We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel though expensive food and drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel though expensive food and drinks”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Our family of 5 have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday at the Meridien in Mauritius. On arrival we were met by a very informative and friendly lady who enabled us to access our room earlier than the normal midday, which was a relief after a long journey.
The reception area is spacious and we were lucky enough to be upgraded from what was booked (a deluxe suite) to a Royal Suite, which can be described as nothing but palatial pad!. It was on two levels - a spiral staircase leading to the second floor - upstairs housing the 4 poster bed, jacuzzi, walk in shower and spacious bedoom area. Downstairs was the living area, with plasma TV, DVD, bar area, kitchenette with mini bar. Our children slept downstairs sharing a large bed, which was ideal as allowed us with a little more privacy. We had a large balcony with 2 sun longers and small table and 2 chairs and table. We were on the third floor and had a wonderful panoramic views of the sea and sunsets.
The rooms were clean and nicely furnished and certainly comfortable. Although my husband thought the bed was too hard!
The hotel itself is situated on the beach, which never got particularly crowded and sunbeds and towels were provided free of charge. There were two swiiming pools, one at the Nivana site (which didn't allow children so we didn't go there) and the main pool area, also with small childrens pool beach bar etc. There were a number of complementary activities water skiing, glass bottom boat ride, snorkelling. Other activities are available which you have to pay for like parasailing, dognut ring ride. We took a one day boat ride to see dolphins and visit another island which cost about £170 for the 5 of us which inclided a barbeque lunch on the beach and snorkelling.
Food at the Meridien was excellent, there is a choice of Shells (mainly fish), La Faya (mediterranean) also a la carte, Cumin a curry restaurant at night (snacks in the day) and the main restuarant which is buffet style. The buffet theme changed every night Mauritian food, Chinese, French, Indian, foods of the world and others etc. We are a foodie family who really enjoy a wide range of food and of good quality and we were not disappointed. Dinner felt more like a banquet and and I defy anyone not to be satisfied with the range of items at breakfast!!
The Penguin Club which provided complementary child care for our 3 children( if you wanted for 12 hours a day) really contributed to allowing us to enjoy some relaxation. Our children met friends and loved the various activitues such as biscuit making, photo frame making, making pom poms, making sandcastles on the beach, trip to the acquarium (£5 pp charge). There was something different every day and every hour. There were other older children there of 11 who also enjoyed going there so seemed it to attract a wide range of ages. The ladies at Penguin were lovely and the children (7 and our twins of 3 and a half) asked to go there all the time.
Our holiday through Destinology was on a half board basis which we thought more economical than all inclusive for our family. However if you want to drink and eat a lot inbetween a huge breakfast and dinner beware drinks and food are expensive. A bottle of coke was £2.40 a beer £4 a bottle of sparkling water £4. A pizza or baguette and chips, by the pool will cost you £8-9. There is a shop at the end of the road which although inflated prices to other supermarkets further afield does allow you to by drinks and more cheaply and store in the mini bar for cheaper pre dinner drinks! The only food you can buy therr is crips and biscuits.
In the evenings there was entertainment of various types of dancing and a great band called the Rage band which the whole family enjoyed going to see every night.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and were genuinely seemed to love the children. It was a lovely holiday I would certainly recommend the Meridien.

  • Liked — Food and childrens club
  • Disliked — prices of drinks and snacks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SurreyRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear SurreyRachel,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    1,000
    404
    148
    117
See reviews for
806
1,525
44
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We went on dates 07/07 - 15/07/08 and had a great holiday. Weather was good and only had rain last day we left. The hotel staff were very hospitable and couldn't do enough for us. We went all inclusive and this is probably the best way to go as the drinks can add up quite a bit. The all inclusive only included house wines (from South Africa) and not bad at all, local Mauritius beer which my husband liked and all local cocktails such as Pina Colada, gin bases and rum bases. Hotel - all rooms have a great view. The swimming area and beach was a little disappointing as all covered with reef. I think the south and east is better for beaches but then again at that time of the year the west has the better weather. All round a good value for money holidays. PS. the spas were excellent.

  • Liked — location and views of the ocean
  • Disliked — the beach and sea are all covered with the reef
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank itchyfeetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Itchyfeetoz,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at Le Meridien Ile Maurice from 30th June until 6th July 2008. We upgraded to Nivarna on arrival as it was our honeymoon. What a fantastic place it was too. The staff, facilities and food we perfect. Some restaurants were better than others but all produced good food. La Faya restaurant is the best for the a la carte touch. Its advisable to go all inclusive as the prices are a bit colourful. If you smoke make sure you buy some duty free on the way as cigarettes are 350 rupees (£7.00!!!!) a pack.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Helpful?
6 Thank hearnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Hearnster,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We have just returned from 14 nights at the Le Meridien in Mauritius. We had such a wonderful time and our wedding was everything that we had hoped for. Don't take the negative reviews too seriously - Le Meridien ile Maurice is a first-class resort. The staff are so warm and friendly (a special mention for Vikash at the La Faya pool bar!), and they cannot do enough for you. The atmosphere at the hotel was very relaxed and not too formal which suited us very well.
Our wedding coordinator, Julianna, was very helpful and organised and the whole process was relatively stress-free leaving us to enjoy our day. There were some nice touches that helped make the day extra special, like the candlelit meal on the beach and being serenaded by strolling musicians which was very romantic.
We stayed in the Nirvana Complex on an all-inclusive basis and the rooms were very well-appointed and they were kept spotlessly clean by the cleaning staff. If you want to enjoy lying in the sun without kids disturbing you (sorry kids!) then we can highly recommend the Nirvana complex. However, please bear in mind that the beaches in Mauritus are public and you will be approached by beach hawkers -but they are very friendly and a polite, "no thankyou" is enough for them to leave you alone. The Nirvana also has its own pool bar and restaurant - La Faya. Whilst the food was very tasty and beautifully presented, we found the three-course evening menu a bit too much and we tended to eat mostly at 180degrees/ Cumin where you can select from a different themed buffet every night. We really like Indian food so we loved eating at Cumin, but unfortunately due to the location of this restaurant, if it rained heavily it would not open.
The hotel is designed very much around outdoors-living - so you will see birds and cats, but they aren't that offensive.

We chose to go to Mauritius in June, even though it is their winter, because we were informed that this is the driest time of year by all holiday guides/brochures. During our stay it may not have rained much, but it rained at least once a day and there were two days at the start of our holiday when there was thick cloud and heavy rain. Luckily it cleared-up beautifully for our wedding day. On the whole we still had a lot of sunshine and managed to get a decent tan. Our advice would be to make sure that you take lightweight waterproof and a cardigan/wrap for the evenings if you choose to travel at this time.

We also highly recommend that you take the all-inclusive option as drinks are very expensive (25-30 euros for a bottle of house wine). Likewise make sure that you bring enough reading material as the books/newpapers in English are very expensive too.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Sunshineonarainyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sunshineonarainy,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Wow what an experience we have had at the Le Meridien. Would highly recommend this hotel. We arrived there on 13 June with our luggage missing at Johannesburg Airport. The Hotel staff were so accommodating. Gave us T Shirts, Gowns slippers, shaving kit and Toothbrushes and paste as well as an sarong to carry on with. They did their utmost to locate our luggage which we received the following day. We are back home, first day, and are suffering from holiday blues. We were there for 12 days and I think it could have been a week longer we enjoyed it so much. About the cats and dogs, we saw 2 dogs and a couple of cats which did not bother us at all. The meals were out of this world, a different theme each evening and the music intertainment in the Bayview Bar was fantastic. Overall 100% recommended hotel. Des and Ben Harmse Bloubergbergstrand Cape Town

  • Liked — absolutely everything
  • Disliked — Found it a bit expensive working with Euros
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank harmseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Harmseb,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We have just returned from Mauritius and felt I should write my 1st ever review. My travel agent recomended this hotel as she said it was situated on the best (west)side of the island and, being their winter, not so windy.
Unfortunately, we suffered heavy rain for the first 3 days and then the rest of the holiday was intermittent rain with strong winds. I only went in the sea once as I didn't get hot enough!
The hotel was not what I expected, however, the all inclusive package was very good value. When we spoke to people staying at other 4 & 5 Star hotels that weren't on AIP, they said that the price of their drinks was horrendous.
Our room was a good size with a large 6ft comfy bed and a new 42in LCD TV, but limited channels and sometimes no coverage.
The room is very dimly lit so trying to read was a problem all the time at night.
The bathroom was large and well appointed with an excellent walk-in shower, but it now needs a fresh lick of paint.
We didn't like the 180 buffet restaurant as It was shabby in appearance, cramped around the aisles and the evening meals were unexciting. The plates were cold and the food was only warm so the meals were never hot.
The al a carte restaurants were excellent and we ate at La Faya
11 times since the food was excellent every night [ I would be concerned if we went in high season since it would be so popular and early booking would be a must]. This restaurant made all the differance for us. We often missed breakfast so we ordered a cappuchino and fruit platter late morning instead, from the Pool Bar, avoiding the 180 buffet.
Lunches were very good too and overall we felt the food was good.
The spa is well worth a visit - I had 4 massages and my husband 1.
My husband really enjoyed the free water skiing and the staff were really motivating and enthusiastic.
All the hotel staff were very willing and helpful.
The communal toilets were so well serviced - every time I went in they had been cleaned and I have stayed at 5* hotels including The Four Seasons so this impressed me.
I believe the hotel is going to be completely refurbished and I think it will be great when this has been done. At the moment I would rate it 4 Star.
One trip well worth going on is the one hour hellicopter ride around the island.
I would not go back as I felt it was better suited to young couples and families, but I do think that if they could sort out the 180 buffet it would be good value for money.
I would rate it as a good value 4 Star hotel.

  • Liked — Large bed and power shower
  • Disliked — In need of redecorating and poor lighting
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JoeBerkshire,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We used trip advisor as a guide when booking this hotel and felt that the reviews seemed to either be outstanding or terrible, so I thought I would try and provide a candid and detailed review of my own.

We stayed 12 nights on an all inclusive basis in a Nirvana room with a sea view for our honeymoon.

On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing non alcoholic cocktail in the large main reception area, after filling out the standard forms we were then transferred to the Nirvana wing on a golf bugy and greeted at the Nirvana reception. Our room was spacious, modern and very clean, it included a balcony overlooking the pool and sea (the beach at the hotel is not amazing but fine in my opinion). The bathroom was particularly good with a separate bath and shower and separate toliet to the sink area. The room also included a large flat screen tv although the channels available are very limited in English - only CNN and a South African movie channel. As it was our honeymoon we also received some sparkling wine, fruit (which was replaced daily), t-shirt and pareo. The room was extremely quiet throughout the stay and the cleaning service and turn down service in the evening were both exemplary.

The hotel is effectively two hotels in one. The main hotel is large and spralling covering about half a mile, with a large pool and buffet restaurant, evening entertainment and informal pool bars and restaurants. I would describe the main hotel as a 3/4 star hotel. The Nirvana wing is adults only with a separate pool, tennis court, beach area and the superb La Faya restaurant. The facitilies are reserved for people staying in the wing and the whole area is adult only and this was respected throughout our stay. In contrast to the main hotel I would rate the Nirvana wing as a 4/5 star hotel and would recommend it if possible.

The all inclusive package was the first we have ever taken on a holiday and I had mixed feelings about it. On the one hand it does allow you to eat in all the restaurants and drink in all the bars but your choices are restricted. In terms of food the restrictions are acceptable in that they only include things like lobster and jumbo prawns in the evening, however the drink restrictions are poor. Effectively 80% of the drinks menu is not included in the all inclusive package, meaning that unless you want the house wine, local beer (which is dire), rum or soft drinks you will need to pay out and pay out a lot with a whisky setting you back around €8 a drink etc. The all inclusive package also does not include the mini bar or internet which we thought was very poor. On the flip side water skiing and snorkelling trips are included. Therefore I would say it really depends on how much you drink and what you want to drink when considering the all inclusive package.

The food at the hotel is superb. The buffet is varied and better than most buffets catering for hundreds of guests. The bars during the day offer things like salads, burgers, fish and pizzas which are all excellent. In the evening the two restaurants La Faya (Mediteranean) and Shells (Seafood) are absolutely superb, offering gourmet food in very romatic surroundings. Our honeymoon meal at Shells including a personalised menu which was a nice touch but for us La Faya takes some beating.

And yes as a few people have mentioned there are a few cats in the restaurants but they are not mangy or ill and do not bother you at all. Also a number of people have complained about dogs on the island, I did not see any at the hotel and there really aren't that many on the island compared to many other countries I have been to and they all look healthy and in good condition to me, they are not aggressive and seem happy to me so please do not be too worried about the scare mongerers on this front.

The staff at the hotel were amazing as are Marutians in general. They are so friendly and helpful but in a natural way not in a I am hoping for a tip way. We had a great time chatting with them and they really helped us to enjoy our stay.

We also received a free massage as it was our honeymoon, the spa is small but very nice although I would say very expensive at around 60 pound for a 60 minute massage. Much cheaper treatments can be had at independent places around the island which can be visited in a car if you hire one. This is something I would highly recommend as the driving is very easy and the hire cars are good quality although you may need some patience driving as sign posts have yet to be discovered in Maurtius.

All in all I would recommend this hotel on the basis of the rooms, food, staff and location (ideally situated between Gran Baie and Port Louis both accessible on a bicycle or by a cab 13 km each). It is a great honeymoon location, it isn't pretencious but still posh enough to feel special. On the down side the spa is expensive and the all inclusive option isn't that great, but on the whole I would say the positives far outweigh the negatives and would strongly recommend the hotel as a honeymoon destination.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Doofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Doofler,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Property: Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing