We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Flic en Flac”
Review of Villas Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Caroline
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed for nine nights in October - the hotel is exactly like the pictures on the website, but beware of being given Rooms 368 and 366 at the fair side of the complex as the view from the terrace is a metal fence and it makes you feel you are in a cage. Having said that, when we complained about a leaking floor/shower problem in room 368 the next morning we were moved to a brilliant room closest to the beach. Superior rooms give you a bath and a safe - beds are huge and rooms are nice and bright.

The staff at the hotel are pleasant. The breakfasts are great, especially the lady who cooks eggs, omelettes and lovely crepes. Entertainment is ok too, but be warned that there is an Italian holiday company at the hotel who do tend to monopolise facilities at times, putting up volley ball nets on the beach and on our last night, they had a "Name that Tune" competition in Italian, with loud songs and shouting in the bar area, preventing other guests, mostly germans and other europeans, from having a decent conversation. On the plus side, the italian chef cooks a mean pasta and non italians are welcome to join in and eat that.

It is in an ideal location a short walk from the centre of town, supermarket and some restaurants and shops. You can walk down back streets close by to see how the real Mauritians live. It is located on the nicest beach with good snorkelling opposite the hotel and just a few yards up the beach.

Personally, I wish there had been a stricter enforcement of the non smoking areas, but most of the europeans seemed to smoke, particularly the german guests, so I guess I was in a minority there. The bar made great black coffees and drinks were reasonable prices. There is an Indian restaurant in the hotel which you can access with a discount if you are on half board and the food is very good. The half board buffet was reasonable too - there were two or three choices of mains and two desserts and salad etc if you were eating that.

All in all, if you don't want to pay for a four or five star and be stuck up a road quite a way from the town centre, this is a good hotel to be in, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank poochiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Villas Caroline
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 865 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2007

Villas Caroline is located on one of the most beautiful beaches on Mauritius. We had a superior room with the most breathtaking view of Indian Ocean and we were lucky enough to enjoy magnificent sunsets every evening. The hotel rooms are spacious and the beds are huge. There were parties almost every night (weddings, birthdays) and as the Mauritians are very friendly they somtimes asked the hotel guests to join in with the fun. The beach is ideal for snorkelling even for the unexperienced but don't forget to take your jellies with you as the coral sand can hurt. The food was "okay" and the front desk hotel receptionists were not very friendly which was a pity as the rest of the staff were. All in all, for a 3-star hotel, it was great value for money and the village is a ideal starting place for trips around the island. Its a magnificent place to visit. We had a first class taxi driver called Mr M. Allybocus from Curepipe who spoke fluent English who iwe can fully recommed.
Why not stay in this 3-star hotel and blow the cash you have saved on a helicopted trip over the coral reefs and the semi-tropical forests - an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights. I have to say I was happy to leave. The hotel is an average three star place. Good location, decent room, nice beach. But the service was poor, some of the staff couldn’t care less. And the food was disappointing (we were on half board). There were big evening parties for local companies at the hotel. The hotel staff seemed to be more interested in organising these events than serving their guests at the hotel. Every morning we were waken up by a cockcrow. Although the Flic en Flac beach is fine, there are much more beautiful and quiter beaches around the island.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank maria26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We stayed there for 3 days in August 2006. We had paid for a standard room but gave us un upgrade for free. The rooms was very nice and had been recently re-done.
The hotel is directly on the (very large) beach of Flic and Flac. However the sea is less spectactular than in other places in Mauritius and the village has nothing to offer: so, you'll spend all your time in the hotel which also does not hace many facilities. Only one pool, by the restaurant, which is more or less OK.
Food however was VERY disappointing: really mediocre. Moreover it was very international: what you could erat eveywhere. Pity is you consider you are on an island rich in fish, game, exatic fruits and vegetables.
So, it is ok because tariffs are very reasonable. But I'd spend more and go to a nicer hotel, perhaps in another location on the isle.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We loved the villa, just 3 metres to the beach, two rooms, large shower room & toilet, tv in main room, fully fitted kitchen, located just 3 minutes LAZY walk to the supermarket.

Fantastic shows for the guests on Saturday nights, traditional Segga shows, bands, dancing & reasonably priced bar. Great service from all the staff.

This was our second stay there, but on other occasions we booked local bungalows but we had visited it as evening guests, mainly for the shows on Saturday nights or for evening meals, they have a great menu & a very good Indian Chef who can also create the most delicious Indian Curries, fish, meat & vegetarian food besides the local fayre and European dishes. All the menus are very reasonably priced.

We will be back Villas Caroline.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Pam1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights in December 2006. Rooms were nice and clean with big bathrooms and sea view. It is on a nice stretch of beach in Flic and Flac with fantastic snorkelling off the beach. Very nice indian restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel itself was a bit unorganised, we booked a bungalow but didn't get it even though the hotel was pretty quiet, they gave us a few free meals but they definitely had regular room problems and give away a lot of meals and drinks to compensate when they should just be a bit better organised!

As we went in December they had massive corporate events in the hotel every night which got bigger as the days went on, this did take over the hotel in the evening, the largest one only left a couple of tables for dinner and they cordoned off most of the bar, which wasn't ideal. The hotel also had a bit of a holiday camp feel.

It was a good base to explore and Black River Gorges national park and there is an excellent diving school in the hotel who gave me a free refresher course as well as taking me diving. Domaine anna restaurant nearby is meant to be excellent but we couldn't get a table so need to book ahead. Preferred the Troux aux Biches area in the north overall though, stay at La Sakoa.

7  Thank marchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
7  Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Flic En Flac
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Flic En Flac
1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
23.8 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Caroline

Address: Coastal Road, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#9 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $155 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Villas Caroline Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing