We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Big Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Austin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Big Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Like most of the Oregon Coast line motels this is an older place, but well kept. Our room was clean, had a sofa and chair along with an Ocean view and balcony. It is not a resort though the name says it resort.

The fixtures are updated, great water pressure, quiet space to kick back and relax. They have breakfast with eggs, biscuits and gravy as well as cereals. The staff is very helpful and goes above what I have seen with many other locations.

One thing to note: If you are sensitive to odors you may have issues here. The room had a very fragrant scent like the glade plugins or something. If you have asthma or respiratory issues you may want to have someone check it out for you first. I did wake with a bit of tightness in my chest after one night there.

They had a big bus of 35 that had arrived before us, but you would not have known it if the bus were not in the parking lot. Everything was quiet all night long and the bus was gone in the morning without a trace of anyone ever being there.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have good views, there is a lower (down a flight of stairs) set of rooms which enter thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    100
    36
    10
    19
See reviews for
38
115
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Compared to the other hotels on the Flic en Flac/Wolmar stretch this is the smallest and most low key... so if you're looking for the super-duper luxury of a five star resort this isn't the place for you, but. The staff are help and friendly, the rooms, gardens and restaurant extremely clean, and the cook flexible and obliging (I and my family are vegetarian...) The location is superb... out of your room, walk down past the pool and you are on the white sand beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights and loved every moment. Soubash the driver and also tour guide was exceptional. Ask for him if you are visiting Mauritius for the first time. All the staff exceeded our expectations and with an 11 month old son we could not have asked for more. The location is fantastic. A skip to the beach and not far from shops and restaurants. I am Mauritian and my husband is English. He totally loved the experience and I would recommend that everybody stay here for a fantastic beach holiday. Kav

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cainep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a first timer to Mauritius I wasn't sure what to expect, Gold Beach Resort is a fantastic resort ,the food was incredible and the people were very friendly the room was well maintained and cleaned. The pool is very nice and well maintained , as is the rest of the resort. I am a vegetarian and they catered for me. i will definitely go back to Gold Beach Resort again.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MALIGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasaram
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

i have spent 6 nights at this hotel,i went first time to mauritius and i found that the people are so friendly here. the staff of this hotel are really good and helping. i am an allergic to wheat so the staff took care of that and they always provided me gluten free food. i m really thankful to them.it s not big but i guess it s really awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swetang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

As a first timer to Mauritius I wasn't sure what to expect, Gold Beach Resort is a fantastic resort ,the food was incredible and the people were very friendly the room was well maintained and cleaned.

The pool is very nice and well maintained , as is the rest of the resort.

Would love to return.

Rgds
Jai

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaisharmavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've spent 7 nights at this hotel.
We arrived very late in the evening and had a small room not really clean.
However, we asked to change it and we got one just above the restaurant, with a big common balcony just facing the wonderful sea. If you want to change room, try to ask, if they have availabilty they will change it without making any problem.
The room was then well cleaned every day.
Food at restaurant is very good, since I'm vegetarian, I was positively surprised how all the staff took care of my dietary needs. Sometimes I could have managed to eat something from the buffet, however they always cookeed something separately just for me, without asking me to pay anything extra.
All the staff is extremely friendly and kind.
The swimming pool is big and clean, however the wonderful sea is just in front of the hotel, so I did not use it so much.
The hotel organize airport transfer, which is payable.
I have recommended this hotel to some friends of mine, and will continue to recommend it.
Hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: There is a turtle who pass dayly just a few meters from the beach, you can spot it around midday and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#9 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort

Property: Gold Beach Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Beach Resort, in Mauritius, is located in the Western coastal village of Flic en Flac along a beautiful white sandy beach.The Hotel’s concept is to offer to guests the best holidays in a relaxing & enchanting environment with a selection of water sports activities and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Gold Beach Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing