We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got a great deal for a week in January with British Airways which included keen price and upgrades to a premium seaview room and full board.
Room 333 - top floor, balcony, fantastic seaview, king bed, small living area with sofa and desk etc, bathroom with bath and separate shower, decoration fine although a bit of peeling paint in the bathroom, but no worries.
Food - all meals were good. Buffet in 180 really good, our favourite restaurant for evening meal was Shells which we thought overall had the best food and service, and it's on the beach. Try all of the restaurants, you book them at breakfast time.
Drinks - go knowing that the drinks are eye wateringly expensive then you won't be surprised. But, take full advantage of the Bay View bar happy hour from 6-8 where it's two (of the same) cocktails for the price of one which makes them reasonably priced. The cocktails are great, and in particular the service in this bar is fantastic. We were offered the chance to upgrade from FB to AI at E40 each/day, we didn't bother as we planned to be out and about, but if you're a big drinker and are planning to spend most of your time here, this may be an option to take.
Service - all very good, the staff we met were really helpful at all times, no negatives here.
Beach - Ok, not the best on the island. Take rock shoes as the seabed has a lot of broken coral. We had no problem finding shady sunbeds after breakfast. We found the best beaches to be some of the many public ones dotted around the island, a fantastic beach close by is Mon Choisy.
Acivities - take full advantage of the free watersports which include snorkelling trips across the reef, glass bottom boating and water skiing.
Trips and getting about - East coast catamaran, snorkelling, BBQ and island beach is a great day out but check prices, we booked with Captain Ravi on the beach at half the price our agent quoted for exactly the same trip. We hired push bikes at the hotel for a day and followed the coast to Grand Bay, some great beaches along the way. We hired a car for the day, travelled down the centre of island on the M1 and then followed the coast back around the South and West coast, some fantastic views, beaches and places to stop Blue Bay, Gris Gris, Le Morne, Flic en Flac to name a few.
General - we really enjoyed our week here, we were out and about for 4 days and stayed on site for 3 days. Book a seaview room and look out for the deals and upgrades offered by BA, Virgin etc. If you're moderate drinkers and plan to spend all of your time at the hotel, book all inclusive.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a must, premium seaview on top floor are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear ChrisBo,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We are very happy to read your encouraging words about our food, services and associates. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,068)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Ile Maurice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,461 - 1,467 of 3,069 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Yes, my view is it needs a make over as it is dated and a little drab.

However, the room I had was seaview with good views over a pool to the ocean. The room itself was fine, dated but fine. Nothing in the mini bar, you have to order everythign in but it seems this hotel is more in keeping with the Euro style of half and full board so I guess a lot of holiday makers buy the goodies in local stores which saves money.

Pool was good, service in general was good and the food was fine. The gym was good as well. Activity schedule was also pretty good, I hired a bie and cycled around for half a day, very nice!

I was in Maurice for business and found the hotel pretty handy for the commute to Port Louis and Cyber City. At night I visited local areas like Gand Bai and this was reasonably close as well.

For the holiday maker it is fine with the mark down to average for me being mostly based on my view the hotel needs a make over.

Room Tip: I booked a seaview room and ended up in an area a fair distance from the main hotel area. I think th...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Rek59,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear about our sea view room and services. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

People visit Mauritius for its white sand beaches looking over blue waters.....This is the perfect hotel which showcases Mauritius - private beach with water sport activities (mostly complementery), great spa, amazing Indian food (away from India - we loved it)....you wake up to lovely morning breeze coming from the beach right in front of your room balcony and then to a never ending breakfast spread.... Loved all of it....
I can not complain about this property even if I try hard.... Lovely staff, great location, good range of water sports, never ending spa treatments, private beach, candle light dinner and list goes on.....It will be worthwhile if you spend few minutes with hotel staff and understand what all is complementery (like water sports, which would cost a lot outside) This may be one of the most expensive hotel in the city, but its totally worth it, and you won't regret it too...... During the week long stay, we hardly felt the need to leave the hotel as you have so much to do in the hotel itself.....
Great stay,

Room Tip: Take a room at ground floor so that you could walk to the beach without any inconvinience....it also...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashwat_bedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Shashwat_bedi,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We are very happy to read your encouraging words about our hotel, SPA facilities, water activities and associates. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days with breakfast included. Overall we were extremely pleased with what this hotel had to offer. The room was well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The beach was amazing though quite pebbly. They providing a good range of water sports though be warned if you go snorkelling its not for the beginners. The food at the restaurant was at a good standard but it is not cheap especially if you add a bottle of wine to the bill. So depending on how long you are staying for all inclusive might be a better option. The hotel staff were polite and friendly and always tried to be helpful where possible. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear DevJam,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. We are delighted that you found Le Meridien Ile Maurice to be an excellent place to stay and recommend.

We are very pleased to read your encouraging words with regards our associates that exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.


With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Plus ponts:

Nice Pool

Lovely staff (especially Artee and Pamela at Shells Restaurant)

Nice big room with sea view

Nursing staff very attentive

Complimentary Glass Bottom boat trip

Concierge staff were very helpful


Negatives:
Not very impressive restaurants; if you staying on an all-inclusive the menus in the a la carte restaurants are very restrictive. Most dishes attract an additional charge.

They are building a 'channel' between the beach and the pool. This work was going on the whole time we were there. My father (who is 90) accidentally fell into the channel one day badly grazing and bruising his leg - he was lucky it was nothing more serious. The positive about this experience was the attention given by the nursing staff and management following the accident - BUT - this ongoing work should have been cordoned-off so accidents could not happen.

Water (apart from 2 small bottles supplied on arrival) was chargeable even though the all-inclusive option had been taken

Evening entertainment was reasonable but there was no variation

All-in-all: a passable holiday resort but I won't rush back - sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Glenda B,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We are very happy to read your encouraging words about our associates Pamela, Artee and our nursing officer. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issue. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

With our Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the the Meridien Ile Maurice with the all inclusive package. The hotel staff is kind and friendly, and the scenery is beautiful. Various problems exist, however, with the level of service at the restaurants and in the hotel. The advantage of this hotel is both the disadvantage: the staff is on "island time." The average rating given is because the hotel excels in certain areas and falls short in other areas.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Traveldudeworldwi…,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards the service and that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issue. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.


We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Le Meridien Ile Maurice is an excellent property with a beautiful beach and great views, the main bar is buzzing and the buffets in the restaurants are good though nothing to write home about, several activities to do including complimentary snorkeling and glass bottom boat rides, a good gymnasium and steam and sauna facilities

With all the goodness come the share of issues as well. The Nirvana section is recommended for couples with ample privacy, a good pool and lounge as well. However, waiting for a buggy to take you to main lounge can be frustrating, especially if it is a hot afternoon or you experience tropical rainfall. The service across the board also does not meet expectations, though I admit I have reasonably high standards after excellent experiences in India, Thailand and Maldives. There are some exceptions though such as Nicola at La Faya restaurant who restores some balance to this!

Room Tip: Nirvana section if traveling without kids. Also ask for a sea facing room (obviously)
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogi_Iimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Gogi_limb,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards the service and that our associate Nicholas exceeded your expectations. He works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issue. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.


We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,628 reviews
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $199 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing