We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaters (BE-WARE)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we had gone there from 31st May to 5th June '13. Had prepaid the room charges on half board basis before hand for Premium Sea view Room . reached around 12. noon , we were told that check in time is 3.00pm so we have wait till then before that they can not give us the room as per their rules. The front desk staff Ms. Samantha was very arrogant, rude in replying the same. After 3.00pm we called for duty manger for our grievances she was Ms. Shiv , she also took 15 min. to look in the matter & then around 3.20 handed over the room keys. She was also not polite or humble as all the staff are so busy chatting among themselves that they don't have time to work. We reached our room around 3.35pm & found that as per our pre-requisite booking extra-bed is not there. After checking other things found that Bathroom is not cleaned , no towels, no toiletries, no room slippers , no bath robe , even the bed sheet was not fully cleaned it had stains.
We called up the reception for the same the time was around 4.00pm , it was half rectified after 5.00pm. But the astonishing thing was that our luggage still did not come to our room till then. After repeated requests it arrived around 5.30pm.
Some how we were in fix as it was prepaid & we were cheated but could not help. We had to buy our own toiletries , had to adjust in the shameless hotel anyway.
All staff are rude, arrogant, unfriendly they just don't understand your problem & the best part is if you request something to them they just passes it on to next person & till end it is unresolved.
As a traveler we have been to many places & in all star category hotels but this one was really something unacceptable in other words we can say they are cheaters who cheat you after you are in their territory. The other best part is for every mistake they have full proof reason to explain you & a false assurance that it will be taken care next time , which is never ever taken
care off .
Friends this is our practical experience which we have gone though & we don't want other travelers to get same pain physically, mentally & financially so BE-WARE of this property & group.

Room Tip: Never ever suggest anybody this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vikashag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Vikashag,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly

Sincerely.
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 3,092 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great facilties for everyone which makes it a perfect place to stay to compliment a fantastic travel destination.
Good service and good food that ensures that all who stay, go back satisfied. The Indian cuisine is also very good.

All in all a very good Hotel which gives u 5 star facilities at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Sandeep G,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

lobby ::
the main lobby is ever impressive, open wide grand. well staffed at all times, excellent drive in and out ramp to the hotel. Bellhops and staff are quick - don't keep you waiting.

room negotiation ::
had booked the sea facing room, and the staff just during signing in informed "we were lucky to be upgraded to the nirvana suite" - i had read this line before and knew the rooms were too far from main restaurants and activities - so try to be smart on this one - as they will tempt you with free wifi and some drinks - which we totally didn't want to do.
another thing about Nirvana suits - they are placed far off into the right hand side of the hotel property - to and fro is not walk able and u need to hitchhike on the golf carts.

the room - 111 ::
-deluxe sea side view, this was just bliss. you can be in your veranda - sit and have a nice tea, or by sunset - just walk right into the beach which is less than 100 mts away.
-wifi is not free and we didnt want any - this is a vacation not a business trip - we should be able to resist the online world. :)
-this was April so climate was tropical humidity with light sun in morning and calm breeze in the evening not getting too hot - in house a/c are good to maintain coolness all day or night.
-there was a 52" tv which we only saw on the first day when we entered - so it remained there just as a piece of furniture unused.
-the furniture inside was decent, the ceiling fan had a string [half of the string was cut off] to switch speeds which was informed to the staff, but they didn't seem to have time to fix it.
-there were enough points to plug in your electronics for charging.

housekeeping ::
this was pretty impressive and well done all days.
all stocks were replenished and room was prepared well.

hotel amenities ::
- try to get the beach towels early in the day as the stock doesn't last long.
- beach sports - two man pedaling is good, don't got for the glass bottom boat - its utter bore - the fun lasts for the first 5 minutes and the rest 40 minutes your thinking for going back to the shore.
- the sun tan stations get occupied so reserve your spot in advance.
- the pool is great - the chlorine quantities are maintained well, not over done.
- the spa, sauna and Jacuzzi - ooh lala - the most beautiful, tranquil place in the hotel - must visit once per day.
- there is a menace of stray dogs roaming around the beach side property of the hotel, don't know why this is not taken care of.

the food ::
- morning breakfast at 180 - is grand - but has the same continental menu everyday.
- 180 also has an attached indian menu for breakfast with 7-8 options.
- cumin is good when its individually setup downstairs and not attached with 180 for dinner.
- la faya is far off in the right side of the property for the nirvana suites, so visits are limited - food is just yumm.
- shells we got our candle light dinner - dont try the duck - was too hard to be munched on.
- the pool bars or live music bars have a smaller menu which does suffice for small snacks and is ok.

extras ::
was my wife's birthday and they gave a complimentary cake, i had ordered roses and they served the wine all at 12:00 sharp, perfect !
the property is lavish, well maintained, keeps your eyes engaged on the colors of the hotel, the beach and ocean.
the sunsets are magnificent at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdeclerck, General Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Sanman P,

Thank You very much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort especially the facilities and the service. I will surely share your comments with the staff as they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank You and I look forward to welcoming you on your next stay here in Mauritius.

Sincerely,
Gregory de Clerck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had been here for our honeymoon for 7 days. To begin with, the location of hotel property is beautiful. Secondly, there are diversified restaurants which surpassed our expectations on the variety of food. We are vegetarians and the buffet at the Indian restaurant there, was very comforting. Thirdly, few of the staff members were quite friendly, helpful and courteous.

Coming down to the negative aspects. In general, the hotel lacks cleanliness - towels, napkins, plates, glasses, spoons. Rooms are comparatively better in terms of cleanliness. We were served with used napkins which is unacceptable. Overall functioning at restaurants is messy and unorganized. There was lot of confusion regarding seating arrangements and reservation timings were not followed. Also, during mid-way of our dinner buffet, on our return to our seats we found that the table was allocated to some other guest. Few of the staff members were rude and discourteous. Dogs, cats need to be taken care from entering restaurant areas.

Overall, we were disappointed with service and standards at Le Meridien. Cannot believe that its associated with Starwood program.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnushaRM1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear AnushaRahulMurali,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked our honeymoon package on an all inclusive basis not expecting too much, we were greatly surprised, champagne and fruit in the room, choice of restaurants for all meals, beautifully prepared cocktails by fantastically friendly staff, Europe has a lot to learn. We felt like Royalty, we only once ventured outside the hotel as we were indeed happy to be a captive audience. There are of course signs of tiredness and wear and tear but there were a constant hive of activity cleaning and tending at all hours. Fantastic time

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mrs EileenAndrews,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and were made to feel very special for our 10 day stay. We received so many nice many nice touches - room upgrade, a delicious cake, massage, candle lit dinner etc,. The list goes on.

The Nirvana area is really as nice as others have stated. So peaceful and relaxing with very attentive and genuinely friendly staff. Vic, Nicholas and Ashley in particular were great.

This is an absolutely superb hotel. Great accommodation, good food (the Indian food in particular was nice - thank you Mr Khan), and, above all, marvelous customer service.

Cannot wait to return again!

Room Tip: An upgrade to any suite gives access to the Nirvana area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wimbledonjoshis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mr Wimbledonjoshis86

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to service and that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After many weeks of deliberation, (Maldives, Thailand, Mexico). we went for Mauritius. My wife booked it all up. only two-three days before I decided to look it up. I got a little bit concerned with the varied reviews. I was apprehensive! we with emirates from heathrow. on the way to Dubai we got a chance to sit on the A380. great flight. form Dubai we had the middle two seats. this was uncomfortable 7 hour flight from Dubai. (never again) when we got to Mauritius we had a private transfer for the hotel(took about 1 hour). Checked in and got taken to the Nirvana area. we unpacked and went for dinner. We hadn't booked but Nicholas (A Real gentleman) found us s table in Le Faya. a lovely dinner and off to bed. next day we woke up to the sun beaming down. My wife and I would get to the sunbeds at 8 am and not leave until 6 pm. The service we got from everyone in the hotel was just amazing. A VERY BIG THANKS to Nicholas, Vic and Ashley. you made our stay very welcome and enjoyable. the service is second to none. always accommodating us. Ashley I hope your using the headphones!!! Nicholas a great guy always went the extra mile. thank you for making my wife birthday a special day the meal on the beech and the cake. she was over the moon. Vic my wife's fav. she loved the coffee you made and the Ocean dream cocktail. We done the Catamaran boat trip via Andy in the beech hut. this was a good trip. Also did Scuba-doo this was a amazing experience. I would recommend this to everyone. just simply amazing. a holiday I will always cherish in my heart. and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyadav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mr Neilyadavo8,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them especially to Nicholas, Vic and Ashley.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,715 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $178 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing