restaurant and the right hand door leads now to a bar-restaurant.

I've been 3 or 4 times in the past couple of months and it's very congenial. I was there as recently as Tuesday night with a friend. There was an eclectic mix of men and women, both locals and foreigners. The range of drinks available is a good one.

We decided to have a meal on the bar stools. We had emince de volaille which came with perfectly cooked spaghetti. The sauce was very good and we both enjoyed our meals.

High quality tapas appear at regular intervals during the evening to accompany the drinks.

All in all, a move in the right direction and a location I'll be visiting more often.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the better places to eat in el Jadida (few options) but we did not like the decor and the basement-like surroundings.

Otherwise the food was tasty and decent value, and the service was attentive. Not a highlight but a solid, dependable place, especially if you are travelling with children like we were.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PromeneurSolitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Paris also viewed

El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
 
El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
 
El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
El Jadida, Doukkala-Abda Region
 

Been to Au Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing