We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
22
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse trekking mongolian culture stayed here fair price cake the owner few days hot water cooks communication questions festival wifi ub winter guide accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 23 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

I had my own ger when I have arrived because it was during the winter, when it got more busy I was happy to share a ger. The staff is amazing friendly and is trying hard to fullfill everyones desires and need. Gers get headed up during day and nighttime which is very nice!
Food is gread and varies from typical mongolian dishes to vegeterian dishes.
Deals for accomodation including meals is perfect.
Everything is clean and tidy.
5 stars is the minimum.

Room tip: Let people know in advance if you want a Ger just for yourself!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monaekBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

Travelling to Khuvsgul Lake? In need of fab accommodation and someone über-friendly who knows the area by heart and who could pitch a tailor-made private tour for you? If so, then look no further! You'll most certainly find what you're looking for at Mongol Ujin Tourist Camp.

Prior to our departure to Khuvsgul Lake my husband and I decided to contact a couple of guest houses to avoid disappointment due to lack of basic amenities as the temperature outside was hitting below zero. Davaa, the owner, got back to us in a speedy and extremely warm manner so we opted for Mongol Ujin without too much hesitation.

The camp comprises of cozy well-heated gers with stunning handmade birch-based bed frames
(the staff add wood logs to your stove throughout the day to ensure its temperature is just right!), hot showers, and a Swiss-chalet-looking common area where you'll be served delicious breakfast (included in the price of your stay!).

The owner is leading her team by example: Davaa is the epitome of Mongolian hospitality, with her ever-present smile and upbeat attitude. She's always willing to go an extra mile to ensure you are happy and well-looked after and that your (gazillion) questions are answered to her best knowledge and ability.

We were lucky enough to spend a four-day horse trek near the lake with her as our guide as it was the very end of the season. It was an incredible experience as we learned loads about the area, Mongolia itself, its people and their customs, but also about surviving in the wild. Most importantly we had heaps of fun! Davaa was checking upon us frequently and she made sure we were enjoying ourselves while staying safe and warm. Also, she's a great chef and conjures delightful meals out of thin air.

Lastly, unfortunately in Mongolia it is not uncommon that your host's English isn't sufficient enough for an actual conversation. No need to dread this case scenario here as Davaa's communication skills are by far the best out of the locals' we encountered during our stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank everystrawmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We were recommended by fellow travelers in UB to visit this place while in the area. We called in advance to book a 4 night horse trip and was given a warm welcome from the owner, Dava, who spoke perfect English and was incredibly accommodating.

The place has a well equipped shower and luxurious ger. The common area is welcoming and warm!

Our horse tour was also exceptional. We were introduced to a 73 year old Mongolian horse rider who was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly.

We highly recommend this place for all visiting the area and wanting to do a horse tour! Also try the breakfast (yum)

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank W2297UMjasonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mongol Ujin 5 nights before and after a horse trip in the mountains. They were able to arrange a trip for us riding a horse part of the time and hiking back. Very flexible and accommodating people. We learned so much from Davaa about Mongolian culture and the area around Khovsgol Lake. We enjoyed hiking around the area and relaxing at the camp. Temperatures got pretty cold when we were there and they made sure we were warm each night. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast. For us this is one of those guesthouses you don't want to leave because of the enjoyable experience and people. We felt like family and hope to return!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank UltiKTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Great camp with all the facilities (shower, hot water, and incredible food too). English spoken. All the stuff there are incredible people. Quite fair price per night.
Our stay was absolutely wonderful.

They also can offer different trips depend on your needs. We arranged 3 days ridding horse tour and It was an amazing experience.

Thank you very much guys for all your help!
Manuel and Raquel (Spain)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raquelu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews