We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatstic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having recently returned from 10 days here, I can only but recommend this resort. We were in one of the suites with amazing views over the ocean. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The food was good with a variety to choose from. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smurf2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,844 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beachcombers' Le Victoria Hotel in Mauritius exceeded our expectations in every aspect. The rooms and facilities were more than we had expected after seeing their brochure and website, service levels and staff friendliness were brilliant and facilities/restaurants excellent. The all inclusive package we stayed in was SO worth it and there was virtually nothing we needed to spend money on except for tips, day excursions and any shopping we wanted to do. I would HIGHLY recommend Le Victoria Hotel as a hotel and Mauritius as a destination - it ticked all the boxes!!!

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms on the ground floor are really spacious if you're travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skollie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Le Victoria having spent a week there for our honeymoon along with our 16 month old daughter. The hotel is simply fantastic and looks just as the promotional photos show it to look. With 250+ rooms it is a very large resort spread out along the beach front. All rooms face the ocean.

The building does not look dated and old and everything appears to be finished properly. It must be quite a task to keep the place clean and the gardens landscaped throughout, but we never once saw or heard this daily chore take place. Every day we woke up to a clean and pristine resort.

We stayed in a family room and it was massive. It consisted of two rooms, both en-suite, that opened onto a very large balcony. Both rooms had a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making fascilities. The mini bar was in the main room only, so no fear of the kids raiding it in the night if they are in there on their own. The hotel provided a cot for our daughter which was sturdy and comfortable and came with its own mosquito net (not that we needed it as we didnt see a single mozzie the whole holiday). The room was light and airy and very clean and comfortable.

There are 3 restaurants plus the bar where you can get afternoon snacks. We never got around to trying the Italian restaurant, but the main restaurant and the fish restaurant were fantastic. The buffet at the main restaurant always provided more than you can eat in one sitting and every night there was something different. At lunch the spread probably wasn't as ambitious but we mostly just had a baguette at the bar for lunch anyway. Breakfasts were fantastic with a choise for pretty much any kind of breakfast you want, be it cereals, pancakes, full English, cold meats, fresh fruits, croissants and other stuff I didn't even look at. Basically, on an all inclusive deal you will never feel hungry! I do not understand the other reviews stating the food was poor. Either those people are impossible to please, or have dietry requirements that veer far from the norm.

The service at the hotel was impeccable. The waiters were very responsive and went out of their way to please, especially when it came to our daughter. There was always a high-chair available and any requests for food or drink not on any menu was catered for (chicken nuggest for the little one in the fish restaurant for example). Jessen was fantastic and whenever he was on duty he would make us feel welcome and always made our daughter smile! The reception staff were also very accommodating and helpful, from checking in/out to requests for information and money changing. Everything was done with a smile and was fast and efficient. We hired a car for one of the days to go exploring and the whole process was easy and swift and, again, the staff were impeccable. If you decide to do this, do not pay much attention to the road map you are provided. You will get lost! There are so many new roads in Mauritius that it renders the old maps somewhat redundant. Fortunately, the island is small and so eventually, all roads lead back to Le Victoria (eventually!).

The beach was where we wanted to spend most of our time and it is a great beach to spend that time on. The sand is clean and devoid of any rubbish. It is a little course in places and isnt soft powdery sand everywhere. But it wasnt an issue. The sea itself is calm throughout the day and there is not a lot of difference between high and low tide. There is a lot of coral in the sea which makes it a great snorkeling envronment but it does mean you should wear some kind of footwear in case you stand on something sharp. Some reviews here have stated you cant swin in the sea. Nonsense. It is a great place to swim. Buy a mask and snorkel from the shop ($25) and enjoy. There are plenty of sun loungers and plenty of shade and the beach bars are open until 5pm serving drinks and snacks until your heart is content. Hawkers walk up and down the beach and occasionally engage in conversation with you. But by and large, they are not pushy or intrusive.

The pool area looks amazing. We didnt really use the pool that much as we spent most of the time on the beach, plus at this time of year (end of June) the pool was a little chilly. But I can see its appeal in the warmer months and is a great place to chill out and relax. I can also imagine it getting very busy and very noisy around the pool in peak months however.

The hotel was pretty quiet when we were there and I think it was for the better. I would imagine during the peak season when they are pretty full it would be a somewhat different experience. Although June is one of the "cold" months in Mauritius, we never needed a jumper in the evenings which we thought we might. The day time was hot (between 25 and 27 degrees) and the evenings were warm (around 22 degrees). So whilst this did make the pool a little chilly, it actually made for the perfect weather unless you really want hot and humid all day and all night. And because we went out of season, the hotel was not by any means full and running at capacity. This meant we had a lot more room to ourselves and we never felt we were in a crowded place.

Prices for food and drinks at the hotel are expensive (aren't they in hotels everywhere?) so I would recomend going with an all inclusive package. You do pay a lot more, but at least you do not need to worry about watching the pennies everytime you order something. The only drawback to all inclusive is that you feel obliged to get your money's worth and so end up over indulging. Plus the fact that the buffet spread is so enticing, it is hard not to go back for a second helping.

We took advantage of the babysitting service for our last 2 nights at the hotel. We booked the babysitter through reception who arrived at our room at the stated time. Her name was Nita and she was a very nice older lady. She made us feel very comfortable about leaving our baby asleep in the room whilst we went out to have dinner and a few drinks. The charge for the service was 200 rupees (around $7) an hour. We then paid Nita the cash when we got back to the room. We were so impressed with Nita that in hindsight, we wished we had used the service more often and in the day time too so we had a bit more time to ourselves to enjoy some of the watersports available. We will definately do this next time!

All in all it was a fantastic holiday. If we were on our honeymoon without our daughter we would have probably gone somewhere else as Le Victoria isn't designed to be a secluded romantic getaway. If your travel agent tries to sell it to you as that, then find another agent. However, as a family/honeymoon holiday it fitted perfectly. Our daughter loved it and so did we. Would we have enjoyed it just as much during peak season? Im not so sure. With 250+ rooms at full capacity there would be over 500 people there. I think this would be too much. I would definately recommend going in the "cold" months for a quieter experience.

Negatives:
One morning we found some broken glass on the beach around one of the table/loungers we were on. We dug out as much as we could find and informed the nearby beach bar. They then sent someone over to clear up properly.

Ground floor rooms open out onto the hotel grounds so privacy may be an issue if the hotel is very busy as the footpaths do run right in front some of the rooms.

The 45 minute glass-bottom boat ride only lasted about 20 minutes. The boat driver seemed bored and never said a word. Perhaps because we were the only ones on the boat he didnt think it neccessary?

The kids club area whilst great for kids of a climbing age didnt offer very much for the under twos. Whilst we were aware that the kids club is for 3 year olds and up, we were allowed to take our daughter to the playground as long as she was supervised by us (or a babysitter). Unfortunately, apart from one swing, there was nothing else to entertain our daughter.

Recommendations:

Rent a car for the day ($100) and go exploring. Grand Bay has planty to see and some good shopping if that is what you want. The South West has some great landscapes and is very different to the north west. To avoid going through Port Louis ask where the new road to the south is and then prepare to get lost for 30 minutes or so.

Do not walk to the shop at the end of the road hoping for a bargain or for something cheaper than the hotel shop. It is full of tourist tat that isnt really very interesting and certainly isnt cheap. Also, the branded clothing is all fake.

Go snorkeling!

If you have kids then utilise the babysitting service. It is affordable and safe.

Eat lunch from the bar snacks menu as opposed to the buffet in the restaurant.

The beach to the left seemed a lot more quiet and offered better snorkeling. The beach to the right had softer sand but was busier.

For airport transfers save yourself some money and book a taxi (google mauritius taxi services) rather than pay more than double for the hotel transfer.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. A 2nd or 3rd floor room is more private and has a balcony. Family rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JonBenbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are going as a family with children then this is the hotel for you. If you are going as a couple I would not recommend this as there were children running around everywhere. The rooms were large and modern and the resort had three restaurant to choose from, although I recommend you make reservations on your first day for the Italian and seafood restaurants as they were fully booked most nights. The service was excellent and the location of the hotel is also very ideal for scuba diving.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaG742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a difficult review to write for reasons that are no reflection on the hotel.

First, the easy part.
The hotel is lovely and the standards of staffing, food and hygiene are superb. The choice of food at every meal was immense and to a very high standard.
The room was large, airy and spotless. It was made up every day while you were out and then checked and tidied again while you were at your evening meal.
Everything is maintained to the highest standards.

The hotel even made a special effort to accommodate those wanting to watch the world cup. I'm not a football fan but, being in the bar filled with Germans when they go 3 - 0 up is quite an experience!

We went in early June which is just going in to the winter. We had a couple of dull days but for the most part temperatures were mid 20s.

The hotel was only about 40% full. Whether standards would be different in high season, I don't know. I suspect the standards WOULDN'T drop as the attention to detail was excellent.

Waiter service of food and drinks on the beach was a welcome novelty.

We did a couple of trips. One in a group on a bus and one on our own with a guide and a car.
The botanical gardens lived up to all our expectations and we could have spent much longer there.
The shopping in the newly built shopping area was disappointing. It was mainly generic "could be anywhere that the cruise ships use"
The history of the island was interesting and the people very nice. (A bit pushy in the shops but I think that is more a cultural thing).

Here is the tricky bit…

It's a island with sun, blue water and lovely beaches
It's a 12 hour flight from London compared to 8 or 9 to the Caribbean.
So, why go here rather than the Caribbean?

Having been to Antigua and Barbados, I can't give you an answer.

And that's the tricky bit, why go all the way here? It's lovely but I can't think of anything distinctively stand out that would make me say "you should go there"
It you do go, then this is a great hotel and I am happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to our room which, I think, meant we were upstairs to enjoy a better view. To be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive-tracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Le Victoria for a week in beginning of June. The staff went out of their way to accommodate all of our requests. We were initially allocated a room close to the hotel delivery area and kitchen & after requesting to move we were moved to a stunning room in a quieter area of the hotel.
Will definitely return should we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariliseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

So my wife and I planned a trip to Mauritius in April. After looking at hundred's of brochures(not really) on resort we settled on Le Victoria with help from our fantastic travel agent Genevieve at Flight Center. We read up alot about the place on Trip Advisor before we left so we were really looking forward to making this trip with our two kids 4 and half and 4months old. And true to Le Victoria's class it did not disappoint from the time we arrived. WE arrived late on a Thursday evening but quickly checked in and directed to dinner where we found an amazing Buffet dinner that catered for all our needs. Getting into our room was stupendious we had been upgraded to the Superior suite on the 3rd level Room 330. Fantastic apartment but only complaint, it is the closest to the entertainment area so if you a light sleeper rather. It was however the closest room to reception and dining area and pool so pretty good. The room was absolutely perfect and the cleaner Rahul made sure it was spotless everyday. Exploring the resort we probably found our heaven on earth. The resort caters for your every need. Enjoy a relaxing day at the pool or on the beach. Definitely a family orientated resort by the number of kids. And with kids the Kids club was perfect the ladies were so helpful and friendly. The food was absolutely amazing the Buffet was perfect and something new every evening. If you were there for more than a week I can understand why other reviewers did not like it as it would be repetitive but for us for a week it was grand. WE did get to the other restaurants and probably sad that we did not use Le Casa the Italian restaurant more. Everyone raves about Le Horizon the seafood restaurant but for us Le Casa was better. And on the All inclusive we paid for nothing at either of these restaurants. They were even more accommodating to my daughter making her chicken nuggets and chips which was not even on the menu.
There are tons of things to do everyday so no chance of getting bored. All watersport were free except paragliding, so if you wanna try watersking go for it they have a boat with a training bar.
This place is the best I have experienced in Mauritius and we will definitely go back. All the staff are fantastic so thank you Le Victoria for giving us an amazing holiday. Can go on and on but not enough space so go experience it for yourself you will not be disappointed. Everything is expensive if you on the rand so definitely go All-inclusive.

Room Tip: Room 330 is very nice but very close to entertainment. Rather try apartments on any level ending wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AvineshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
3.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,820 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,585 reviews
27.9 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $228 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing