We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Recif Attitude
Nearby Hotels
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
$278
$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
$318
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fita Residence(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
$106
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Margarita(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
$41
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
$540
$502
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voile Bleue(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Oaks Villas(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,660)
Filter reviews
1,660 results
Traveler rating
896
572
132
42
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
572
132
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle recifbeachfront roomrooms are basicsmall hotelhalf boardgrand baieboutique hotelbus stopglass bottom boatboat housefirst visit to mauritiusthe general managerinfinity poola la cartesea viewport louisfriendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 1,660 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have just spent a week in the hotel with 3 friends and relatives and would really recommend it. The hotel is lively and quiet at the same times, as it is rather small. Excellent food, including fresh, local fruits; good, live music in the evening; competent and friendly staff. The beach is not wide and the swimming area itself is small, but it is a favorite for the locals and if you like to snorkel, rocks and coral reefs are really close and hosts a nice array of fish and cuttlefish. It is very easy to take a cab (ask for Soobiraj if you can, he is a wonderful guide) for a 10 mn ride to the long, sand beaches of Trou-Aux-Biches and Mont Choisy, to visit Pamplemousse botanical garden + Port Louis market, or, should the weather be ugly (we were there when the hurricane Felleng hit the east coast of Mauritius), to drive to the west side, to other stunning beaches like Belle Mare (well worth the 40 mn drive through the beautiful Goodlands, in the north of the island). Everything was perfect, the director often came and asked how we felt, and every one clearly did their best to make us feel great and relaxed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancerintherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in Mauritius despite the unpredictable weather we experienced recently!

Sincerely,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for only 5 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, having spent 3 nights in Dubai on route. After cramming in as much as possible in Dubai, this was to be our chill-out time and it did not disappoint.
We had a seafront room overlooking the pool, which could not have been a better location, particularly for the amazing sunsets.
The open fronted bar and restaurants also overlook the beach which means the whole experience is superb. All staff were friendly & helpful and make sure your feel welcome from the moment you arrive, Raymond the manager is worth a special mention as he goes out of his way to make you feel very welcome and seems to be able to remember all his guests faces and names (incredible).
As previously mentioned here, the evening meals are a little repetitive (mostly buffet style while we were there). The only other negative comment I would make would be room (which was simply furnished) was a little tired and had a large crack by the door.
From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we found the Mauritian people to be genuinely warm, welcoming & friendly and this was exemplified at the hotel also.
Tip: if you fancy a change for lunch, walk up the beach 100 yards to the public wooded area and buy lunch from the lovely lady at the first beach hut. Don't be put off, as she will serve you freshly caught fish, cooked in her own special spices - fantastic!
Despite underestimating the strength of the summer sun (and suffering the consequences) we left Mauritius with many happy memories.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review and your constructive comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us and enjoyed our island and it’s authenticity.

We hope to welcome you again at Récif Attitude,

Kind regards

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Recife Attitude Hotel with the intent of relaxing and unwinding after a busy Christmas and New Year. The hotel, with its beautiful surroundings, lived up to our expectations in every way.

We were met at the understated frontage of the hotel and taken into paradise! From the icy cold towels handed to us to refresh us after our long journey, to the informative check in where all aspects of the hotel were pointed out to us in detail.

Our room was a little disappointing. More shelving/drawers would have been welcomed to store our clothes, but then we agreed we would be spending little time in our room and made do.
Within 30 minutes of arriving, we were having lunch by the ocean and sipping on rum cocktails made by Alwyn, who in our humble opinion was the star of the hotel. He stopped at nothing to make our stay memorable in every way & always had a touch of humour...

All of the staff at the hotel are fantastic, warm and welcoming. A credit to Raymond, the general manager aka sting!! (Our nickname for him as he chose to call me chef throughout our stay!!!!) Raymond went out of his way to be welcoming and looked constantly concerned that our holiday was everything we wanted it to be and that the hotel was doing everything to ensure we did not want to leave! It is well worth noting that during our booking, the agent was slightly misleading and we ended up in a beachfront room rather than a deluxe which we thought we had opted for, however no fault whatsoever of the hotel. Upon hearing of this Raymond found us on the beach and asked us to come and view a deluxe room then kindly offered it to us at no extra charge for the remainder of our stay!! Fantastic hospitality.

The food at the hotel is ok, sometimes a little repetitive but you can always find something worth eating. Lunch is by far the best offering and the pizzas well worth mentioning. Stay away from the chilli paste, you have been warned!!!

Overall we had the most amazing holiday from the moment we arrived and were truly saddened when it became time to leave.

Thank you to all who work at the hotel and in particular Raymond, alwyn, dave and veerdan who became well known to us and worked incredibly hard looking after us, making us laugh and seeing we had a fantastic time.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Deluxe beachfront rooms are by far best choice and worth paying extra for
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Scemh,

We thank you very much for your lovely depiction of our hotel and our “family Members”.
Your warm appreciations have been passed on to our team members especially Alwyn, Dave and Veeren.
It’s been a real pleasure to have you with us for your stay in Mauritius and happy to know that you been able to disconnect from the “daily “life for a while. Thank you for your very constructive suggestions.

We would be very happy to see you again, hopefully soon!

With kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great experience. I only had a few days to relax in Recif after a week of working on the island. Did not take long to get on "island time" at this location. Great balance between nature and people, and Recif does an excellent job of bringing people together in a friendly atmosphere.

Snorkeling right off shore was a blast (haha..) and also had some fun in Grand Bay which is nearby. No worries for the duration. When in Mauritius try the local rum (made with local sugar).

This is not a 5-star hotel, nor does it claim to be, but it is excellent at what it is.

Room Tip: steps are steep so be advised if that is a challenge.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyRocket5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice and well laid out hotel. Rooms are modern with large double bed ,fridge, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and outside space. Beachfront rooms have great sea views and are literally a few steps from the beach. All the restaurants and the bar have seating right next to the beach with the same fabulous sea and sunset views. The beach itself has plenty of loungers and an area between the rocks to swim. We enjoyed the free glass bottom boat ride and snorkling around the rocks. The small infinity pool is beautifully located right next to the beach. Our only reservations about the hotel were that the evening buffet offered on half board was a little uninspired as was the cocktail list. However service was always good the Sega evening was fun and a huge effort was made for Xmas and New Year. The a la carte lunch and special coffees were particularly good. Mauritius is a small island and is well worth exploring. Grand Baie is just a short taxi or bus ride away.

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank NorthLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raymond Duvergé at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We warmly thank you for your recommendation and kind words on Récif Attitude and on our island !

It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in Mauritius.

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews