We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at the Oberoi in November this year and it was a fantastic 2 weeks! The hotel is beautiful with fantastic grounds and the staff are all really nice! We didn't leave the hotel once! The food was great, but I thought the portion sizes were a bit on the big side... ended up eating way too much! The restaurants are expensive so go for half board if you can!

The beach was lovely, and the two pools were nice and quiet.

We meet two beautiful cats that we "adopted" for the two weeks we were there by giving them leftover chicken and milk. The lived by the lagoon restaurant and would come up to our terrace for a visit every day. If you go to the Oberoi and you see them, please leave and update in your review or email me as I would love to know how they are doing! There is a photo of them amongst my images!

Last year we stayed at the One and Only on Mauritius, but I prefer the Oberoi. If you are traveling with children then the One and Only is probably a better option, but as a couple I would go to the Oberoi. One and Only has a nicer beach and a nicer Spa, but the Oberoi feels like a more luxury hotel in my view! We had a fantastic time at both hotels and you will not be disappointed with either one!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    93
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
215
1,017
28
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

See our review from February 2010 - we are booked for our third visit in January - we think it is so good.
If you are prevented by the snow going away now, consider this when you re-book.
We had the most incredibly relaxing time, really enjoyed the spa and well equipped gym and started diving: we really cannot thank Stephane, Ravi and the team enough - we gained our PADI Open Water and Advanced Open Water certificates and thoroughly enjoyed the wrecks, reefs etc.. Our plan this time is to do the Rescue Diver course and do more drift and wall dives at the north of the island. We have been fortunate enough to do some other PADI specialty courses elsewhere in the interim.
Igor heads up a terrific team in the restaurant and, whilst the regular menu is constantly changing, if you would like something different you only have to ask to have a meal from other national styles of cuisine or to eat on the jetty, the beach or in the thatched tea-house. He aims to grow many ingredients and we enjoyed the yoghurt with home grown aloe vera.
Sjefke Jansen the general manager was charming and kindness itself and clearly runs the hotel with great skill.
So many of the staff remembered us from the previous trip that it felt like we were coming home and we look forward to seeing them all again soon.
How can you go wrong staying at this hotel? if you need to get away from it all and be guaranteed a luxurious, relaxing holiday in beautiful exotic surroundings where staff will see to your every need without making you feel uncomfortable then look no further. Before booking this time we looked around the Indian Ocean for different venues where we could dive as well and just could not beat it either for the experience or the value - especially when you consider the ease of the travel compared to the Maldives.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Hotel was fantastic from the welcome and remembering our names 3 days later at reception. Great watersports and beautiful gardens. Service was great both room and restaurants and would advise half board as no local restaurants without taking a taxi or hiring a car. Food was of exceptional quality international standard with plenty of choice with Mauritian,Indian and International sections and menu change every 3 /4 days. Great place to chill out and excellent spa-so my wife told me.Free wi fi throughout

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I have no any negative opinions about this resort for sure !!!
sweet rooms with very huge private pool ,comfortable..Delicious food..
the design with statues is definitely eye pleasing.
Sunset view there is da best !! best than cafe del mar sunset :DD

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thamer-Bin-Majed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Oberoi was everything we had hoped for. Beautiful surroundings with a choice of places to laze in the sunshine. Fabulous food at every meal and friendly, hard working staff at hand to help with queries at any time. We made use of the mountain bikes to go out exploring- and burn off some calories from the delicious food. The hotel put on a drinks reception for all guests in the royal suite which was a nice touch and our favourite piece of the week was astronomy on the beach- Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidideimonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2010

It was fantastic, we went for honeymoon!!
The staff are great, the resort is beautiful, it was amazing tohave a private pool in our back garden!
But most of all we had to mention Gunness the food and beverage manager who went over and above all expectations for us. He helped us ship in kosher food from south africa and although they ahd never catered for kosher guests before they dealt with it as though they had been doing it for years. They even took the liberty of buying us extra meals when they saw the portion size might not be enough for us and they bought us brand new crockery and cutlery. And i had no idea it was even possible to present packaged food in the way they managed to!!
It was all fantastic and the staff are so polite and friendly and will do absolutely anything to make your stay perfect - which it was!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gioiamia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just back from a delightful week at the Oberoi - I completely agree with the other highly complementary comments - particularly in relation to the team who appear to genuinely take a pride in the hotel and its outstanding reputation - clearly the staff are valued by management, just as guests are valued by the whole team, which makes for a very special experience. I cannot understand how anyone could find fault with the Oberoi

The restaurant team are superb, as are all the other staff. I would particularly highlight the excellent dive centre , right on the main hotel beach - excellent kit,boats etc. and Ravi is a superb Dive guide/instructor/ host.

Our "standard" room was equally delightful - quiet, beautifully finished, imaculately clean with lovely view over the bay to the mountains.

Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsabroad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,270 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,651 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Property: The Oberoi, Mauritius
Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing