We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here during the first week of September after the hotel was recommended to us by a colleague. I fear that I cannot convey in words quite how good this hotel actually is. I would not wish to spoil anyone's holiday or honeymoon by telling of how many kind gestures and wonderful surprises lie in wait for you here, but if you are even thinking of visiting Mauritius I urge you to look no further than The Oberoi.

The General Manager, Marc Denton and his team of kind, enthusiastic and professional staff outshone anyone I have ever met in the travel and hospitality industry. The rest of the world has a lot to learn from this small team of individuals who genuinely do their best to make sure you are having a great time and getting the most from your visit. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Food preferences, favourite wines and beers were remembered by all staff, who always greeted you by name, with a genuine smile.

The rooms and suites were immaculately clean, serviced twice daily with large, elegant marble bathrooms. All had a private terraces with sunbeds, and on several occasions we enjoyed breakfast sat outside our room in the morning sunshine.

Food and restaurants were incomparable to any other hotel I have stayed in before, and you absolutely must try the Mauritian food, it was fantastic. That said, there were also plenty of continental options on the menu should you want to eat more traditionally. It would be a good idea to take a Half Board option if you can as food could quickly become very expensive with it being so moreish! Wine lists were also excellent and varied in price, however be aware in Mauritius that wine in general can be quite expensive due to import taxes.

The beach and swimming pools were a quiet haven, you really could be in paradise. The beach boys look after you so well whilst on the sun loungers you could go without moving a muscle all day, and it was a lovely touch for one of them to rush over to my partner with a fresh beach towel as she came out of the sea. We always had fresh, iced water and cold towels and again, nothing was too much trouble.

There was always good live music every night, which in no way intruded on the tranquility of the bar and its magnificent views over the Indian Ocean. It's also a top tip to try the local beers, Phoenix and Blue Marlin.

We took a couples massage in the Spa during our visit and if you want complete relaxation, this is also a must during your stay. Take it in the early evening and then sit and watch the sun go down whist enjoying a jacuzzi in the private garden...

It is rare that one can walk away from a hotel with not one minor complaint or suggestion these days but this hotel and its team are faultless in every way. Every guest is catered for on an individual basis and made to feel very special. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Baboo and Anesh for going out of their way to make our holiday special for us and wish the Oberoi continued success and a very prosperous future. We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pilot-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 night honeymoon at the Oberoi Mauritius.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and enjoyed every second. Previous reviews have described the resort and service already in detail so thought just mention a few other points which stood out for us:

SERVICE - All staff, from housekeeping to the beach boys, to the waiters and restaurant managers, are polite, thoughtful, helpful and always aim to please. The staff are well informed, they know your name and always greet you with a smile. Over 10 days they learn your likes/dislikes and throw in additional surprises such as extra chocolate truffles after dinner or rum cocktails on the beach.

PRIVATE DINING - We chose to have dinner on our terrace one night which was a memorable experience. The team arrived with candles, table cloths, rose petals - the full works, and setup a very romantic table for two on our terrace. The food was served at the same speed as in the main restaurant and with a dedicated waiter for the evening.

LIVE MUSIC - Every evening the Oberoi bar hosts small groups of talented local professional musicians who come to entertain.The music was sophisticated, upbeat and a pleasure to listen to.

WATERSPORTS - A range of watersports are available at no extra charge for Oberoi guests. Water skiing, kayaking, pedlos, glass bottomed boats, sailing and wind surfing are available and great fun. Even if you havent done these activities before, the staff will provide proper training to make the experience fun and safe.

FOOD - Top quality a la carte food in a choice of 3 restaurants. (Main, lagoon and the wine cellar) The menu changes frequently and prepared by talented and creative chefs. The Sous chef even gave us a tour of the herb gardens which was brilliant - he is very knowledgeable. The degustation menu in the wine cellar is delicious.

GARDENS - Mature, tidy and colourful.

SWIMMING POOLS - Surrounded by fun statues - very cool.

We had a great time and the staff made it very special. This really is a 5 star hotel.

thanks.

Room Tip: Email in advance to ask for a Pavilion with a sea view. All have terraces with sunbeds and a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lancsthorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in September 2011 and could not be happier with the experience. The service was wonderful and the staff is very friendly. This is a very zen place with an excellent chef, a wonderful beach and lots of activities (yoga, star gazing, water sports, etc). We could recommend this hotel for any couple looking for a romantic, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LittleAlissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at The Oberoi, Mauritius. From the moment we arrived to the second we left the service was superb.
Check in - totally seamless and stress free, check out equally efficient with a wonderful early morning breakfast in the room.
Food - standard at both restaurants excellent, choice and quality were maintained throughout our stay. The Prawns on the barbecue were out of this world.
Activities - a full programme of interesting activities which met our taste perfectly. The star gazing was interesting and we shall never forget the magical view of Jupiter and her moons. To have the opportunity to try out sculpture classes and water colours was brilliant.
Spa - the best massage we have ever had - Hansy and Maia were excellent and the facilities wonderful.
Pool - the adult pool was the perfect temperature for swimming in and the staff kept the area clean and tidy. The fruit at lunch-time was a welcome treat.
Rooms - we stayed in a luxury pavillion - large room with seating area and terrace with sun lounges - lovely views. Large bathroom with fantastic sunken bath, excellent turn down service and high standard of housekeeping.
Gardens - stunning and immaculate - the team of gardeners should receive special thanks for all of their hard work.
Staff - everyone worked as team, nothing was too much trouble and the leadership of the General Manager, Marc Denton should be applauded. He has a very hands on approach and took time to speak to each of the guests personally.
The staff managed to make everyone feel special.
We have travelled widely and stayed in many 5 star hotels but we can truly stay that this was the most relaxing and special holiday we have ever had - Thank you to all of the staff.
I would say that even though there were some young children (under 2) at the resort that this is not a resort for children.

Room Tip: All of the room are good, those furthest from Reception likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank docmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Everything is excellent at the Oberoi but if anything isn't exactly to your liking the incredible staff will do everything and anything to rectify it for you immediately.

I have been to some first class hotels and this one ranks in the top 2!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verdantian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Beach and restaurants here were beautiful. Room was lovely too, but bathroom was disappointing.

Spa was beautiful and massage perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

From start to finish we were made to feel like royalty. From the landscapig of the gardens to the quality of food and the outstanding service, we couldn't have dreamt of a better honeymoon!
Housekeeping do an amazing job. The turn down service was a pleasant surprise and a lovely touch to our stay. We were made to feel special when returning from dinner to a bubble bath covers in petals, we also loved the swan and elephant made out of towels! When we arrived at our hotel room (Luxury villa with garden), we were greeted with a bottle of wine and a card.
Private dining was fantastic is a fantastic service. The presentation and service was equal to the restaurants and surprising that this special service is at no extra cost.
There were so many special touches throughout our stay, too many to mention, but one was the special invitations to the cocktail hour at the royal villa from the GM Marc Denton.
We really enjoyed the classes provided by the hotel and would like to especially mention the wine tasting. Not only was it fun but Baboo's knowledge and delivery was excellent.
The staff at the spa were really helpful and always provided us with a private steam room.
Our villa was spacious with quality furniture and decor. The presention was excellent ad the garden was lovely with the added extra of a raised eating terrace allowing us to look over the ocean.
We were sad to leave and we can honestly say it's the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the world.
Whether it was the chef's, gardeners, bar/restaurant staff, spa team, house keeping, managers, maintenance, security, reception, and everyone else, you are always greeted with a smile.

We wanted to make a special mention to te following staff...Marc Denton, Anja, Natacha, Igor, Baboo, Singh, Jin, Doger, Anoop, Magan, Atish, Oliver, AJ and Rabin.

There were 4 members of staff that had the most impact on making our stay so fantastic:
Deepak-attention to detail to make our stay so special.
Anesh-never let us down, he was always ready to help and was quick and efficient.
Preetam and Mevin- provided us with amazing private dining experiences, in room, garden and jetty. Ther knowledge of food was brilliant, their professionalism to teir jobs and always wanting to make our dining a special and individual experience.
We can't recommend the Oberoi, Mauritius enough. Best time ever!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guests of The Oberoi, Mauritius.

I am using this opportunity to reply on the review of Mr. and Mrs. Gomes, however I wish to express my true appreciation to all of our guests who have recently posted such nice reviews about The Oberoi, Mauritius on TripAdvisor.

The team and I are touched by your kind words. So many of our team members are mentioned in the reviews. Many of you frequently tell me in our conversations that it is our team members who make your holidays so special. It really is very clear from reading your reviews and from the comment cards you fill in on departure, that there is a special relationship established between you and our team.

We recognise all of our guests from the reviews posted, which again makes it that much more special and personalized.

Thank you all so much for having chosen to spend your honeymoons, your anniversaries and your holidays with us.

For many times after, when you need to be away we shall be here hands folded looking your way. We look forward to welcoming you back home, hopefully in the near future.

From Chef Igor, Chef Singh, Anja, Sonah, Natacha, Nelly, Deepak, the entire team in the heart and front of house, and from myself,

Warmest regards,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,406 reviews
29 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,086 reviews
22.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,470 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $523 - $1,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing