We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value and a great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien for 2 weeks having got an amazing deal. On previous trips to Mauritius we stayed in 5* hotels and knew this was 4* - but this didn't deter us from having a fantastic holiday.

We travelled with a toddler and our friends had two young children and the hotel worked brilliantly. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the big rooms make it possible to accommodate extra guests. The rooms are a bit dated - but still clean and comfortable. We asked housekeeping to mop the tiled floor a couple of times which they did without a problem.

The pool is great and there is a small kids pool which is a nice to have. The beach is pleasant with lots of loungers - although it is rocky by the sea and one would have swim shoes. The watersports are well run and there is enough space to enjoy them.

The food was really enjoyable and we are at all the restaurants. There was always something for everyone and the kids menu was good too. Nice to have variety - particularly on a full board package where often you only have access to the buffet.

The kids club was good although under 3s need to be accompanied by an adult. My only comment would be the in such a hot climate, the climbing frame should possibly be covered!

We had a great holiday and would recommend the resort to friends looking for a friendly, relaxed Mauritius break offering good value. Prices in Mauritius have - like everywhere - become very expensive so even though in theory we would probably like to try another slightly more luxurious hotel next time, cost may not allow for this and we wouldn't be unhappy with another visit to Le Meridien!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear TravellerfromLon,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 3,092 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a lovely time at le meridien. I was there with the family and friends and we are still talking about it. We were allocated room 327 and 319 which were just amazing, comfortable and spacious. The view was absolutely wonderful. It was very close to the hotel amenities and it was just perfect for my children. The food was excellent and there were loads of choices. My children who are quite choosy about the food found their way in the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and childcaring. Infact they did take good care of us. I would like to thank everybody who had participate to make that holiday special fo me and my family and also for my friends. We were really treated as king! Thanks stefanie narain

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear AshleyS,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We had enjoyed our holiday up to the most. We got really good times and the entertainment in the evening was very lively. But the room was just amazing and the view over the ocean was just what we were expecting. The hotel reaches my expectation. Thanks to everyone who have made this holiday very special for me and my family. Xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Stefanie N,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

In our attempt to ameliorate this resort, we surely value all input from our guests; and I can reassure you that comments and remarks from you will be well taken into consideration.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent 4 days in this hotel and we had a very good time. The service was very good. All the staff is very friendly. A special thanks to Vinesh and Kamlesh for their great cocktails and their hospitality. Thanks to Kenzo for taking me running in the morning and being very funny. The food was also very good. Loved the seafood and mauritian dishes. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will come back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Bea T,

We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.

All comments are valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your valued comments. We hope to welcome you back with us.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This resort is wonderful thanks to the people working in it and the location. Some of the employees are excellent and they do everything they can to make you feel at home.To mention some names of excellent people: Satyam (room service), Brinda (Housekeeping), Noor (engineering), Jessen and Thannen (Shell Restaurant), Mary and Isabel (SPA), Sebastien (reception), Manish (Bois Cheri), Adarsh (waiter - Hall area) Avinash( 180º Restaurant - Breakfast) and all the staff at the CUMIN Restaurant (Indian Food). Thanks to all of them our stay was unforgettable.We think they deserve true appreciation for their jobs at Le Meridien Hotel as they make it unique and special. We miss them a lot. Thanks. Conchi and Carlos room 347.

Room Tip: rooms in upper floors overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carahuevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Carahuevo,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2014. We paid to upgrade to the adults only section however on arrival we were further upgraded to a suite. The rooms were large and clean and the food was lovely. We went to this hotel as we wanted to relax and forget the everyday life stresses which is what we were able to do.

The main bar of an evening was very relaxing and the group usually played until 11pm which was nice to listen too. I would definitely recommend this hotel however please take swim shoes as the coral can be quite sharp.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALIH186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear ALIH186337,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are most happy with your review and will be sharing it with those concerned..

It gave us great pleasure to note that your stay was an enjoyable experience and that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations.

We hope to be of service to you in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just returned from perfect 12 days holiday & honeymoon at Le Meridien, Mauritius. It all started when we arrived to the hotel and I saw my wife's face with her first impression of the hotel and spectacular lobby view to the ocean. Then I knew it was all worth it. We stayed in deluxe ocean view room with All inclusive package and here we go...

Check in:
We arrived about 1 pm. Receptionist smiled and made us instantly welcome. She sat us to lobby bar table and we had refreshing drinks and all explained in 20 minutes. One staff member directed us to our room and bags came just after.

Rooms:
First we got room 209, but there was renovation going on next door so drilling noise was quite disturbing. So we went to lobby and asked if it's going to continue and they checked that and offered us another room. So 227 was our home for the rest of the holiday. Room was very good with sleeping area and sofa area, balcony and bathroom. View to the ocean over garden was very beautiful. Beds very cozy and we had a good sleep. Tv was brand new lcd, about 42" with many sports channels (premier league, cricket, golf, cycling, rugby), music channel and couple of movie and news channels. Shower had two modes and bath was nice. Toilet didn't flush normally, you had to press the flush couple of times and long but with the right technique that wasn't a problem. Rooms are not brand new anymore but I think it was still nice 4 stars level and cleaners did a fantastic job everyday. They also surprised us with bottle of wine, fruits and towel-swan figure.

Service & staff:
Okay, now we come to the best part. The service was the best I've ever had. For example in Papaya pool bar there were these guys, they make everything so smoothly and nice. If you sit on a table or on the bar chair it's almost like having a blast with your friends but with professional touch. They're always friendly, even in a huge hurry and they learn very fast your favourite drinks. So Vinesh, Seegobin, Dillen, Pradeem & co, you seem to be top class professionals but also very nice people with great sense of humour and right kind of twist. Couple of examples: usually there was just cocoa ice-cream served in the hotel and my wife said that she likes more vanilla, so instantly Pradeem went in to the hotel and brought us vanilla ice-cream. One day they took my mp3-player and played my favourite music for the whole bar (sorry folks!). And in the final day after our all inclusive package had ended (after 12 am) Vinesh brought us drinks to the beach and after that also a nice chicken burger with another beer and sprite. He saved our day! Now that's something you will remember with smile for a long time. Tips: Ask Seegobin about Angry bird and ask Pradeem to show card trick (I showed him one but I was poor teacher). Also Pamela in 180 degrees restaurant was very nice and always with smile. We wish her all the best. Also young guys at the beach hut were very polite and always asked us to have sports they arranged. All the kids loved them so if you're planning a family holiday, they can teach your kids play football very well. There were many other staff members too that did fantastic job, so thank you all at Le Meridien.

Restaurants:
There are four restaurants: 180 degrees (buffet), Cumin (indian), Shells (fish), La Faya (a la carte). Most of the time we ate at the buffet. It changed frequently and was better than normal buffets in big hotels. So many differents choices for starter, main course and dessert. In Cumin and Shells we ate only one time, and it was ok. La Faya we had two times and it was very nice. But in buffet you can make your own choices all the time so that's why we were ther for the most of the time. Also one night they arranged beach bbq party infront of Shells. It was 1000 rupees per person extra (for hb/ai package) and it was well forth it with very delicious crabs, fish and different kind of meats. Service was all the time fast enough. Breakfast at 180 degrees was very good too, especially delicious pancakes and omelettes.

Drinks, beach & pool:
With AIP you must relax on the beach with drinks a lot. There are many many cocktails (pina/mango colada always a great choice) and local beer "Phoenix" is very tasty and easy, somewhere between Carlsberg and Fosters. Okay, you must also swim and for that you should have beach shoes. In hotel's shop they cost about 10 euros, in nearby shop 9 euros and somewhere in the city of Port Louis maybe even cheaper. There's many rocks and broken coral in the beach, but after walking to water that's not a problem. So don't be afraid. And you can also swim in the pool. There's also another pool about 500 metres away in Nirvana area. We tried that once, but that side seemed to be too relaxing, too "goosfraba" for us. It's more life, music and kids at the "normal" side. But it's always there if you want total peace.

Activities:
We played tennis, court was very good and rackets were free for AIP (we hade our own balls). We also tried ping pong, beach volley (lost the tournament, French professionals were too good), beach tennis and cycling. Renting bikes is easy and cheap (350 rupees / day) and we made a day trip through Triolet to Mon Choisy beach. Very beautiful place and there you don't need beach shoes. There's also many kind of water sports activities arranged at the hotel. In the evening there's band playing international hits in the Bay view baar. And they play very well and have two singers, so you can end your day with a romantic dance.

Spa & sauna:
My wife tried spa when there was 30% discount day and she liked the massage very much. I tried sauna & jacuzzi more often. The electric sauna was too hot, staff put it from 80 to 104 celsius and everybody who has electric sauna in their home know that's too much, so you can change the temperature from panel outside and wait a little bit (about 70 is enough in small electric saunas). Jacuzzi was ok and shower from 6 directions was fun. Steam sauna was too hot to sit, spent there only 30 seconds. Tip: Take beer from the lobby bar to sauna with your agent skills and relax after that outside in comfortable spa chairs.

Other stuff:
There were guests mostly from France, India & Britain. Then some from Germany, Middle East, China, Scandinavia, Russia and Australia, maybe some locals too. So the scale is very international and that's great. We also made a day trip to Port Louis with taxi and used taximauritius (also for airport transfers), the price was half compared to hotel's own taxi offer. Just e-mail them, it's very easy.

Without the AIP the prices seemed to be quite high so our tip is to invest in that and just relax! If you're with happy attitude the fantastic staff makes you even happier. The hotel is in a very beautiful place, walking around the garden and beach is like living in a paradise postcard!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear E_from_Finland,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our services exceeded your expectations. Our associates work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews. We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,715 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $178 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing