We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Recif Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Recif Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is very good, our room was right near the pool before the beach. The staff are very helpful and nice. Staff speak fluent French and English so communication is no problem. The location of the hotel is not so far from public transport or if you do not want to experience a bumpy, speedy ride, you should better get a taxi. Taxi drivers are very helpful also.

One bad thing is ants, since the rooms are ground floor, ants easily find their way in the room, but this can easily be solved by not leaving any food items outside the fridge.

Overall it was a great experience !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guests from Malta,

Thank you to have chosen our hotel for your Mauritian holidays.

We felt privilege to welcome other “islanders” and we are happy that your Récif Attitude experience has pleased you!

We look forward to welcoming you again on our island and many more of your compatriots!

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    495
    110
    35
    15
See reviews for
154
971
65
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I visited this great hotel March 2013 with my husband for 6 nights.
We needed to get away and it was wonderful!
Where it is situated. The staff. The clients even...
The director of the hotel went out of his way to make us comfortable. He even brought us the acoustic guitar of his daughter for my husband to play and we had a wonderful 'campfire-esque' moment with arriving guests of the hotel.
One definitely needs to reserve a table for the diner on the beach.
Rent a scooter to ride around to the nearby areas for this peaceful hotel is in a world of it's own.Walk down the beach to the nearest shack for some grilled fish...
And when we left, we had a late flight, so they put us in another room so we could have a place to change.
This hotel really is quite a find.

For couples this hotel is great place for romance.
And we just booked a trip back for January for 8 nights... And are looking forward to it.
.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room next to the center of the hotel with a perfect view on the ocean but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singerontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi C & G,

We thank you for your nice post and we look forward to welcoming you soon at Récif Attitude! Shall I prepare the guitar?

Would be pleased to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just returned from ten nights at the Recif and cannot praise Raymond and his team too highly. A fortnight in Tenerife was going to be our holiday destination until we had the chance of reduced rate seats with Air Mauritius. After some research we chose the Recif all inclusive for our holiday.

There simply arn't the superlatives available to praise this hotel and we both think this is one of the best holidays we have had in 24 years of holidays together. The holiday started with the flight from London Heathrow aboard Air Mauritius which was made very pleasant by very courteous staff, who could certainly teach a few transatlantic airlines about service. Proper metal cutlery was a nice touch and the in flight curry was delicious.

Transferred my minibus to the hotel in around 70 minutes then were greeted with cold towels and even colder drinks prior to checking in. As we had arrived at around 10 am we only had to wait a few minutes for our rooms to be made available to us. In recognising that ocean view rooms attract a premium ours were the next best and every morning we woke up to the sight and sound of waves lapping onto the beach.

Our rooms were very adequate with huge low beds which were very comfortable, and fresh laundry nearly everyday. All the features you would expect - minibar, kettle. Air conditioning, room safe were all built in with a free stock up service for the fridge. Really comfy good quality sunbeds and sunshades made the holiday that much more relaxing, and there were plenty of them.

The bar staff were good and the bsr and lounge area was where many people congregated to use the wifi. An upstairs lounge area has two PCs and a bookcase full of mixed language books and magazines. The seafood restaurant is located upstairs and attracts a premium, and not being a lover of seafood we didn't venture up to this. The main restaurant though was staffed by very smily and congenial people whose only purpose seems to be to make you happy. Boy did they succeed, although it would be unfair to single any out because they were all fantastic. You must mention English football to Gavin. Breakfast was easily the best meal of the day with predominantly continental breakfast of croissants cheese, ham and fresh fruit supported by various kinds of eggs juices besns and crepes.

For those on the all inclusive tariff (11 00-23 00) a lunch menu is provided as well as some barsnacks - these include very tasty vegetable pakoras amongst others. Evening meals are a mix of menu on some nights and buffet on other nights. A very minor criticism for me is that there are only two choices on the evening menu but the waiting staff can always find you an alternative. Nit bring a fish or seafood eater i managed to find enough to eat on the menu nights.

The beach is s mixture of sand and coral and is just a little pebbly in some places. It is more comfortable to wear something on the feet when walking on the beach, but not essential. The sea is clear but there are some ricks and coral so something on the feet is advisable if you are intending more than a paddle in the surf. If you are comfortable with seeing a few fish swimming around you then snorkelling is a must. I hadn't snorkelled for 20 years but marvelled at the beautiful "tropical" fish just a few yards into the sea. I saw a school of beautiful bright yellow angel fish amongst many others, and with a backdrop of beautiful colours of coral it really was a treat to see.

The guys in the beach shack, apart from dishing out the snorkelling gear, also provide kayaks and pedalos. I took out a single seat kayak once but personally prefer the "sit in" to "sit on" craft, but my more experienced friend took one out a couple of times.

There is a spa within the hotel room complex a "hammam" are available free between 1600 and 1900 everyday. I took a "hammam" (steam room) on a number of days, followed by a shower and found it really invigorating. The spa offers all manner of other treatments too.

I needed a haircut during the holiday so walked approximately three hundred yards out of the hotel to Chez Anita also known as Sunset Boutik. Anita has a combined shop, hair salon and beauty centre where she performs all manner of beauty and therapy treatments.i had a wonderful massage including an Indian Head massage which was really wonderful, as well as a pedicure. My wife and her friend had some henna art on their hands and feet, applied by Anita and her daughter, as well as my wife buying up Anita's stock of wraps !!! I strongly recommend a little walk from the hotel (turn right out of the rear gate walk along the road, just past the aquarium, and pay Anita a visit. We didn't visit the aquarium.

So all in all, ten days of utter relaxation, looked after by a very pleasant team of smiling people, who really couldn't do enough for you. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed in and a credit to the management team of Raymond supported by Kevin and Noel.

Room Tip: Although the ocean view rooms are more expensive, the views are stunning. Conversely, the rooms whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wyrleybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs B,

Very big thank you for your kind words on our hotel and your warm appreciations of the professional and attentive service of our personnel: we are truly grateful for your compliments.

We were all very honored to serve you all 4 !! and we enjoyed your good mood and your sharp sense of humour !!

We shall very be very pleased to welcome you back at Récif Attitude.

Very best Wishes
Warm regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in September for 9 nights and had a great time. The staff were exceptional and made a point of getting to know you. The accommodation we stayed in was basic but met our needs during our stay. Our room was at the back of the hotel ground near a small construction area due to improvement works being made within the hotel but the workers were very considerate. I would recommend dining on the beach - the tiger prawns were fantastic. The spa was really good - I had one of the best messages I've ever had. I don't have any complaints its exactly what we were looking for - quite, peaceful and relaxing. As a tip you can get snacks when your all inclusive - you just order at the bar (the samosa's and beef strips were yummy) and the rooms on the beach front did seem to be nicer. All in all this was a great value hotel with excellent customer service. Mr and Mrs McKnight

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Carrie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Récif Attitude.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while being with us. The Kitchen team of L’Océan Restaurant and our Spa experts were very happy to know they helped make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Warm regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent two weeks at the Recif Attitude Hotel in Pointe aux Piments in September. This is a magical hideaway which has good access to other areas of the island by taxi or local buses. The beech is rock which is a bonus as the coral reef is right here and the snorkelling was fantastic, which was a bonus as I could not drive. They hire out free of charge snorkelling gear and you can also spend time in kayaks and their glass bottom boat which goes out most days to look at the reef or take you out further for snorkelling. The rooms are spacious and the food was a mixture of waiter service and buffet. There was entertainment on 4 nights out of seven and this changed every time even though we were there for 2 weeks. The staff looked after us so well it was like having extra family and friends on holiday. I cannot express how welcome this hotel makes you feel and would certainly recommend it to anyone. Stunning sunsets on this side of the island. It also has the better weather because it is the more sheltered part of the island.

Room Tip: Free snorkelling gear, free kayaks and lifejackets. Trips out are really good value and book with I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sandie,

All the team members of Récif Attitude join me in thanking you for your kind words and warm recommendation.

We are truly grateful for your depiction of our hotel and your ‘homely’ feeling is one of the best compliments we can receive.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again next time you visit our island,

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We want to thank you for a delighted stay at your Hotel. From the moment we stepped in the airport, until it was time to depart again. All your staff made is feel so welcome. Every day was a peace of heaven. The cleaning ladies left flowers in our room every day and I would like to thank them as well for making us feel special every day! The beach being a few steps away from our
room and to view the sunset from our bedroom is surely unforgettable!!!
The food was excellent..... each and every moment with Recif Attitude was a dream come true!!

Thanks to you Raymond and all staff!! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Room 105 was a excellent choice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Monique,

A warm thank you from all the “Family Members’ for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It’s great to see that the little attentions of our personnel contributed to make your stay ‘a dream come true’.

Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Warm regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Recif Attitude for 12 days, half board. The crew and owners are extremely nice and you'll feel welcome straight away. Our original room was overbooked, thanks to that we had two nights of ocean view (upgrade!) which was extremely nice at the 1st floor. Other room was nice as well, clean and tidy. The location of the hotel is great, right on the beach. We took the local bus to Grand Baie, the botanical gardens and Port Louis many times, perfect transportation. We find Pointe aux Piments a perfect place to explore the rest of the Island. Prices for lunch and drinks are also not too expensive.

Room Tip: If possible, make sure you have a room at the ocean side. I heard that the rooms next to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
8.9 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
7.3 mi away
Coin de Mire Attitude
Coin de Mire Attitude
#1 of 2 in Bain Boeuf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recif Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recif Attitude

Property: Recif Attitude
Address: Royal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Recif Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north west of Mauritius, Recif Attitude is a must if you want to go back to essentials, to recharge your batteries, to spend time together as a family or as a couple, to spend time with friends...Nestled in a white sandy creek overlooking a beautiful natural marine preserve, this "Adult Only" hotel is an invitation to farniente. Guests can spend hours chatting, sipping an exotic cocktail bare feet in the sand or in one of the cosy sitting corners... At sunset, the ideal spot to watch that enormous orange sun entering the sea slowly...Dressed in white and wood, Recif Attitude is a mix of comfort, vibrant Mauritian soul and boutique hotel spirit. The 70 room hotel with its cubical architecture, modern furniture and refined design, is decorated with taste. Warm welcome, caring and discreet staff, together with unique body care and facials of the Spa Attitude, without forgetting the seafood restaurant, contribute to the subtle luxury of this 3 star sup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Recif Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Recif Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Le Recif Pointe Aux Piments
Recif Attitude Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing