We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Recif Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Recif Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having read all the reviews prior to booking this holiday, we were extremely disappointed in what we experienced. On arrival we were greeted by lovely friendly staff who invited us to take breakfast while we were waiting for our room. On moving from the reception area we started to see signs of a tired hotel. Areas of decking covered in bird lime and woodwork in need of attention.
We found the breakfast selection very poor, especially if you were going to be there for any length of time. For example hardly any fresh fruit selection, considering you are in a tropical climate bananas and pineapple are really not enough!
We had chosen a beach front room (not a basic room) and we were not disappointed with the rooms view, but I am afraid this was the only good point of this accommodation. The room was generally dirty, curtains stained and too short allowing to much light in and bedroom fittings in need of replacing. Walls marked and with a healthy compliment of ants, mould in shower area, paint peeling off bathroom shelves and poorly fitting fixtures.
This was enough for us to contact our tour rep, who then arranged a meeting with hotel assistant manager (Kevin). We made it perfectly clear that we were not prepared to stay in the hotel any longer even with the possibility of an upgrade. Full credit to Kevin, he took all our observations on board and transferred us to a sister hotel, Paradise cove, a world apart!
We have been fortunate to travel widely and stay in various star accommodation and we can honestly say this was the worst hotel we have come across. This is a shame as it is in a lovely location and with some investment it could be a lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wookie7468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs G.,

We are very sad to read such a negative review on our hotel and we apologize to the fact that Recif Attitude has not been up to your expectations.

We acknowledge that the first impression is important but regret that you did not give us any chance to modify this perception and to show the good value for money of our property as you stayed only few hours in the hotel.

However we are happy to read that Kevin has smoothly handled your observations and that a solution has been found.

Hope you had a good time on our island.

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
There are newer reviews for Recif Attitude
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by there wonderful staff and we were shown to our room which was of average standard, we did not come here to stay in the room we came to enjoy maritius.

The staff were brilliant and really looked after us, the food was ok but after the first week we could have done with a change on the menu.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable and we made some true new friends with nareema, alwyn and all the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Pick a beachfront away from the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for your positive review on our hotel and staff, the “Family Members”. Rest assured that your review will be shared with all of them, including those you have mentioned in your posting, Nareema and Alwyn.

We take good note of your remark regarding the menu and this will be discussed with our F&B team.

We are glad to read that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you again in our “little paradise”.

Best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a superb stay. Friendly staff, clean well-equipped room and although not in front row, still well-appointed. Think the back rooms would be very noise with traffic. Although beach is rocky one can swim easily and also snorkel in front of hotel. Enjoyed the free Wi-Fi and range sufficient when in holiday mode (otherwise don't travel!). Food could be a little more varied, but good. We were really spoilt on our anniversary with a dinner on the beach - the manager could not have made it more special for us. Thank you Recife Attitude.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms would be first choice. At the back one would battle with traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda35_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Linda,

We are delighted to read your very positive posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you liked our “little attention” to celebrate your “ young anniversaries” and we hope to welcome you and your friends back at Récif Attitude in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Coming from South Arica I consider the hotel as value for money.One is on holiday and don`t want to be occupied on mobile devices. However, a wider Wi-Fi range would have earned them a higher rating.....from me. The friendly staff made up for the minor water leak we had in the bathroom area. Other than salt & pepper, a wider choice of seasoning at meals could have been available. Travellers must be made aware of the strong ocean current not too far in. I was caught in it and struggled to get out. The location of our room was just perfect and I would ask for it again. It was room #... Other folks forfeited their massage treatment because they were late. We were asked to come back twenty minutes later even though we were on-time. I gave my voucher to one of the ladies as I prefered snorkeling more. I didn`t expect 5star service from a 3star hotel. Will I go back? Yes!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay amongst us at Récif Attitude.

We are really happy to read that you loved the hotel and its facilities.

We take good note of your suggestions regarding the Wi-Fi and the choice of seasoning at meals.

I was very pleased to welcome you for your first stay in our hotel and we hope to have the occasion of welcoming you and the whole family back in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Recif for our honeymoon and found exactly what we were looking for. A beautiful hotel with nice staff at a remote place to find some peace and quiet.

The hotel itself is at a rather high standard for 3 star hotel, the rooms are equipped with safe, kettle, tv, hair dryer and very clean. White and blue walls. White furniture. Housekeeping cleaned our room everyday, and every other day we found a cute animal made ut of towels on our bed, decorated with Frangipani flowers from the estate.

We stayed in a room with beach view, which was wonderful, as we sat on our veranda every night watching the most significant sundowns. The room was rather small, but as we spent most of our time at the pool (beuatiful little pool with the most magnificant view), at the beach (right in fron of the door - max 5 meter walk), or lounging in the bar area (most comfortable lazy chairs and rather cheap cocktails), we didn't mind at all. :-)

The beach in front of the hotel is short and not super soft and white, but it is a great snorkelling spot and as we drove around the island for a few days, decided that we consider ourselves really lucky to have this beautiful spot right in front of the hotel - the hotel even provided kayaks, paddle boats and snorkeling geer for free and do a glass bottom boat trip twice a day for free. As my husband loves he fishing, he also spend quite a bit of time, doing exactly that - so yes, it is permitted.. And the locals, which fish there every day, don't mind, if you add to their catch. :-)

To be fair, we must say, we only had dinner once at the hotel, which wasn't too inspiring. It was a buffet style where the selection was very simple and being charged nearly 60 Euro's for two people was quite a lot. As the hotel is really quite remote, Point aux Piments has no mentionable restaurants for dinner, we had to help ourselves here, so the days that we had a rental car we ventured out towards Grand Baye for dinner. The other nights we simply had sandwiches - for Grocery shopping it is also recommeded to go either to Port Louis or Grand Baye. In Point aux Piments itself are just some tiny "Supermarkets" - but you can buy beer and bread rolls there, so good to have.

For Lunch it is a good idea to roam the beaches to the left and right of the hotel. They are no good for swimming or sun bathing, but there are some huts, that serve the most delicious Muaritias food (Fish Curry, Faratas etc...) and they are quite cheap.

The breakfast buffet is also simple, hardly any selection of savoury things, but they have fresh crepes every morning, croissants, banana jam and fresh fruit, so we were more than happy with that.

To wrap it up - The hotel and it's facilities are beautiful, the reception staff and housekkeping are fantastic and the location is great if you either have a rental car or don't mind doing very little, as you are nowhere close to shopping, restaurants or bars. For families this might get a little boring, for honeymooners like us, that was exactly what we were hoping for!

Room Tip: If you want peace, request a room away from the pool. The Beach View Rooms are sufficiant for two, i...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Récif Attitude for your honeymoon.

We are glad to read that you liked the hotel, its facilities, your room, the beautiful sundowns and the famous “cute animals made out of towels” on your bed. Thank you also for your warm appreciations towards our staff.

We hope to welcome you soon at Récif Attitude,

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and we were not very impressed. Despite the helpful and attentive welcome reception, we were disappointed with our room, it was dirty, there was mould in the shower area, and the paint was peeling off in places, there was only a thin sheet on the bed, no fluffy duvets. With 125€/per night, I expected a bit more. The place looked like it was renovated very quickly without much attention to detail. The pictures on the site look so much better than what it is in reality. Breakfast was included in the price, but it lacked variety, the croissants were hard, no fresh fruit available. Beach is small, but ok, the reef starts very close to the shore, so it is difficult to walk into water, but it is good for snorkeling. The pool area is nice. We had a rental car, so it was easy to find restaurants from the nearby Grand Baie area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniina_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Sir ,

Thank you for your post.

We would like to apologize for the few disappointment mentioned concerning the room.
Rest assured that all necessary measures have been taken.
However we would like to point out that our normal procedure will include 2 bed sheets on the bed and a wool cover is put in every room in addition.

Furthermore, our breakfast includes everyday a minimum of three different fresh fruits.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you one more time at Recif Attitude to rectify this disappointment.

Regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Took my 9 yo granddaughter (her first trip to Mauritius, my 2nd) and we both loved our stay at the hotel. She especially loved the pool but the chlorine hurt her eyes the first day. The room we had on the first floor was delightful but the lack of shade/shelter from the sun and rain on the balcony was a bit off-putting but there is a vine growing which will hopefully remedy this situation. The manager and staff are a sheer delight and I cannot recommend them highly enough, Nothing is too much bother and they are always helpful, cheerful, smiling and informative. The hotel is well situated for exploring and the taxis are right outside. The taxi drivers sure know their stuff. The welcome and greet from the airport was fantastic too. My granddaughter says she's taking her parents and sister there and staying for at least 3 weeks and when you think that they are all "homebodies" that's high praise indeed. She has stayed at hotels in Paris and London and elsewhere so she has a good yardstick for comparison. Needless to say I'll be back again even if it is later rather than sooner.

Room Tip: Try a first floor room with an ocean view - it really is sooo worth it. The lights in the distance...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Wendy,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ I would like to thank you for your warm recommendations of Récif Attitude: it was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we are very happy to know that your stay even short was “sweet”.

The vine growing has been put to give some shade and protection; this should be effective in a near future.

Thank you again for your review.

We would be delighted to seeing you again soon at Récif Attitude,

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
8.9 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,065 reviews
22.0 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recif Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recif Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#3 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $105 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Recif Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north west of Mauritius, Recif Attitude is a must if you want to go back to essentials, to recharge your batteries, to spend time together as a family or as a couple, to spend time with friends...Nestled in a white sandy creek overlooking a beautiful natural marine preserve, this "Adult Only" hotel is an invitation to Farniente. Guests can spend hours chatting, sipping an exotic cocktail bare feet in the sand or in one of the cosy sitting corners... At sunset, the ideal spot to watch that enormous orange sun entering the sea slowly...Dressed in white and wood, Recif Attitude is a mix of comfort, vibrant Mauritian soul and boutique hotel spirit. The 70 room hotel with its cubical architecture, modern furniture and refined design, is decorated with taste. Warm welcome, caring and discreet staff, together with unique body care and facials of the Spa Attitude, without forgetting the seafood restaurant, contribute to the subtle luxury of this 3 star sup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Recif Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Recif Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Le Recif Pointe Aux Piments
Recif Attitude Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing