We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Soleil d'Orient
Ranked #1 of 27 El Jadida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our first visit to El Jadida and we were very glad to have chosen this riad. From the outset Olivier and the staff could not have been more helpful. Although the riad itself is not easy to find, someone was dispatched to the city gates to meet us so no problem. Soleil d'Orient is very well situated a few minutes walk from the Cité Portugaise, which is the main reason for going to El Jadida. Our room on the first floor, was spacious and well appointed with a great bathroom. There is a lovely roof terrace and plenty of space to sit and relax. We ate at the riad on our second night and were sorry that we hadn't done so on both nights. The food was excellent. We would thoroughly reccommend this riad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    91
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
252
29
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This riad is so beautiful and lush. The owners Olivier and Laurence make the guests feel honoured and more than welcome to enjoy for a few days their abundance of colour, plants, and exoticism. And the meals! What a relief, to find good French wines, and the food is a pleasing blend of French and Moroccan cuisine. The rooms all have air conditioning, tv and wireless is throughout. It is located 5 minutes from the Portugese City and 10 minutes from the beach, but once you walk in the door you feel like you have entered paradise. Best breakfast here without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le Grand Fromag... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, Poitou-Charentes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

An extremely pleasant couple welcomed us into their beautiful home, which they laboriously turned into a palace for guests to enjoy (see the book of pictures, it took them 3 long years to put it together!). From the outset, my mother and I felt very comfortable and at home with the entire staff as well as the friendly doggy who was not shy to say hello and spend time with us while we rested on the terrace to read. We were only there two nights and would loved to stay a few more.The food was deliciliously fresh and ALL of it was prepared on site. I would easily and with great enthousiasm recommend this Riad. We would love to return someday ourlselves. Merci Laurence et Olivier!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

El Jadidia is a poor man's Essaouira, and therein lies its appeal. It has yet to draw the crowds and the attendant knick-knack shops; and there are no banana pancakes. If you are wavering on whether to visit, the Riad Soleil d'Orient should help to make up your mind. This is a class riad, the product of energy and imagination, in a town where there are few other riads, if any. The owner, Oliver, is extremely helpful but unobtrusive; meals are excellent (much of the breakfast spread -- bread, jams and honey -- is homemade) and, with just half a dozen rooms or so, the riad is intimate without being claustrophobic. It has an excellent roof terrace, besides. Yes, it is a little bit hard to find, but don't worry, phone and someone will meet you (Oliver, in our case). Your sense of adventure will be rewarded.

P+Y, Singapore

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJJYPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simrishamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here for a stop-over in June/July 2011, on our way around the country!
The riad - perfectly sized in this case - not to small nor to big - is beautiful indeed!
Its a tranquil oasis in the middle of El Jadidia and we strongly recomend it to folks wanting to stay in the area. The breakfast was delicious and nicely served.
The owner and the staff were very friendly.

Thank you for a pleasant stay - see you again when we return!
Hannes and Maria, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannesofsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived late in the evening after getting lost driving around the town. Not to worry, we phoned and a staff member walked to where we were (a few blocks away) and guided us to the property. Although it was quite late, the staff prepared an outstanding dinner just for us with a beautiful local wine to top it off. Breakfast the next morning was equally excellent. Meals are provided in the cool and peaceful courtyard with lots of plants and trees and even a tame chameleon (although note that there is a mosque nearby and calls to prayer really echo around the area). The old Portugese city is a short, safe walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have spent in Riad Soleil d'Orient few days and it was great! We have been in several riads in Morocco and this one was the best - rooms were done in original design, very clean and big. The owner as well as other staff were all very nice and helpful.
Thank you,
Darina & Tomas

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Jadida hotels
5.1 mi away
Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa
7.4 mi away
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Riad La Villa & SPA
Riad La Villa & SPA
#8 of 27 in El Jadida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison d' Hotes de la Cite Portugaise d'El Jadida
0.4 mi away
Dar Del Mare
Dar Del Mare
#3 of 27 in El Jadida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Iglesia El Jadida
L'Iglesia El Jadida
#5 of 27 in El Jadida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Soleil d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Soleil d'Orient

Property: Riad Soleil d'Orient
Address: 131 Derb El Hajjar, El Jadida 24010, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in El Jadida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Soleil d'Orient 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Soleil d'Orient lies in the heart of the medina in El Jadida, a 10-minute walk from El Jadida beach. It has a panoramic roof-top terrace and offers free Wi-Fi. The riad offers spacious and comfortable rooms, each with a unique decoration and a special colour theme. They include modern comforts such as an LCD screen TV, Wi-Fi access and individual air conditioning. The traditional restaurant at Riad Soleil d'Orient serves Moroccan specialities and European dishes. You can enjoy breakfast or dinner in the dining room, the lounge with fireplace, on the patio or terrace. Guests can relax in the oriental lounge rooms, the reading room, or on the roof terrace which offers a panoramic view of the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Soleil d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing