We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time and still amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third time and still amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

First of all - i already miss Le Victoria and all the special people working there. We stayed for one week there, end of march, in a superior ground floor room (176). It was the third time we visit Le Victoria and it's still amazing and surprising!
They have an awesome lobby from where you have a fantastic view of the pool, beach and ocean.
We loved everything, starting with Corail Bleu Bar (amazing sunsets over the sea from this place), the main restaurant- Le Superbe, sometimes very busy but never crowded( I recommend to go all inclusive!), Bob Marlin miniclub (my daughter was in love with everybody there, especially Sophie), dining on the beach near L'Horizon (huge and super tasty lobster! it's an absolute must!), beach service was great; superbe gardens and very well maintained; the beach is extremely nice and wide (but be careful with the sharp corals); rooms are very well appointed and very spacious; entertainment is still at a very high standard (big hug, dear Steeve:) ).
Hard to describe how you feel there, though...it's like a perfect, round piece of heaven!

One night we had a meeting with the management, with candels and tasty canapes, interesting discussions, sweet mauritian air,moon and stars light... which was a really nice touch! (special thanks for Mr. Lothar Gross!)

Le Victoria it is special thanks to its people! Everybody there has a smile for you, everybody do everything for you to feel spoiled! It's all about this hotel great team! The hotel manager told us one thing that is actually so true: " you just have to raise your hand and everything will be solved for you" .

We'll be back in 2015 for sure. Until then keep on going, you are doing an amazing job! Big, big Thank you, Le Victoria!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_S091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    591
    104
    29
    16
See reviews for
1,170
846
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

we stayed at the Le Victoria hotel, Mauritius. our family of 4, sons age 15 and 16 and my wife and I.
The hotel is well situated on the west coast, so not too windy (the east coast is very windy)
the best rooms are ground floor, as they face onto a large garden which leads directly onto the beach.
rooms are smallish, but ok, as you do not spend too much time there anyway.
there are 2 main options as far as accomodation : full board or half board. Full means that all drinks and all meals are "free", half means that you pay for drinks, and i think for lunch also.
Is it worth it? well, it depends on how much you drink. if you like your wine and cocktails, then go for full-board- the drinks can be VERY expensive, so you will quickly cover the added cost of full-board.
we dont drink really, BUT having said that, the bous really enjoyed being able to go and eat what they eanted when they wanted, to order cooldrinks whenever they wanted etc- so it may still be worthwhile if you have teens.
be careful when ordering off the menu- not everything is covered by the full-board rate- dont be shy to ask every time what is and what is not covered by the rate.

activities:
much is made of waterskiing. forget it. if you cant ski, you may enjoy being dragged through the water , but if you can ski, the boat is ok , but the skis are old and basic, its in the sea, so not calm, and the ski is out and back once, about 5 mins max, then you have to wait your turn again, and if the queue is long .....!
what is worth it , is a catamaran trip to one of the nearby reefs/island. its a very big boat, about 30 people, and beautiful.
but the MAIN activity is snorkelling or scuba diving. if you have your own equipement, take it along, or you can hire there.
tthe water is clear, warm and deep enough to be interesting. a small boat takes you from the hotel beach about 10mins awayf to the other side of the reef ( the water in front of the hotel is VERY shallow, with VERY sharp coral, so you cant really swim, and you MUST take rubber/plastic shoes).
once on the other side of the reef its deeper (about 6 meters). also on the catamaran trip, you can snorkel there, buts its shallow.
we dont scuba divem but there are lots of operators who will take you to great dive spots.

other attractions:

nil. unless you have never seen a typical island/african country, i would not suggets the tours to town, attractions etc- its very small, basic and not interesting, certainly not to visitors from Europe i would think. the hotels are islands of luxury in a sea of poverty- the wealth created by the tourism industry does not seem to have flitererd down, so its shacks, litter and poor people- coming from Africa we have that on our doorstep every day, so maybe i am just tired of it , but i certainly was glad we did not pay to see it!
you can get alomist anywhere on the island inside of 2 hours. there is a bus service into town, so dont hire a car. if you want to go elsewhere, hire a taxi from OUTSIDE the hotel- the taxis which the hotel will arange are much more expensive. DO BE AWARE that it is not unheard of for the taxi to take you to your destination, and then demand much more than agreed to bring you back. did not happen to us, but we heard of it. (if it does, and provided you are not in a reall remote area, i would tell them to leave, and just try to get another taxi, or call the hotel.

caution on the beach
the beach is right in front of the hotel, and the hotel has its deck chairs,a cocktail bar and so on on the beach, BUT it is actually a public beach! the problem is that the only public you will see there are poor peoplr who take a walk to see what you have left on your chair or towel! there are security guards, but be careful- dont leave valuables around, leave your Rolex in the hotel safe and take hotel towels.

food is ok, but not special. there are 2 other restaurants where you must book. beautiful settings, and worth a dinner or two, but again not fantastic food- but do go, the setting is magnificent and makes up for it .

to sum up- its a nice hotel, the food is ok, and the setting is good. its not the most luxurious hotel, and there is really not much to do except lie in the sun and relax.
if thats what you are after- you will enjoy Le Victoria and Mauritius

Room Tip: ground floor if you can . its not a disaster if you cant- there is only one floor above it anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned home from a wonderful family vacation to Le Victoria and had to recommend as it was such a welcoming, easy and comfortable place to have fun and relax.
I have stayed at a few hotels in Mauritius but Le Victoria really seems to strike a great balance between idyllic beach resort and family fun resort.
Very comfortable accommodation (our room was huge, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a big flat screen tv in each bedroom and a big wraparound balcony overlooking the beach with loungers and a sitting area); great kids club and activities for little kids and teenagers which can keep them busy until 10:30pm if they/you like (nothing forced or overly 'gung-ho' like a Club Med, which I find incredibly distracting); consistently good food with lots of variety; nice long beach protected by a reef; lots of watersports; free automatic wifi everywhere and run professionally with friendly staff - typical of Beachcomber properties.
The other guests were mainly people between 30-50 with kids and from SA, Namibia, France, Italy and Germany - we met a lot of very pleasant people and the kids all played together nicely.
I don't know if it is the norm for this part of Mauritius but we had the chance one afternoon to swim amongst a playful school of dolphins just a five minute boat ride from the beach which was very exciting!
Le Victoria ticks all the boxes for a beautiful island getaway with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWardall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quatre Bornes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having spent 4 days for a family holiday and rest .a warm welcome , serious and well done service for this hotel.both children's and parents place for a good time.buffet and chef are at their highest prestige with no comments but only congratulation for their effort of satisfying their clients.thanks.unfortunately when it's lunch time or in pool bars service was not at our expectation.Too long to wait for food (3 burgers and a pizza for nearly an hour.could have done better.otherwise a very charming and wonderful place for a good stay.we will surely repeat shortly hoping a good bar and lunch service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having travelled to this gorgeous island many times now we felt disappointed staying at this hotel. Our trip started off very well with a lovely flight on Air Mauritius but as soon as we arrived at the hotel our disappointment set in. When enquiring where our room was to be found we were pointed in the direction and no further assistance was provided, we even had to carry our own bags...? Then we entered our room to find they are still stuck in the dark ages with old TV's rather than the norm today of flat panel displays. The picture quality of the feed so bad we couldn't even watch what was being broadcasted.

The restaurant is below standard for a 4+ star hotel. There is a variety of food, but not what one expects to find in an island setting. Their version of seafood is fish and calamari, that’s it… We stayed on a half board basis and found it crazy that even though the meal was paid for we were charged for tea following our meal.

Their water facilities are very nice, the skiing venue is very accessible and enjoyable, however they run only 1 of their 2 boats for a maximum of 3 hours resulting in queuing whenever one wants to ski. They also argue that they can’t run longer due to the tides however the other commercial operators running from the hotel don’t seem to suffer any issues running all day.

The staff seem eager to help and appear to be missing good guidance from the top, when we highlighted our disappointment they attempted to rectify things by buying us a TV which was great however we just seemed to feel done in as we paid similar money to be here as we would have paid at other much better facilities and feel that the food, both variety and quality needs to urgently be addressed otherwise this facility should not be allowed to maintain its 4th star.

We would recommend looking elsewhere on the island

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Liptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nothing further to say and mention...You must go...It's in the middle of paradise.And I don't say this only for the island.The hotel is a perfect start to an amazing stay. The views, Th excellent food, the service and the cleaniness is only some of the many advantages of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10smile_78_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday in October last year on the island of Mauritius. Our hotel was the Beachcomber Le Victoria, which was even more beautiful than it was described to us by our travel agent. This hotel and its entire team is really difficult to say with stars. The management of the Victoria Hotel can be rightly proud of its staff, which always gives the tourists the feeling of attention without being obtrusive. The hotel with its immediate location on the beautiful beach of the Indian Ocean, which is separated only by a palm garden, the rooms inviting with their size for dancing, the staff which gives every need and greatest attention, and not least the restaurants with your staff and chefs who absolutely from me and my wife had the highest rating, and "review" is actually the wrong word. On departure we vowed when I next year my 60 birthday celebration, then the Hotel Le Victoria in Mauritius.
It's not a vacation, it is feeling!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,895 reviews
29.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing