We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, friendly service & great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hotel - great facilities, good selection of restaurants and excellent service. The staff were friendly and couldn't help you enough. 180 buffet restaurant offered varied and high quality food, could occasionally be a little crowded but there was plenty of food available and the choices were continually replenished. Shells the seafood restaurant had a beautiful setting on the beach. The all inclusive package was very comprehensive with most things included in the price, however i would be careful if going full / half board as drinks were rather expensive (in Maurutius generally not particularly this hotel).

We stayed in the Nirvana rooms which were excellent and would be highly recommended if you don't have kids as the larger pool did get quite crowded and there were lots of children staying in the hotel. The bar staff at the Nirvana pool bar and restaurant were great.

The pools were great but the only disappointment with the hotel was the beach. We had pictured a Maldives-like white natural sandy beach with clear blue sea and lots of fish, however this beach was very rocky to the extent that it was difficult to swim without shoes.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel, especially the Nirvana suites.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spam1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Spam 1e,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 3,157 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon for 4 nights in May 2009 (better late than never for a review!).

Upon arrival, we were amazed by the view of the sea through the hotel lobby - breathtaking and just what we needed to see after a long 14 hour flight! We were given cold drinks whilst staff checked us in, and upon our request, we were given a first floor room (rather than the ground floor room originally allocated to us). We were escorted to our room on buggy - we were staying in the Nirvana area which is about a 5 minute walk to the main hotel area.

I would definitely recommend paying that little bit extra to stay in the Nirvana area. A seperate infinity pool, away from the rabble and kids which overtook the other pool areas. Also the sea view from the room, huge bathroom that overlooked the bedroom and sea (although partially obscured by palm trees although I think that adds to the view).

We were staying on an all incl basis and the food was fantastic! Breakfast at 360 was a feast, we had lunch and dinner at all the restaurants on site. The only negative was dinner at La Faya - poor poor service! We waited over 45 minutes for some food and when it did arrive, we were given mains instead of our starters! Ruined oour last night's dinner at the resort but we were invited back for lunch the next day..which we politely declined!

The only fault of the hotel is the number of stray cats roaming around the restaurants! Unfortunately I'm not a cat lover and often made me feel very anxious throughout my meals! Also the occasional odd bird flying around the 360 restaurant could also sometimes be a bit off putting - just dont leave your food unattended as you won't know whats been nibbling at it!!

The beach is beautiful but there was lots of shingle/dead coral which can cut your feet so be aware of where you're stepping! My husband and I fell in love with the picturesque pier and the views of the beautiful sunset..memories I will never forget!

A fantastic resort and we had a wonderful time staying here. The staff were all extremely courteous and polite. A fantastic start to the honeymoon of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear JandSLondon,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel. It has a huge reception area with a lovely view of the sea. The private beach is quite nice and hotel does have a lot of activities for you like canoeing, paddle boats, parasailing, banana boats, deep sea diving, glass bottom boats. The management even arranged a cocktail party for all the guests one evening.

The rooms were spacious and clean. All the rooms are sea-facing, though you should ask for rooms on first or second floor. We got one on the ground floor and had a very obstructed view of the sea.

Buffet at the restaurant had a nice spread but not much rotation in the menu. If you stay there for 6-7 days, then breakfast gets monotonous.

Be careful of your belongings on the beach...my husband left his T-shirt on the relaxing chair while we went on the speed boat...on coming back, it was missing and nobody had any clue about it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YenKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Yen Kay,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We had been for our honeymoon to Mauritius and stayed at Le Meridien. Its an excellent hotel, staff are courteous.The food is delicious... The rooms are nice and spacious. Had got a good price as booked through an agent in Mauritius, so value for money too. Strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supps19792016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Supps1979,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We (family with 2 years old child) spent 12 wonderful days and nights in this hotel. Staff was very kind and they tries to meet customer expectations to keep you satisified (e.g they changed our room from 1st floor to ground floor, as we asked). We enjoyed there delicious food, water sports (free water-skiing) etc., but most memorable was our wedding ceremony in this hotel. It was really nice and we have good memories forever!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Viking35,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Le Meridien on Mauritius. It was our first visit to both the island and the hotel. The hotel is beautifully situated on the beach at the northwest of the island about an hour's drive from the airport. We were made very welcome by the very friendly staff and found that the rooms were very comfortable with very efficient air conditioning, the food was very good and quite varied. We were on an all inclusive deal and if we hadn't been, it would have been very expensive for the lunch and drinks.

It was a very relaxing holiday and we didn't feel the need to venture outside the hotel. complex

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear GrahamCam,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We need a very last minute break in February with lots of sun and relaxation and Mauritius seemed to fit the bill. We had been to Mauritius before and stayed in the south of the island at Heritage Golf and spa. This hotel is not in that class but the location is much better - the north of the island seems to be much sunnier and have better beaches.

We upgraded to stay in the Nirvana rooms and I'm glad we did because I don't think we would have enjoyed out holiday as much. The Nirvana rooms are described as "a small hotel within a big hotel" and I think that is a good description. It has it's own infinity pool and no children are allowed making it a relaxing and quiet place to be for 2 adults with no kids.

You have a choice of restaurants at the hotel. The buffet retaurants are fine but we ate at La Faya most nights for the a la carte service. Although it was set meals with limited choice, they were different each day. We were all inclusive and all restuarants were included as part of the package. You also had a choice of bottles of wine you could have which were on the AI plan. This hotel is very good at highlighing on menus etc what is included in the various packages (AI, HB) and how much extra you will have to pay. This was our 1st time all-inclusive and it worked out well. I was worried about the quality of food, having to have buffet every night or ending up paying extra for things I wanted but it was very good and when we checked out the only extra we paid was for our spa treatments.

When choosing your hotel in Mauritius, be a little bit wary that the Nirvana section fo the hotel is trying to be a 5* resort in a 4 star hotel but this is a 4 star hotel. With some nice bits but defintiely 4 star.

Also, we arrived at 9am in the morning after a 12 hour flight overnight flight and 1 hour transfer. We were allowed to use the facilities at the hotel but were told we couldn't get in our room until the 2pm check in time and they stuck ridgedly to this. So if you are on an early flight, you may want to contact the hotel in advance to arrange early check-in.

The beach is not private to the hotel (which I like - no hotel should "own" a beach!) but we were not bothered by anyone. It was mainly locals fishing who came onto the beach and the odd sales person.

We hired a car one day to go out and about and there is a shop within walking distance (5 minutes) but other than that you are not very near very much.

If you like golf, stay in a hotel with a golf course because otherwise golf is prohibitively expensive (£100 for 9 holes type prices!)

Pro's:
Felt we got good value for the price we paid
La Faya restaurant - good food and service
Choice of restaurants
Clear what you can have as part of your packages, not much need to pay for anything over and above your All incl. rates unless you want fillet steak one night!
Lots of activities (watersports, spa, kids club etc)

Con's:
3-4* service - in all restaurants (except La Faya) and in hotel in general.
Location - if you want to be near a resort to get out and about more easily
Rooms - pleasant enough but a little shabby round the edges.
Suspect it can get expensive if you are not All Incl. (partly due to the exchange rates)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Lou17,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,829 reviews
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,816 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $197 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing