We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June. The transfer is just over an hour but it is well worth it. We were very warmly greeted with a small iced drink and a cold flannel. The weather was perfect, when it did rain it was during the night. We could sit in the sun all day without having to go in and out the pool to cool down. We did however spend most of our time on the beach, the beach service is great you need not get off your sun lounger, very friendly beach service guys. There are beach hawkers who wish to sell you their goods but we found them no problem just saying no thanks and they would be on their way. We stayed in a deluxe room which is on the third ( top ) floor, it was huge. The bathroom has a large bath and a large walk in shower, double sinks and the toilet is situated inside the bathroom but has a door for privacy, dressing gowns and many toilitries provided. There is ample wardrobe space and drawers. Not a flat screen tv though, I am sure they will get round to that eventually but we did have free internet access in our room so we took a small laptop to skype family. Our balcony had a sea view but as in previous reviews the view was obstructed by many palm trees. Room service was great they also returned on an evening to tidy your room and turn down your bed. We cheekily asked for a look in the family rooms and these are just absolutely massive they are like a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment without a kitchen, they even had childrens sized dressing gowns hanging up for use. The main buffet restaurant always had excellent food. They have live cooking stations where all your food is cooked fresh and to your liking, plentiful choice. The other two restaurants were also excellent, you need to book to go to either of these but you can go as many times as you like during your holiday these are both waiter service, choice is minimal but still all very good. We did go all-inclusive which I advise anyone to do as drinks and food is pretty expensive. You still get good quality bottles of wine, soft drinks, cocktails, etc. Staff are extremely polite helpful and friendly they try and do anything you ask them. The watersports are very good all located on the beach, pedaloes, kayaking, glass bottom boat , small sailing boats and speed boats with floats on the back to give you a ride of your life, water sking is further along the beach near Le Horizon restaurant. I recommend aqua shoes for when you are in the sea as the coral is quite dense and rough on your feet, we took our own snorkling kits, you will see different types of fish when you are just standing in the sea. We saw a wedding everyday at the hotel, couples usually get married on the beach in a beautiful decorated wooden gazebo, the only downside for couples getting married there is just about everyday out at sea there was a large tanker, not really the view you want in Mauritius getting married or not. The bar is lovely, great for a drink anytime of the day, nicely decorated, always exotic flowers on display throughout the hotel. We did a sub-scooter ride which we recommend and a wild south day excursion to see some of the island, these are trips you can book anytime, a local representative will call and see you at the hotel for any info you may need and trips you can book. People are very helpful, taxi drivers are not going to rip you off we had no problems with anything. If I was to have a complaint it would be how early it gets dark on an evening. It was 6pm and it was dark, missed the long light nights like in Europe. Overall the hotel is fabulous, food is great and staff just want you to enjoy your holidays, would definately return to Le Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DawnL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 2,801 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

I recently stayed at Le Victoria Hotel in Mauritius with my wife and 2 kids. The hotel was fabulous - clean, visually appealing and everything in perfect working order. Staff were absolutely friendly and always helpful. There was a wide array of foods to suit every taste. I would strongly recommend this hotel for parents with children. Well done Le Victoria. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spidey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We travelled to Mauritius to escape the World Cup frenzy in South Africa, with our children aged 10/8/4.
We had high hopes, though were ready for things to be a little unimaginative perhaps- but this was not the case, until we were tiring of the buffet towards the end.

Much larger than usual rooms ( with seaviews from all it seemed ) beautiful beach and very well set up for all watersports. Good food, palatable wines/beers on the Serenity package. Service sometimes a little erratic, but nothing to get too excited about.

Our only real complaint would be the intricacies of the "all inclusive/serenity" package- especially with relation to the 2 "speciality" restaurants - L'Horizon & le Casa. L'Horizon is great for lunch by the sea, and seemed to be half empty most of the time, but gets horribly confusing at night when the menus expand and Serenity seems to cover one course. And then doesn't. And then maybe does - just all too much effort. Service tries to rush you through at dinner also.
We experienced exactly the same at Le Casa, with the added amusement / annoyance that the staff seemed to think they were at a 3* Michelin establishment. Really, don;t bother with this particualr restaurant.

As other reviews have said, no need to use the official tourism people just get a taxi - about 20gbp to Grand Baie or Port Louis. We didnt get out much, beach life was too good.

Generally, loved it, and would seriously consider returning.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed at le victoria from the 27 may till the 1 june 2010.Had the most fantastic holiday ever.The best food and drinks, fresh and clean.Staff are fantastic.The attention you get is first class.Hotel rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.I will go back.Europe has so much to learn from this place.The weather was perfect as well.My kids loved the kids club, they are 9 and 11, girl and boy.Loved the clean beach, had plenty of good food and a great nights sleep.Go there , you will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

It was our 40 year wedding anniversary ,so we decided to go somewhere special. The hotel was recommended, so my wife and I with two friends booked two weeks in May/June.It was almost a perfect holiday . The hotel ,the deluxe rooms and the facilities were just great (the sea view wasonly partial because of the numerous coconut trees).The beach is not powdery white sand it is full of coral and small shells also the sea is full of coral so swim/walk type beach shoes are essential.People used the sea for snorkelling and pedloes etc and the pool for swimming, having said that, the beach was fantastic for sun bathing and in late afternoon watching the sun go down. The beach kiosk provided us with clean towels every day and would also serve drinks at our beach beds. The three restaurants were very good Le superb was buffet type used for breakfast , lunch and evening meals which would have theme nights eg. creole, curry , mediterranean, plenty of choice. Le casa was italian menu and Le horizon was only fish, both these had to be booked in advance. The service was excellent, the waiters and all the staff couldn't do enough for us very friendly and courteous. The weather was a mix of hot sun, cloud and some showers, the evenings were wam and balmy so shirts, chinos and strappy dresses for the ladies were ideal. The entertainment was a resident band who sang mainly in french and the songs were a bit dull but a couple times they sang some ABBA and Barry White and Tamla Motown at our request. Some of the excursions wre good and the local taxi drivers would take us to Port Louis and Grande Bais they would wait while we shopped or just looked around. The perfect week was followed by not so perfect second week as a horde of french decended on the hotel (a group of 120 followed by groups of 60 and 80 over the next few days) They were loud arrogant unfriendly they smoked in all the non smoking areas. They blocked booked the two restaraunts so no one else could get in, they had tables reserved in Le superb so they could all sit together (not that we wanted to be anywhere near them) . We would meet our friends for a pre dinner cocktail in the bar and Le group had pushed tables and chairs ,together blocking aisleways and leaving no where to sit. Loud and obnoxious they would then trundle off to dinner leaving the staff to re arrange the bar. As for smart casual as a dress code for evening meals well we made an effort but Le group wore nothing like it - jogging bottoms jumpers, scruffy T shirts and jeans that looked like they had been slept in. but the hotel seemed to pander to these people. I know the hotel has to make a profit but their reputation will suffer if they keep having these big groups which spoil it for the rest .The all inclusive package was wonderful if you like cocktails, wine and beer etc ( the wines were from south africa australia and chile) all good stuff and the spirits were names we recognised, the mini bar was free for water fruit juice and beer and restocked everyday . Room towels were changed everyday and there was also a night service.
So all in all a wonderful hotel and facilities, superb location, charming and courteous staff but you cant legislate for the other guests especially Le group from france also we didnt have many children but I could imagine loads of Le group kids running around unchecked would be a nightmare.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

After long decisions on where to get married we decided upon Mauritius, the best decision ever made. The people are lovely, caring and considerate quite refreshing..The staff were all pleasant and willing to make sure your holiday is special which it was..My only sore point was the night meal dress code, we were told via Beachcomber that dress shorts were acceptible for my partner, but upon arriving at Le Superbe for our evening meal we were confronted by front of house to say we werent welcome unless he got changed into trousers, lucky enough we had packed some just incase. The restaurant manager afterwards was very friendly, apologetic and made every effort to ensure we were happy. We had light showers which seemed to pass very quickly allowing the wonderful sunshine to come through. The meals do get repetative and we found it quite difficult to feed our 2 sons, who seemed to mainly eat pizza and pasta but given that they didnt complain. The whole place is peace itself, we relaxed right up until our wedding day which was co-ordinated by Winnie Jane who was great, everything we asked for she provided and more, the day went without a hitch, the photographer was great and everyone has commented on how wonderful and professional the photos appeared. Our waiter on an evening was 'Didier'bless him towards the end of our fortnight stay he knew who drank what, our room number etc made it all that more special..Entertainment (if thats what you call it) needs serious improvement, that would be my only bad point on the hotel in general, could have done with a liitle bit more.
Finally the main dampner other than the rain showers 'Groupe de Brossette' pains in the rear, loud, obnoxious arrogant people who seemed to take over the hotel, the other restaurants (which were fully booked to them) arrived.One of their party a male, drank and got louder and threatening, parading around like a peacock intimidating another english group who was also getting married, bby shaking chairs and singing (in french) as loud as possible. The engligh party got moved in which he cheered along with his other party cheered with victory..This was a sad sight to such a wonderful, dream holiday to be spoiled by these people, whom the hotel seemed to give preferential treatment to, such a shame. Yet us brits get the bad name!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stivvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I were married at Le Victoria in 2004. We celebrated our fifth anniversary there in September last year and we have just returned from a third visit in May 2010. I have been to Mauritius many times and it is difficult to single out one holiday as being the best. This said, if this last trip to Le Victoria was not my best ever holiday to Mauritius then it is certainly in the top two. The place just seems to get better each year.

But, lets get the bad stuff out the way first. If you enjoy being awoken at first light every single morning by a screaming, temper tantrum throwing brat, this is the place to be. If you enjoy having breakfast surrounded by even more such brats that follow you to lunch, then this is the place to be. Finally, time for a quiet romantic dinner by the sea side at La Casa, said temper tantrum brats and their inconsiderate, selfish parents will make damn sure that your evening will not be quiet, enjoyable and romantic. If all of this appeals to you then you dare not go anywhere else besides Le Victoria. These under six year olds will make sure that you soon learn to just “love” kids.

One cannot lay the problem at the hotel’s door. They are powerless to do anything about it. The parents have paid but the kids pay nothing and are free to wreck your holiday. But the hotel is a family hotel so one must expect it. Management will do everything that they can to help. Move your room or move you to a table as far away as possible. Talking to the parents just results in insults and rude responses. I observed the worst culprits to be South African and French families that seem to encourage their kids to bother everyone but them. But, if this doesn’t bother you, then Le Vic is the place to be.

The question of whether a hotel is good value for money is a subjective one. Having stayed in a great many hotels on the Island, I am confident in saying that Le Vic is a great buy in its comparable price range. The rooms have everything that you need and yes, the far too many palm trees all but obliterate any chance of a sea view but one can get over that. Each time that I have visited the hotel I have seen an improvement in standards, particularly the food. The specialty restaurants are a must for a fantastic evening (sans kids if possible). The staff are prepared to assist whenever needed and the General Manager, Lothar Gross, is fluent in French, German and English. He has only been at Le Vic for the past two years but has certainly made his presence felt. If you need to meet with him he will meet with you but his assistants will do everything to try and resolve the problem without you having to go to the top.

I have read the other reviews on Trip Advisor and I agree with most of what is said about the rooms and the beach etc – no point in repeating it here. Having regard to everything that I have said above, my only problem right now is in deciding when my wife and I will return next year. Final word about the kids – you can be lucky and have a holiday with no kids or you can be unlucky and get swamped by the 80 kids that I had. Its the luck of the draw. If you want to get married there, it is difficult to imagine a more organized team to arrange it all for you in a better setting. A trip to Le Victoria may well be one of the things to do before you die.

PS - I have not given full ratings due to effect the kids had on my holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CapeTownWatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
3.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,774 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $230 - $820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing