We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a lovely break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for one week in April and it was lovely, we couldn't fault the hotel on a single thing. The staff were extremely helpful without being OTT, the facilities were great, the food was lovely with the really nice touch that you had a choice of four places to eat if you were on half board so you didn't get bored. I can really recommend it and we were sad to leave. Honestly can't think of a single fault with this lovely place, well done to all the staff!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    87
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
176
846
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a world class resort run with extreme efficiency and superb caring. Although these sound like opposites, here they are complimentary. Whilst I can’t say nothing went wrong, the few things that did, for example a very weak Wi-Fi in our room, this was attended to and corrected within a matter of minutes. If something wasn’t to our liking, the one evening room service took forever to clear, when we ordered from room service again, there was a little extra dish in the form of an apology. In short, this resort is a rather special place with exemplary service being the centre of their success.

Whilst it has a superb spa facility, we realised rather early on in our stay that the whole resort is really a spa. From remembering your name, learning what you like/dislike to just generally pampering guests, each member of staff is polite, attentive and very helpful.

Unsolicited flowers and a most delicious chocolate mousse cake on my wife’s birthday are testimony of this.

Be aware that some rooms have better sea views than others. Ours, 508 and generally those from 501 to 512

have great views over Turtle Bay and are very close to the adults only swimming pool. This pool lacks a beach though.

The main beach, with another equally glorious pool faces the open ocean and rooms 312 to 316 are best for views.

If you are splurging, luxury pavilion 206 with its private pool overlooks the main beach and has the most glorious sun set views.

Our preference for food was The Rocks restaurant, with its nightly barbeque of fresh fish. Also, being smaller than the main

restaurant, service tended to be more personal, less rushed and more attentive. By the way the Caesar salad, which you can get anywhere in the resort, is in our mind the best in the world. Head Chef, Igor, even went to the trouble of making us Panzerotti one evening. They were simply superb.

There are just too many people to thank individually for a truly exquisite nine days of shear bliss, suffice to say that Marc Denton and his management team and all the staff get a huge vote of thanks and appreciation from us. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The manager at this hotel surely knows how to lead his staff and my wife and I along with our 6 year old daughter had a thoroughly relaxing and fantastic stay at this hotel as a net result.

We, after having spent one very disappointing night at the Lux Belle Mare moved to the Oberoi into a Villa with Pool which was very private - nice sized pool, dining terrace and very comfortable bed, sunken bath and large shower with seperate dressing room. Just what the doctor ordered !!

This hotel, the gardens, the facilities, the service, private dining, the restaurants etc are fully deserving of their 5 star rating. A really nice touch which as a parent I thought was excellent was a family pool with a seperate adults only pool, both beautifully designed and avoided that parental stress of trying to keep your daughter quiet around 'grown ups'. That said as this hotel has only I believe 70 rooms in 20 acres you'd be hard pressed even at 100% capacity to ever feel overrun or overcrowded. Yes it is a little more expensive but you would not regret this for a moment.

Kids cub here if you have children is perfectly balanced - not a drop your child off for the day affair, moreover well selected excursions such as going to an aquarium, clay modelling, art work, waterskiing, craft work etc for a few hours a day - just enough time for Mum and Dad to have a chill out but equally spend time with our wonderful daughter whom whilst working don't see enough of already ! And for catering for your child they make such a fuss of them and make them feel so special, it's just wonderful.

I didn't sample the Spa but my wife was in a very good mood every time she came back so it must be good !! :-) and the gym was well equipped.

So, if your idea is luxury surroundings, beautiful sunsets, attentive discreet service, very good food and a perfect blend of relaxation and fun, don't bother looking anywhere else, take the plunge and book this hotel. If you want to play golf, go horse riding, venture around the island etc etc all can be organised but then you can get away from it all and enjoy the serenity of your luxury surroundings.

My only gripe, that I had wasted 1 night of my 10 night break at the Lux Belle Mare.

Room Tip: If you go for a Royal Villa 112 - ideal spot overlooking the beach and sunsets. Though to be perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlewis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights at the Oberoi in Mauritius. Took a long time to choose a hotel. We value: beach, snorkelling, good food, rooms very close to the beach, water sports. The hotel delivered on all these points and more. We booked a taxi transfer through the hotel, which to our delight was upgraded to a limo transfer - a comfy BMW Xseries complete with refreshing cold face towels and mineral water. The trip took about an hour. We were welcomed at the hotel by a member of the staff that did the check in right in our room. Our pavilion room was beautiful: with a four poster bed, a terrace overlooking the ocean, a huge bathroom and a walk in closet. We spent a great time in the hotel, mostly on the beach. The hotel has only 80 rooms so it felt very private and special. The beach was lovely - white sand, complimentary fruit kebabs, water, and cold face towels. The sea is cleared from coral near the beach so it is safe to swim. The water sports centre is right on the beach offering sailing, windsurfing, waterskiing, diving (most if not all are free). There are snorkelling trips to the "house reef" 2mins away several times a day. The reef is very good (although not as good as Maldives as didn't see any rays or turtles). However, what is really special is the dolphin trip - highly recommended! We also went on a daytrip around the island arranged by the hotel. Our guide and driver Vivek was fantastic - he took us to the waterfalls, the extinct volcano crater and a sacred lake in the hotel car. About the food- it was excellent (and I'm very posh when it comes to food) although it was sometimes a bit too adventurous (bitter aloe Vera in dessert!!). Main restaurant menu changes every 2-3 days and "on the rocks" beach restaurant has an outstanding seafood grill! Go half board as starters are £15-20£ and mains £20-40. The spa is good too- best pedicure ever and excellent massage. They have promotions for less busy times of the day. Regarding entertainment - there is a band/guitar/saxophone playing every evening at the bar next to the main restaurant. There are board games, DVDs, books, but no pool table. There are some activities every day like yoga or cooking class. We went to star gazing which was really impressive- saw Saturn through the telescope! Finally the service was very good- everybody was very friendly and keen to deliver. On a few occasions there were some mishaps but those were rectified with apologetic complimentary drinks so we were happy. Overall, a beautiful hotel, great food, great beach, nice reef, and a very relaxing experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have had the most fantastic week at this resort. Beautifully appointed property which has an exclusive and luxurious feel about it. Despite the size of the resort the guest numbers are small. The included breakfast was al a carte with huge choice. The staff were friendly, accommodating and went out of their way to make all guests feel special. There were too many personal touches to list and nothing was too much trouble. They organised a private dinner to celebrate my daughter's 21st, which made the evening unforgettable. It will definitely go down as one of our finest resort holidays by a long mile.

Room Tip: Luxury pavilion rooms are large with a marble sunken bath and separate shower and private patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took a long time deciding where to stay in Mauritius and I can stay that it was worth it. We had a private taxi from the airport to hotel. Despite the weather when we arrived we got a great reception from all the staff. Then they are there for all your needs and ever present when you need something. The service is one reason to choose this hotel! Even when on one of the 3 beaches the staff are there handing out free water and ice cold towels. We stayed in the pavilion, the rooms are of a high standard, I did enjoy the sunken bath in the bathroom! Food is very good, the choice at breakfast is huge. At night I would recommend the on the rocks restaurant for an on the beach BBQ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from a week at The Oberoi and it was really a struggle to leave. The hotel is beautiful; everything from the standard of the rooms to the gardens, the pools and beaches are just stunning. We stayed in a Luxury Pavilion which was spacious and well equipped with a lovely bathroom complete with open air shower and sunken bath. However, the icing on the cake was the service. All the staff, without exception, are friendly, helpful, smiling and nothing is too much trouble. You really can ask for anything and they will do their utmost to get it for you. The Manager, Marc Denton, is charm personified and more than happy to stop for a chat as he patrols the hotel every day. This hotel is truly idyllic and perfect for a romantic break away. Not great for kids as there is not much for them to do but that was a definite plus in our view as screaming tots would have rather spoiled the atmosphere of calm and peacefulness. One thing I will also highly recommend that any visitors to the hotel do is to take up the offer of the day's horseracing at the Crown Lodge, Mauritius Turf Club. It's a wonderful day out, open bar and delicious snacks, plus the excellent company of the very jovial Jacques Ritter and his team in the Crown Lodge box. Do go, it's well worth it! We will certainly be going back to this hotel and to the races!

Room Tip: Rooms near the adult only Turtle Pool are quiet and have lovely gardens around them but really, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmfieldS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,689 reviews
10.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Property: The Oberoi, Mauritius
Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing