We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall High Quality Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Constance Prince Maurice
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pointe de Flacq
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overall High Quality Experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is an accomplished and refined hotel. Without really having truly anything remarkable, it delivered a relaxing and luxurious holiday. Our boys, 7 and 4, were very unwilling to leave.
Room:
We stayed in a villa beachfront. It was spacious and smart in plantation style. It looked down through some trees to the beach. The view here is lagoon and mangrove thickets rather than a true seascape. Our private pool was beautifully warm. The room team was helpful and flexible. Plenty of water delivered free and - a nice touch - lots of fresh fruit replenished daily.
Service:
Assured, friendly and always ready to help. On the beach water is given free and glasses polished. Improved over 10 days as many staff got to know us and our preferences and remembered them. Mehess at the main pool was great.
Food:
Variable: some excellent dishes, including local curries and the daily soufflé, some disappointing. The main restaurant probably best, though the floating Barachois should be tried. We did not like the Asian restaurant. Half-board is good value here – the food is expensive. The wine list is extensive and pricey, with some good value new world wines. One big plus – we made plenty of off-menu requests and allmost very time these were accommodated. The one time they did not deliver (our 7-year old requested a tiramisu) they produced the dish specially the next day.
Kids:
Kids Club was caring and adequate. There did not seem to be the energy of clubs like that of the Reethi Rah say. Still they did fishing, treasure hunts etc. Some of the activities were cancelled due to high winds. Staff in general were kid- oriented - finding beach toys for kids, helping with minor injuries etc.
Our boys made friends and played a lot in the main pool area. They also enjoyed exploring the small islands close offshore.
Spa:
A haven, with soothing music blending with the sounds of the surf and the wind in the palms. You know the treatments are excellent when even the odd sound of your children playing in the nearby kids club cannot break the spell.
Activities:
Water sports are almost all free – even if you need someone to give you a lesson. These include kayaks, Hoby cats, Lasers and water skiing. Unfortunately there is no snorkelling off the beach - in fact very little sea life at all. Just offshore the water is murky and the bottom covered in weed and rocks. If you want to snorkel, you have to go out the reef. Their glass-bottomed boat goes out twice daily, but even then it can be hard to snorkel in the currents and wind. Two decent tennis courts with a friendly young pro, Ben. Adults-only lap pool is quiet and pleasant.
Weather:
Part of our stay was affected by the near miss of Cyclone Imelda, but the East Coast of Mauritius gets the South-East trade winds in any case. This makes snorkelling hard and lowers water visibility. The constant breeze does keep the place cool, though. Depending on the time of year, there can be a lot of rain, but you don’t mind this, as showers and sun alternate and it is always warm.

Other East Coast hotels we visited include Four Seasons, Touessrok and St Geran. In comparison we were very pleased to be at Prince Maurice. The Touessrok and St Geran rooms looked smaller and were certainly more crammed together. Prince Maurice was relatively sheltered from the wind as well. We would consider the Four Seasons as an alternative, where the rooms are all villas and the vibe is livelier and more glam, but if you are going for the Mauritius East Coast, a beachfront villa at the Prince Maurice is probably as good as you’ll get.

Room Tip: Room tips: We had villa 29, which is the furthest into the lagoon, so probably the most private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jafarcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much to have spared your time in sharing the different highlights of your holiday at Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel.

I am happy to see that you did enjoy your stay as a family with your children. Though the hotel was initially made for adults, we tried to adapt ourselves to best suit families as the ones who had visited us whilst they were still a couple, on their honeymoon, for instance, had formed their own family over the years. These guests wanted to come back to 'their hotel' and we have tried to be more 'family oriented' by having a kids club with many and varied activities and recently the new family suites to be able to accommodate families.

I am equally happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the different facilities whereby the team is ready to 'go the extra mile' in meeting and even exceeding your expectations. We always try our best to delight our guests and this passion lies within each and every member of the team.

In totally understand your feeling of the few days that we were facing cyclonic conditions but luckily it did not last long.

We do take note of your comments in regards to our kids club whilst we are currently working on a common program to have all kids club in the Constance Hotls to have the same type of program.

We do hope to be able to welcome you again for another holiday break in our property together with your family in the near future.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    70
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
298
808
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been to a number of pretty fancy hotels but like to think we are neither blase nor unrealistic and we thought this the best hotel we had ever stayed in. Without being in your face, the staff really cannot do enough to make your stay perfect. We really struggled to think how we could have improved this hotel. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a villa on the lagoon which was enormous and really luxurious. Full of little touches like a choice between towelling or silk robes and everything you could wish for provided in the bathroom. Teh air conditioning was more effective in the bedroom than the ounge but both were very quiet, which is often not the case in hotels. My husband, who usually hates beaches, was immediately hooked on the beautiful view from the beach, the attentive staff and the comfortable sun beds. We loved that towels and sunbeds were provided on the pontoon in the bay and really appreciated the service of cleaning our sunglasses - very thoughtful. Food in each of the restaurants was sublime and cocktail menu had lots of great choices including some delicious non-alcohlic ones. We really appreciated the kind touch of setting out a fantastic breakfast in our room when we arrived at 8 in the morning. Nowhere ever felt crowded and the staff all seemed to know our names! We thought it would be a once in a lifetime trip but are already saving up to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

First and foremost, I wish to thank you for having devoted some of your valuable time in sharing your holiday experience on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

If availability does allow us, we do like to make such surprise upgrades to our villas to make the holiday of our guests more special since the very first moment of their stay.

I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your holidays with the different services that we offer.

Your kind words are all the more rewarding to our dedicated team who is always keen in going the extra mile to delight our guests and exceed their expectations to make their stay at 'Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel' a memorable one.

We do look forward to welcoming you soon again for another stay in our hotel.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Returned for our second visit and from the moment we stepped through the foyer it felt like returning home. What a magical place Prince Maurice really is... Not only are the buildings beautiful, the food divine, and the staff exceptionally well trained and service impeccable nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff are very friendly.. And make you feel very welcome... This hotel is just lovely ...in every department, gym,spa, etc. you will not fail to be impressed... Cannot recommend it highly enough... If you decide to visit Mauritius suggest you definitely stay here !!! Our thanks to all who made our trip fabulous and fun... 

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and of a very high standard... Just personal preference for location within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would first of all like to thank you for having spared your time in writing a review, hence sharing your holiday experience to other potential travellers on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We have been honoured to have had the opportunity to welcome back on your second visit at Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel.

We are thankful to you for considering our hotel as your second home. We indeed make it a must for the whole team to look after our guests in a way that they do 'feel like at home' and we always try to meet and even exceed their expectations by 'going the extra mile.'

We can only thank you for having chosen to stay in our hotel during your recent trip in Mauritius and we look forward to your third visit in the near future.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived home this morning after overnight flight. Air Mauritius Business Class was by the way excellent. The Prince Maurice is an outstanding hotel. This is the first time I have written on trip advisor but felt I just had to write about this wonderful hotel. The attentiveness of the staff was second to none. Within minutes everyone seemed to know our name and to be genuinely interested in making sure our stay was truly 5 star. The recent refurbishment has managed to enhance what was already lovely- we first stayed here two years ago. We have stayed in some wonderful hotels all over the world but this is now our favourite ! We booked with Susie Freeman travel who also offer a superb service. They and The Prince Maurice are in a league of their own.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on stilts overlooking the lagoon which was lovely and peaceful. Last time we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladbrooke53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Doctor,

Many thanks for sparing your valuable time in sharing your holiday experience on this traveller's platform.

We were delighted to have welcomed you again for a stay in our hotel and I am happy to see that you enjoyed it like the previous one.

We value your feedback as one of our esteemed repeat guest and I am happy that you were pleased with the changes we did bring in.

We do hope to have the opportunty to welcome you back in the future for another memorable stay.

Best wishes for Easter.

Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our second visit - even more blissful than the first. But for extreme bliss you must book Ragini's facial in the beautiful Spa! The best beauty therapist anywhere in my experience: skilled, knowledgeable, matching her products to the skin with amazing results and a wise, gentle and delightful person as well. What a treat! The rest of the hotel is pretty amazing too! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam,

It was our honour to have welcome you again at 'Le Prince Maurice Hotel' recently for the second time.

We are happy to know that together with your husband, you did spend a memorable holiday and that you did like the changes we did bring in during the recent renovation.

Thank you to have spare you time in writing a review on this site and thank you as well for speaking about your spa experience with special mention of our therapist, Ragini. She is no doubt an asset to the team and we do value the importance of our dedicated team members who make the soul of the property.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in your hotel and we look look forward to your return trip in the future.

My best wishes to you both for a very Happy easter.

Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a good week at the Prince Maurice in February 2013. The staff were courteous and extremely helpful. They even arranged to have our son's hat delivered to us (which had been left at the kids' club) after we left the hotel. The food was good, although we found breakfast a little disappointing - the pastry chef is not quite up to the heights of some other 5 star Mauritian hotels, the cereals were soggy and the bircher muesli needed some fruit content - but we are being very nit-picky here! The rooms were lovely, the spa beautiful and the beach staff suitably respectful of one's privacy. Overall, there was a calm, relaxing atmosphere, which is perfect for an expensive hotel holiday.
The gym needs better air-conditioning, it would be nice to have the occasional chocolate on the pillow at night and the kids' club needs an injection of enthusiasm and organization. Our 4 year old brought no drawings or creations home and wasn't inspired by their list of activities. However, we understand that a revamp is planned.
Overall, we would recommend the hotel. Calm, classy and stylish, with impeccable service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateykinsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for sparing your time in writing a review on this site after your holidays spent in our hotel.
We are happy to see that you did enjoy your holidays with your family and we would like to thank you for the valuable remarks received.
We indeed believe that 'good enough never is' and there is always room to improve to be come better and your remarks will no doubt lead us to where we actually want to be.
There is a general re-vamping program planned over this year 2013 to bring up the level of service in the areas you mentioned to meet with all guests' expectations. Please do note that we do have a dedicated team which is always available to assist our guests with any special request and if we are made aware of these during the guest's stay, it does make it easy for us to take the necessary corrective measures on the spot.
We would again like to thank you for your valued feedback and we do look forward to your return trio in the future.
Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have recently returned from our second visit to the Prince Maurice Hotel - and when we thought that it couldn't get any better, it has! The refurbishment of the hotel, soft furnishings, rooms and installation of the new lap pool have been so beautifully done that everything looks totally "just right". To be welcomed back by the charming staff makes you feel as though you have come home! We can honestly say that there is not one weak link from the smiling reception staff to the charming man who is always busily but unobtrusively cleaning the main areas, to the room staff, to the wonderful staff on the beach who seem to appear out of nowhere with beach towels and cool water when you arrive.
We did try another hotel last year as we thought that we should be a bit more adventurous than just going to the same botel as before - but having return to the Prince Maurice this year, there is no contest - look no further if you are undecided!

Room Tip: If you want the utilmate Indian Ocean experience ask for a junior suite on the beach - to walk out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for having shared your holiday experience in such beautiful words on this traveller's platform.

We are honoured to have had the opportunity to welcome you back at the 'new' Prince Maurice after the renovation work which can be considered as a 'face-lift' to the existing property, hence bringing-in new trends in decoration.

We did bring some changes in the hotel's features but did keep the same team which represents the 'soul' of the property and which has one common goal, which is 'to delight the guest' at all times. This 'Princely Touch' in our service can be felt as it comes from the heart of the team whilst always striving to exceed the guest's expectations.

You know the secret now, there is no need to adventure elsewhere, but come back to 'your' hotel and to be looked after a team who knows you and with whom you do feel like 'at home'.

We will look forward to welcome you back for your third visit in the future.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe de Flacq
15.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,441 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,647 reviews
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
30.8 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
15.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Prince Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Prince Maurice

Property: Constance Prince Maurice
Address: Choisy Rd, Poste de Flacq, Pointe de Flacq, Mauritius 02300
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Pointe de Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pointe de Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Prince Maurice 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate romantic hideaway, where stunning architectural design meets relaxed luxury. Step into this high functioning deluxe paradise, and choose from one of the 64 Junior suites, 12 Family suites, 12 Villas or the sumptuous Princely Villa. Revel in the intimate and secluded setting, pamper yourself at the renowned Sisley spa and U Spa by Constance, then enjoy the exceptional international cuisine created by our chefs from around the world. Families enjoy the beach-side villas and complimentary children's club 'Constance Kids Club', while golf fans can retreat to our 2, 18-hole championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Prince Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel Poste De Flacq
Le Prince Maurice Hotel
Constance Prince Maurice Mauritius/Pointe De Flacq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing