We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week at this resort. The resort is beautiful, clean and has amazing views. We spent most of our time at the beach,the water was the perfect temperature. We organised swimming with dolphins and a catamaran trip to Ile aux Cerfs which was amazing. Most of the wines are of South African origin and were ridiculouly overpriced!! They are really not worth paying for. We bought our own wine at duty free and sat on the beach watching the sun go down with our drinks. The food and service at La Faya and Cumin was very good, mention must be made of Kamlesh who offered excellent service at La Faya. The food at 180 was average and the service was not great, I had to get up and go find someone to serve me coffee at breakfast. I was quite disappointed at the lack of evening entertainment. There was a band on some of the nights but the music was very cheesy - it sounded like bad karaoke. I would highly recomend taking a taxi and going shopping at the markets in Grand Baie and Port Louis. If you go directly to the taxis you should get cheaper rates. When we first arrived we had a very nice ground floor room facing the ocean and right on the beach, unfortunately there was a leak coming from the aircon and we had to move rooms. We were "upgraded" to a room on the top floor on the far side of the resort. we were not happy with this as the room had the same interior as our previous room but it was far away from everything else, so we asked for the problem in our old room to be fixed and we moved back the next day. Moving again was not ideal as we spent much of our holiday packing, moving and unpacking again. After one night back in the room we were asked to move to The Nirvana area. This room was great and the Nirvana area was nice and relaxing being away from all of the hustle and bustle of the general family orientated areas.
Overall excellent service was given by a well mannered and friendly staff compliment, once again the best of this was received from Kamlesh at La faya as well as the duty manager,Habib.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Kellistar,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Your positive comments and kind words are very much appreciated and we assure you we have communicated these to those staff and departments concerned. Customer care service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback and know that the team has looked after you so well especially Kamlesh and Habib.

We have noted your comments regarding the price of wine and the service at 180. We will share these comments with our Chefs and the Food and Beverage Manager so we may resolve the issues.

Thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

In closing, it is our hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 3,092 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just returned from 10 nights at this hotel, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to enjoy a relaxing luxurious taste of the exotic. It is a beautiful property facing the massive Indian Ocean. The sunset view from the property are thrilling and captivating. One can’t but simply admire and appreciate the planet earth which has been bestowed with so much of beauty and wealth that is a treatise to eyes. The property itself is stretched to over a kilometer in radius. The rooms facing the ocean are mesmerizing and one can hear the sound of waves from the rooms. This hotel is truly idyllic and perfect for a romantic break away.
The check ins were swift. Mrs Sarita Menon, guest relations manager and Anrurag and Sailesh at the front office were indeed very helpful.
The restaurants in the Hotel particularly, the Shells, a sea specialty restaurant offered mouth watering sea food dishes. Shafiq, the Manager, Vimal and Artee will guide you with several options that you shall not regret. Restaurant, service tended to be more personal, less rushed and more attentive. The Buffet at the Cummins, Indian restaurant with chef Khan in control will soothen your taste buds and more so if you are a vegetarian. The Buffet at the 180 restaurant too offers a wide range of non veg dishes and also offers Mauritian cuisines on certain days. At the papaya bar, Vinesh offers good variety of mocktails, drinks and crispy pizzas. His pleasing mannerisms, concern for guests and his advise about the mocktails are unforgettable.
The Hotels offers several complementary and paid water sport activities. At the beach hut, one may contact Andy (Cell no 9733522) who offers, at reasonable rates, water sport activities, catamaran excursions and inland taxi references.

We stayed at the Nirvana section of the Hotel which has its own pool and offers a beautiful ocean view from the balcony. Rooms were very spacious and kept neat and tidy. The wash rooms were big and offered a bath tub with steam water to relax your muscles after a hard day’s excursion and sight seeing. As some one who works in the hotel industry and who is a food critic, what makes this property exemplary is the personal touch and care provided to guests by associates at all levels. Kudos and keep it up. So, if your idea is luxury surroundings, beautiful sunsets, attentive discreet service, very good food and a perfect blend of relaxation and fun, don't bother looking anywhere else, take the plunge and book this hotel. A must stay for every person visiting this island.

Room Tip: If not accoompanied by kids, choose the Ocean view on the Nirvana side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPSNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear GPSNew Delhi,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We are very happy to read your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed from 29 June to 3 rd July 2013. reached hotel around 11 , however got room at 2 only. it's a lovely property. Good rooms. We were veg and plenty of options were available for all meals. The breakfat has many varieties including Veg food. Wifi is free in lobby , but worked only 2 days out of 4 nights spent there.
Our departure pick up was 1800 hrs, but had to leave room at 1100 hrs. but spending 5 hrs in lobby , beach etc is no problem where u can relax also. Nothing near by.

Room Tip: its a spread out property. Try to take a room as close to main lobby as it may avoid a long walk for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alipore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Alipore,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our food quality. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcoming you at our shores in a near future.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Location just on the beach. Outstanding. Property is old but still excellent. But service and hospitality leave a lot to be desired, specially since we were there with family to enjoy. Their information lists multiple restaurants but most remain closed on a given evening. 180 degree is the only functional restaurant every evening. That is very good for a day or two, but they do not change menu often. Breakfast is almost identical every day. Even the juices, passionfruit and grapefruit remained the same.

If they see you are Indian, everyone in 180 degree will want to herd you into a secluded Indian corner with poor ambience. Don't try the Indian selection. I don't know why everyone will insist you sit in the Indian section specially since the Indian selection is pathetic.

They don't provide extra water in the room unless you repeatedly ask. At least they can tell it is their policy. One night I fell asleep waiting for water. Another morning, I had to ask repeatedly,

In the paid water sports services, you have to be careful - their employees tell some arbitrary rate. Parasailing for example costs 1000 Mauritian Rupees (MUR), but Sanjay (the Le Meridien employee) took 1500 MUR each from us. Once we were into the sea, they gave a receipt for 3000 MUR. When I said I have paid 5000 MUR (they had not returned the change), they sparked an argument and I had to cancel the trip. I learnt even in the shops in hotels, you need to bargain.

At check-out time, they volunteered to take my luggage, but they will take it only to Reception and not the Parking Lot, insisting I bring the car to the Reception area. Now, I did not insist they carry my baggage, so I told them I will carry it myself.

One bright spot - I must mention Sailesh in customer service who was very helpful and the among the bright things in our holiday. If you are in this hotel, must take his help and advice.

Finding tennis racquet and balls was a merry go around - even Reception did not know the right place. So we went around, redirected from one place to another, before we found the place. Once we found it, the tennis was good. Court was empty (maybe because others could not find the place for racquets) and we got good time out there.

Overall, a forgettable experience and I regret I chose Mauritius for a family holiday.

After the stay, most good hotels send you a mail asking for feedback. They did not. They told me they are running at 83% utilisation, probably they don't care.

Room Tip: 1. Must bargain hard for all paid services in the hotel. 2. Don't go to the Indian selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalyan_K_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Kalyan_K_Banerjee,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly

Sincerely.
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My name is Raman bansal.We stayed here for four nights. The location was excellent. The staff was extremely good. They always greet you whenever we passed. As we eat jain food only they provided us with good taste. Special thanks to chef shahabudin khan for his kind and gentle nature .He was always there at time of buffet to greet the guests. always there for full filling there requirements.A big thanks 2chef khan 4 his hospitality.and also thanks 2 papaya bar staff. They have lots of activity in there resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Raman B,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations especiallly Chef Shahabudin Khan and the Papaya Bar associates. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to the.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Traveled end of May 2013 when Mauritius was approaching its winter. It was great weather. I really loved this resort as it caters for families, couples and honeymooners all at once. I stayed at the Nirvana section which serves only adults and young travelers over the age of 16 years. The rooms and bathroom are very clean and well maintained. The staff and service were very warm and friendly and the food was great. Got to experience a feet in the sand dinner which was something else - something you need to experience. Being on the northerly west coast - there are beautiful sunsets. Its a good stay and definitely a recommendation. There are plenty of activities and water sports. The beach is not really a swimming one having a lot of coral, this is Mauritius after all so just make sure you pack your swimshoes.

Le Meridian is in close distance of Port Louis which is great for shoppers. Free wifi at reception and Nirvana lobby.

Room Tip: If you enjoy your privacy away from little kids running around request the Nirvana section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travell-Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Travelll-Consultant,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to our services and that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from a fantastic 10 day stay at Le Meridien.

We arrived there at 10am on the 20th June, and were immediately given excellent treatment by the staff. Our bags were taken from us and secured and we were given a welcome drink whilst we checked in.

We were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm but they had it ready for us straight away. We had a Nirvana mountain view room but as we started to unpack we noticed a few issues such as electrical sockets being a bit loose and a problem with the bathroom sink, so informed the girl in the Nirvana reception who immediately upgraded us to one of the ocean view rooms. This was a lovely room with a nicer view.

We had a walk around the hotel and loved how beautiful it looked. The gardens and pool area's around Nirvana were lovely. The only thing i must say is that the beach was very rocky so we didn't really get to go in the sea, but for me poolside was better.

Foodwise, we mostly ate at La Faya, every day for breakfast and lunch and most of the time for dinner as well. The food was out of this world, and i'd like to thank all the staff that were so nice to us, Nitish, Vimal, Nicholas, and Ashley and Raja who ran the Nirvana pool bar.

We also ate at the Shells restaurant, but found their menu quite limited but the food and service was still excellent.

The only time we ate at the 180Degrees buffet was the second night we were there and for breakfast twice when we went on two day trips. I wasn't overly impressed with it to be honest. With buffet food it tends to go cold quite quickly even though it was cooked well, it was also very noisy up there and felt like a school dinner hall.

We did a few of the hotel watersports activites, such as the glass bottomed boat and paragliding, both were excellent.

We also did a few day trips, one to go walking with lions, which was amazing and we spent a da on a catamaran on the dolphin coast which was also a very good day out!

If there was anything i wasn't impressed with it's the evening entertainment, or lack of it. There was the house band at the Bay View bar but they were too loud and quite cheesy. There was nothing else to do in the evenings past 11pm unless you wanted to leave the hotel and go to Grand Bay where there were nightclubs and casino's.

Overall we had a fantastic time and didn't want to leave. I would definitley go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskeyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Whiskeyrich,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Le Meridien Ile Maurice for your latest stay in Mauriitus.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to our associates especially Nitish, Vimal, Nicholas, Ashley and Raja. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to them.

We have noted that you have a mixed feeling about our hotel with regards to the beach and the room. We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Yours Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,516 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,717 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $178 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing