We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
54
106
43
14
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
106
43
14
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant staffcabana barbirthday cakebuffet dinneryogurtvegetarianislandseasegataxiscleanerssunset
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 243 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

It was an outstanding experience spending our most precious moments in this hotel.

We stayed for 6 days. We were welcomed with a sparkling wine. Our room was very spacious, neat and well lighted.

The resort had a wonderful beach on one side and the view from the dining hall was breathtaking. Breakfast and dinner were included in the package. Both the meals had wonderful variety. Every day dinner theme was different and we thoroughly enjoyed different varieties of cuisine. Expect very good Indian food as well.

Its a 3 star resort and located quite close the local market.

Cons - We were given 2 single beds, ideally a single double bed would have been better.

Overall very good stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shivsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We arrived in mauritius on the 13th of march 2011, we where left deserted at the airport because reception could not remember to send the hotel taxi for us!!!! we made 3 calls to jason on that night and all done from the info desk at the airport( at least those individuals where helpful!!!) and finally took matters in our own hands by hiring two taxi's to take us to gold beach hotel and jason confirmed the hotel will pay the fee...arrived at gold beach resort,total lack of service from reception,although jason was long way better to deal with than the other two rude girls at reception..!!! went to our rooms...no hot water as well in our rooms, we where all part of a large group and other members in our group had no hot water either in their room...complained about it next day...a lady from reception( not the two rude ones) advised she will organise a change of room for us...we where transferred to a better room the next day....the food and ambience at the hotel was great...restaurant staff provided excellent service...enjoyed the snorkelling and the beach right on the door step...some of the staff truly spoil the quality of this hotel....the reception manager VIDALOO OR VINDALOO OR VADILOO or whatever that rude idiots name was, was absolutely horrendous!!! she was actually having a fight with us for something that was in no way our fault but should have been blamed on that thieving taxi driver by the name of subbash( please watch out for this guy) well any way she should seriously go for some lessons in customer service and customer relationship management and hospitality because i can tell you now that she was shockingly horrible!!! i actually started recording the whole fiasco to put on you tube but she lowered her voice and stopped the monkey antics when they saw me recording, and she was also warned by her other rude sidekick who also works there who definitely learnt the rude beahviour from vindaloo (her superior) And what bugs me the most and makes me so angry,was the fact that on the day we left we made change at the airport and gave 1600 rupees in tips to subbash (the tour bus operator contracted to gold beach resort) and told him to give it to 4 restaurant staff who provided us with exceptional service but he took the money for himself!!!! i even wrote on the envelope the names of the staff who was to get the tips but he never gave it to them!! how dishonest!! and the reason how i know this is because we have made contact with the staff and they informed us they didnot receive a cent!!! so that was the last straw for me since we gave the guy his own tip and he was so flipping greedy he stole someone elses money....bad vibe...so if any one is visting there....be stern with reception staff and watch out for the thief...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in March 2011 for seven nights with a group of 6 adults and 1 kid aged 5.
We arrived in Mauritius at about 6.45 p.m, rainy weather and the hotel forgot to send someone to the Airport to pick us up. We waited around for about an hour, place was getting deserted by this time. We finally took the decision to hire two taxis to take us to hotel and they had to pay the bill. The room we were given had no hot water, we had a cold shower on a rainy night, next morning same story, cold shower. I was pissed off, reception did not want to give us balcony room, we requested this 2 months ago, it was a real struggle, but we changed rooms. After 4 nights aircon packed off, they did not repair it, given fans instead. We had a dispute about a wrong price given to us for a tour, Reception manager ( Mrs Vidalau) was so rude, no customer skills at all, she just further irritated us. They charged other rooms phone calls on our bill, and no apologies given for any of their incompetence. The taxi driver (Subbash) who took us for the tours is really charming and he SEEMED so trustworthy, we left R 1600 rupees with him to give to the 4 restuarant staff mentioned below, but HE KEPT THE MONEY FOR HIMSELF, HOW GREEDY. Our group gave him 1000 rupees for himself, well we learned our lesson.

This hotel is situated right on the beach amongst 5 star resorts. It is a beautiful place, but management has no clue how to deal with customers. The food was lovely, no complaints here, they had a variety each night. The restuarant staff were really nice, Neema, Siranh, Vikken and Deelen, they really made our stay that much more memorable. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

we were there for 5 days and the loved the food(breakfast and dinner)
rooms are cosy and comfortable
the beach is really good nearby not many people
had a comfortable stay
they serve indian food and have some indian chef i suppose the staff are good and humble

We went for honeymoon and really enjoyed the trip

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eanupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We have visited many hotels in Mauritius, and would rate Gold Beach hotel very good value for money. While it is situated on one of the best beaches in Mauritius, you do not have to pay 5 star prices to enjoy the island. Do not try to compare it with the luxury hotels that surround it. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel; it is a small, cozy and very clean 2 star hotel with friendly staff. If you want clean comfortable rooms, good service and a hotel right on the beach, this is it. Food and drinks in this hotel were about 30 to 50% cheaper than in the 5star hotels. One of the best things about this hotel; they do not charge you $1000 corkage if you want to bring your own wine to the table.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SvB-CvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews