We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stop in El Jadida, this is the only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Soleil d'Orient
Ranked #1 of 26 El Jadida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Oliver and his staff are your gracious hosts. Soleil d'Orient was the nicest place we stayed in Morocco. I have no idea why Oliver chose to build this Oasis in El Jadida, but I am glad he did. We stopped for a couple of nights prior to our flight out of Casablanca. Our room was fantastic. We dined at the Riad both nights, and I would highly recommend that as well. Extensive wine list was a nice surprise. Room was very large and had a huge bathroom with a great shower. El Jadida has less of a touristy vibe than other places we visited. Not our favorite town overall but we enjoyed the sights and, most of all, we enjoyed Soleil. We booked on Expedia a couple of days prior to arrival - but please do note that cash is the preferred method of payment (your booking on Expedia only holds your room). At the time of our visit, credit cards were not accepted. It was not a problem for us, but it is worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdjbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were only able to stay one night at the Riad Soleil d'Orient, but we liked it so much we wish we could have had more. Olivier is an incredibly kind host and bends over backwards to make sure that his guests enjoy their time at the riad. Although it's a bit away from the cité portugaise (probably 5-10 minutes by car), the building is beautiful and he's done an impeccable job of decorating both the rooms and the common spaces. We took dinner in the "restaurant", which really feels more like a very fancy dining room in a very expensive house, and it was delicious. Thanks to the orange and palm trees in the courtyard, the riad exudes a calm atmosphere throughout that can't help but be felt by the guests. Would definitely return and suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhensarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

For riad (guest house for 4-8 rooms) very well. Everything is done with taste and love. The room has satellite TV, air conditioning, drink water. In the bathroom everything works (in contrast to other riads). Delicious dinner, good breakfast. Home decor and comfort. Best Riad that I met in Morocco. Respect and gratitude to the owner of Oliver. Little dirty area around, but it's medina.
How would you travel (car, train, taxi, plane) you will always meet and spend at the hotel.

Room Tip: Any number of the riad will give you the pleasure of living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is probably the best place to stay in el Jadida. They serve the best breakfast (easily) we had in Morocco, Olivier is a wonderful host who is ready to do anything for your comfort and happiness, the rooms are spotless, the inner courtyard is an absolute gem. They also provide a very fast and effective wifi service, which was lacking in many other places we were. The rooms were also great value.

To me the only (minor) negatives are the location, although this has to do more with the city itself than the riad; and the relative "sterility" of the riad. It is not a genuinely old building and to my taste some of the room decoration is a bit overboard, but these are small issues that do not effect the overall positive experience. If you are staying in el Jadida, make it here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PromeneurSolitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great Riad, clean, beautiful and the host makes such a big effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. And the best meals I had in my entire three weeks in Morocco! The staff were all friendly and helpful and the spaces in the Riad very relaxing to be in. Rooftop terrace great for views, and staff will also arrange a tour with the fabulous Silvie, who will show you even more local wonders!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about this Riad, it is charming, authentic, beautiful and your host Oliver and his staff are wonderful. Breakfast is incredible and you will be more than pleased with the accommodation. Go to the roof top terrace and take in the sunset. If you are in El Jadida this is the place to stay !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztempestivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

yeah, El Jadida is so so but if you are going there this is the place to stay. Well run,grew home made delights, comfy rooms and a great location. I liked the fact that there were animals living within the riad, very much a sanctuary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Jadida hotels
5.1 mi away
Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ibis El Jadida
Ibis El Jadida
#4 of 11 in El Jadida
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Villa & SPA
Riad La Villa & SPA
#9 of 26 in El Jadida
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Les Cypres
Les Cypres
#4 of 26 in El Jadida
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Iglesia El Jadida
L'Iglesia El Jadida
#5 of 26 in El Jadida
67 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Soleil d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Soleil d'Orient

Address: 131 Derb El Hajjar, El Jadida 24010, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in El Jadida
Price Range: $94 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Soleil d'Orient 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Soleil d'Orient lies in the heart of the medina in El Jadida, a 10-minute walk from El Jadida beach. It has a panoramic roof-top terrace and offers free Wi-Fi. The riad offers spacious and comfortable rooms, each with a unique decoration and a special colour theme. They include modern comforts such as an LCD screen TV, Wi-Fi access and individual air conditioning. The traditional restaurant at Riad Soleil d'Orient serves Moroccan specialities and European dishes. You can enjoy breakfast or dinner in the dining room, the lounge with fireplace, on the patio or terrace. Guests can relax in the oriental lounge rooms, the reading room, or on the roof terrace which offers a panoramic view of the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Soleil d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing