We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“paradise”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Le meridie hotel in maurituis is no doubt one of the best hotels I have ever been fortuate to stay in, we upgraded to the suites and they were out of this world ,beautiful rooms with beautiful sea views, the hotel itself was five star luxury, drinks were slightly expensive but you dont realise until the end of the holiday ,as you put all drinks and snacks on your room number so I would advise to keep a check on that.
The food was fantastic and had a different theme every night so was variable and the choices were amazing so many to choose from.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed several outings arranged by the hotel I would definitely do this again.
The rooms were so lovely, clean, fresh and very modern, there was a huge shower which was perfect after a day lazing around the pool which is located directly on the beach,or even a jacuzzi bath big enough for two which over looked the beautiful indian ocean.
The spa in the hotel was pure relaxation great sauna and jacuzzi's and the beauty part offered the best massage I have ever had.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone, it is quiet ,with occasional evening entertainment which is local cultural dancing ,a choice of restaurants.
It is about a 10 minute drive to the center where there is a brilliant shopping center and lovely restaurants,this was all arranged by the hotel receptionist.
The hotel also has a brilliant childrens club which offered activities and trips.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear MandalLeicesters...,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    1,004
    405
    150
    117
See reviews for
814
1,541
45
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The Le Meridien Ile Maurice is indeed a very nice hotel. Most of their staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived early in the morning at about 8:30 and the front desk was very kind to assist us to get an earlier available room (our assigned room would only be availabe at 12). We spent sometime at the restaurant for breakfast and got check-in by about 10 a.m. which was very good for us to refresh and rest after the long flight.

The room is very spacious and nicely decorated. But the bathroom is a bit old that we experienced problems in flushing the toilet. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the main building and enjoyed a stunning view of the Indian Ocean. The back of the hotel is a huge sugar cane field that makes it an enjoyable walk along the corridor.

We were on half-board package and so breakfast and dinner are included. Breakfast at the 180 restaurant is a bit boring as they hardly change the variety. But the restaurant enjoys a good view of the Indian ocean which is good. Buffet dinners at 180 is ok as they have different themes every night like French, African, Indian & Chinese but honestly the food doesn't suit Chinese quite well. We prefer La Faya which has a nicer setting for set dinner and the seafood is quite nice. With additional charges, we can order lobsters and tiger prawns at La Faya. The only complaint about dinning in Le Meridien is that the drinks are quite costly.

The beach is lovely and it's true that there are lots of sunbeds available throughout the day.

Just a note that if you want to join the glass-bottom boat trip (free activity by the hotel), you better book earlier as it's quite popular.

The tour counter in the hotel is quite reliable. We booked cars with them and the service is quite good.

And as mentioned by other TA reviews, there is a shop close to the hotel where you can buy bottle water in a reasonable price.

In conclusion, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel and we would definitely revisit Mauritius and stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear HJKHongKong,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in mid June after 4 nights in Dubai. We booked with Destinology and flew with Emirates.

Arrival
At the Hotel we were greeted with a cool towel and fruit juice then driven to our room by buggy.

Location
The hotel is fairly isolated located on the beach with a large gift shop down the road and a few little local shops within walking distance. There’s a taxi rank outside for any journeys further a field.

Hotel
The hotel itself has a very large lobby and reception which is inviting. There are a few small hotel shops near reception aswell as a tour operator’s desk.

Room
We were in room 435 in the Nirvana (Adults) block. We did have to pay extra but my girlfriend and me agreed it was well worth it mainly for the relaxing atmosphere around the pool area. The room was a nice size with a very large comfortable bed, table and chairs, desk and TV.
There was plenty of storage space and complimentary dressing gowns, slippers, a bottle of red wine and a 25 minute massage each at the spa. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower cubicle. We had a small terrace which looked out to sea. The only problem I had with the room was that it could do with a bit of attention, e.g. fix fittings, change broken panels, etc. Also the room could have been cleaned to a better standard. These 2 things by no means spoilt any part of our holiday but I know this really bugs others.

Food & Drink
There are 4 a la carte restaurants aswell as the main buffet restaurant. We were all-inclusive and could dine in any of them. “La Faya” restaurant we thought was the best a la carte because you get the full dining out experience rather than buffet style and it also was right on the beach. The buffet had a different theme every night, some better than others. The catch of the day lunch at “La Faya” was very nice. The local beer “phoenix” wasn’t bad, and there are plenty of cocktails and local spirits available.

Entertainment
- Bay View Bar was the only bar with evening entertainment, there was a band on every night.

- Out of the included water sports I tried water skiing which was great fun. Definitely take advantage of these activities. I believe there is also wind surfing, snorkelling and a glass bottom boat ride.

- There were other activities available like beach football, tennis, table tennis, etc but you wasn’t pressure by anyone to join in.

Staff
The majority of the staff are very helpful, you soon get to know who’s friendlier than others.

Miscellaneous
- If you are all inclusive be aware that it finishes at 12pm on the day you leave, so like us if you aren’t getting picked up until 6pm you will have to pay for any food or drink, and it’s not cheap.
- Don’t use the hotel phone to call home - £23 for 6 minutes!!

Overall
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit of relaxation, good food and friendly staff. If I stayed here again I would definitely pay the extra for the Nirvana area and all-inclusive is a definite must. The rocky beach might tempt me to look elsewhere though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Benjamin_S,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I went to this place with some trepidation with people complaing about the coral based sand etc etc but flipflops or sandals soved that...

This place was great the staff were outstanding, happy to help and always smiling!

Great place if you are think about a honeymoon, I woudl recomend the Nirvana part as this gave you more options and much more personalised stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiinLoonydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear KiwiinLoonydon,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We visited Mauritius for our honeymoon during the last week of May 2009 and stayed at the Le Meridian Ile Maurice and did we love every moment of it!

I chose this hotel out of a plethora of choices after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor - an average rating of 4 by over 200 reviewers convinced me that this place should be good!

The whole resort is well laid out with all rooms facing the ocean. Rooms on the ground floor (we stayed in one) have a door opening out to the beach and its absolutely wonderful. The staff are all very friendly and courteous always greeting you with a smile.

The room itself was very spacious and cosy. I have read one of the reviewers on this very forum writing about cockroaches and insects which I think is absolutely false. There were no such problems at all. The bathroom is also huge with a separate shower and tub. The room is cleaned twice a day regularly and the evening housekeeping staff leave behind a chocolate every day!

Another reviwer warned that everything is charged including water which again is false. We received 2 bottles of mineral water everyday in the room and it was absolutely free.

Coming to the food on offer, again I must say there are negative comments on this forum about vegetarians finding it difficult and Indian food not being available. I must emphasise that this is absolutely not true. My wife and I are both pure vegetarians and we never starved during our stay there! The dinner buffet has a good spread of Indian vegetarian food along with non-vegetarian dishes as well. The breakfast buffet is what I loved the most with a wonderful choice of continental as well as Indian preparations on offer.

The hotel is located on the north west coast of Mauritius and about 15 minutes away from Port Louis by car. We thought that was great because it kept us away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Overall our stay was very memorable and we would certainly go stay there again when we visit Mauritius the next time.

Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PrashantDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear PrashantDR,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at Le Meridien for the second part of our honeymoon, having spent the first week in South Africa. We found it a very comfortable and well-furnished hotel, well situated on a lovely beach and we had a very enjoyable stay. It fulfilled everything we required of it which was to relax in relative luxury after a very busy couple of weeks. The only thing we could really say against it (apart from some minor quibbles, see below) was that you could be almost anywhere in the world – we felt it lacked character.

The hotel is on the other side of the island to the airport, which is in the south east. The north-west of the island is said to be drier than the east, and we only had one afternoon’s rain. The trip there from the airport was 50mins in the late evening by car. The journey back in a minibus caught the rush hour, and took twice as long.

It didn’t start off too well as when we arrived at about 9 pm, our room was not ready because the previous guests had paid for a late check-out. The staff were very apologetic and suggested we have a drink and dinner first, but we really wanted to have a shower as we’d been travelling for about 10 hours. By the time it got to 9.45 and the room still wasn’t ready we came to the conclusion we would have to eat (at least the restaurant was open until 10 pm). Eventually we managed to get into our room at 10.30.

However, once we were in it, the room itself was positively palatial – in fact we’d been upgraded to a junior suite (presumably because we were on our honeymoon, and had been inconvenienced). We’d originally booked into the Nirvana wing because it’s adults only, but have to admit the change was for the better as, judging by our recce the next day, the Nirvana rooms appeared to be quite small in comparison and the designated beach area is small and stony.

The main beach is very nice – long and fairly wide, with fine white sand and lots of shade. There were plenty of comfortable sun loungers and for a change you didn’t have to get up at 7 am to get one! You can have a clean beach towel whenever you want from the kiosk. The sea was calm and fine for swimming and snorkelling, although a lot of the sea area was sectioned off for water sports. There are beach vendors, but they are polite and non-intrusive.

The hotel occupies about a half mile length of the beach, so if you are at the Nirvana end, be ready for a 10 minute walk down to watersports at the other end.

All the rooms in our block faced the sea so had a lovely view from the twin balconies. We think the Nirvana section has some rooms that don’t face the sea, but may be wrong on that. We had a flat screen TV in the bedroom AND in the sitting room area, a bathroom with twin basins, Jacuzzi, an excellent shower, and another separate shower room. A couple of niggles– although there was tea and coffee making equipment in the room there was only powdered milk. Powdered milk, especially in tea, is absolutely foul! The other irritation was that although beer and water are included in the All Inclusive Package (AIP), beware – if you have them from the mini bar you will have to pay. This seems an unnecessary ‘trip wire’ in a hotel of this standard.

Which brings us to the cost of food and drink in general. Unless you don’t drink alcohol at all and are planning either to eat a huge breakfast then manage until dinner with nothing to eat; or to eat out (and we saw no restaurants outside the hotel within 15 mins walking distance), we STRONGLY advise the AIP. We are used to London prices, but even then the prices at Le Meridien made our eyes water. For example, 500cl bottles of mineral water would be the equivalent of £3, starters £10 each, lunch £60 between us (for two courses and with soft drinks only) etc. Our usual pre-dinner drinks of a glass of wine and a small bottle of beer would have come to £12.

There is a local shop about 200 yards from the entrance which sells water, drinks, T shirts and postcards at much more sensible prices. Most places other than street vendors seem to accept Euros or Rupees.

Also, watch out for food and premium brand drinks listed in the menus that aren’t included in the AIP, another trip wire. They are marked with an asterisk on menus, but not always that clearly. There’s still a reasonable amount of choice without them.

There are several restaurants catering for most tastes. Breakfasts are very good – a huge buffet selection of just about everything you could think of. The big restaurant tends to do theme nights, eg French night, Indian night, American night etc, all buffet-style. It can be busy and a bit noisy if you go at peak time. There’s a good choice of food and you can have as much as you like. It’s the only one you don’t have to book for the evening. It’s not open at lunch time.

In theory the other three restaurants have to be booked in advance for the evenings (although not for lunch time). We usually did this the day before after checking the menus. We liked La Faya best which is much quieter as it’s situated at the Nirvana wing, which is quite a distance from the main part of the hotel. The restaurant on the beach felt more like a lunch time than an evening venue, although we had a lovely honeymoon evening meal there one night (there seems to be a wedding virtually every day at the hotel).

The only restaurant we would avoid in the evening (only went there once which was enough) was Cumin, which serves Indian food from a buffet. The food was OK, but they allowed lots of people who hadn’t booked to come in and get food and, in the absence of seating, wander up and down eating it, while their children ran around the restaurant. Not our idea of a pleasant dining experience.

Guests are predominantly Indian and French, with some Brits.

The bar had live entertainment every night while we were there – a band singing mainly cover versions of well-known songs. This didn’t vary and it might have been nice to have something different. The only alternative was the big bar in reception which was OK but didn’t have a lot of atmosphere. It does have a piano but the pianist doesn’t seem to play very often.

The spa was very pleasant and relaxing – we had a free honeymoon massage which was lovely. Prices of treatments are quite high compared with England and with Caribbean hotels.

In general the service was fine, sometimes a bit slow, and all the staff we came across were very friendly. This was without our tipping them. In our experience that’s almost always the case. Memo to some guests - if you treat staff with respect and not like servants (or worse), and if you smile at them and say please and thank you, they will almost always be pleasant to you.

For trips out, there’s a fair bit to see – we went on a day trip around the southern part of the island in a privately driven car for £100 between us and saw some spectacular scenery, the Hindu holy site, the 7 colours of volcanic earth and the tea plantation. Much more pleasant than a tourist coach, and the driver took us to places we wanted to see. As far as we could tell, it wasn’t much more expensive than an organised coach trip.

So in summary, this is a good 4* hotel on a good beach. The rooms are good, food and service is fair. That said, it could be on any tropical beach in the world, and the ‘trip wires’ were irritating. For British tourists, there are places as good or better in the Caribbean, which is 4 hours closer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneandIan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Tammy43,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The hotel was both well managed and maintained, however its staff are without its stars. I have stayed in better hotels, but have never in any other holiday had such great and friendly service. Highlights were the Nirvana rooms for adult only clients, good rooms, but service by smashing staff, who really cared. The pool service was exemplary, and the La Faya restaurant was constantly “great” Look out for “Nicholas” the best waiter I have known…..and I’m not a slim guy!
The hotel offer many free activities and water sports, I paid extra to go diving, with the Easy Dive Centre. Their team were absolutely smashing, and I felt so safe and confident with both their instruction and buddy dive support, it was truly great.
For those with children…well Thompsons could lean a thing or two, three four!!
The only negative: We had a late fight out, the hotel was fully booked so we could not hold on to the room. Although we had a nice day in the hotel, when it came to get changed for the 12.5hours flight home, the promised shower room turn out to be the family pools toilets. Here they had clean showers but no private changing area or seats……truly below par, and very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRGreenHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear JRGreenHertfords...,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,252 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Property: Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing