We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,084)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveler rating
828
151
53
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
151
53
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast to coast private pool outdoor shower in villa dining indian restaurant breakers bar our honeymoon presidential villa luxury suite main restaurant four seasons half board leading hotels of the world walk in wardrobe every afternoon beach staff sorbet
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

We had the honor to stay at Maradiva for our honeymoon between 26 September and 3 October. We also had an unofficial ceremony there, beautifully organised by Ornella, who was so patient with us and managed to make our dream wedding come true. Thank you Ornella, from the bottom of our hearts!

The staff was excellent! Beautiful people! always with a smile on their face and doing their best to make us feel welcomed, happy and enjoying our stay. We would like to give special thanks to:
Navine, excellent service and a beautiful person. He prepared us the most romantic dinner at the villa, also our waiter for our dinner the wedding day.
Lovy, the bar manager, always with a smile and very helpful.
Akeel, coast2coast restaurant manager, excellent service and always with a smile and a joke on his sleeve.
Kevansh, great service and always smiling. He advised us on trying the japanese restaurant. Thank you Kevansh. Great food! Applauses for the chef. Incredible!
Atish, the waiter from the indian restaurant, also great person and an excellent service.
Babita and her cleaning team, always willing to help and make us feel the most confortable ever, surprised us the wedding day with a rose petals bath.
Many thanks to Priscilla, the hairdresser. Se was so patient with me the wedding day and did her best to have me ready and happy with my hair on time :).
And also, to Jean Marie, our waiter for our last dinner at the hotel. They organised a very romantic dinner for us on the beach, an excellent waiter and very profesional.

The hotel is perfect for couples looking for a romantic getaway. The facilities are great, the landscapes incredible. Without a doubt the best hotel we've ever been to until now. We're already thinking about going back. Definetly, if we ever travel again to Mauritius, we couldnt go to a other hotel. We looked it up anyway, and there is no other hotel on the island, remotely similar to Maradiva. We werent sure when we booked it because they dont have too many pictures on their website, but now i understand why. Its like a hidden paradise!
Many thanks to all the staff! The hotel facilities are great, but the staff makes Maradiva incredible!

Room tip: Luxury suite villas are perfect for couples. Very intimate.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Alis S

I sincerely thank you for having taken your valuable time to share such a wonderful review here.

I will certainly be sharing your kind and encouraging compliments of the personalised service with our team. It is indeed our pleasure that you have chosen Maradiva Villas resort & Spa to for your wedding.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you soon in our little paradise.

Warmest regards always,

Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

Wow ... what can I say. Maradiva is a luxury resort and we felt like royalty! The accommodation is second to none and the resort is well looked after with staff visible pruning, cleaning and carrying out maintenance around the resort.

We had a couple of minor issues but they were dealt with quickly by reception staff when mentioned.

The resort is very much based around the private villas and to be honest there wasn’t much in the way of entertainment but that was solved by walking to Sands next door and having a drink in the bar there (it was also a bit cheaper than Maradiva)

We received cakes in our room every day and as it was our wedding anniversary we were provided with a cake and the room was decorated as a little surprise! We were also very impressed that we were approached whilst on the beach by the in villa catering manager and treated to a meal on the beach under the stars on our anniversary.

I’ve seen comments complaining about beach hawkers but we didn’t experience any issues. All beaches in Mauritius are public and there were a couple of hawkers around but they were very pleasant and didn’t bother us when we declined their wares. There was also visible security assigned to the beach area so we didn’t encounter any issues.

I must mention Krishna as a special thanks, my wife was taken ill with a bout of food poisoning I think (not from the resort I hasten to add). Krishna offered to obtain the services of a doctor but when we declined he personally obtained medication from the pharmacy for her. Also as we were due to check out at midday on our last day but weren’t due to be picked up until 6pm and the wife was still ill he went above and beyond and provided us with another villa for the day so that she could rest.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017


Dear Mark L,

It is a great pleasure to note your commendation of the exemplary hospitality provided by our team namely Krishna as well as your positive raves about the Resort facilities.

We take pride in our mission to delight all guests and nothing is more pleasing than hearing that our commitment to service quality is being recognised.

Please be assured that your lavish praises of the team will certainly be shared with them as motivation to continue delivering memorable experiences.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

After having a full day of dolphin trip, we decided to go to a nearby resort to relax and have a few drinks. We decided to visit Maradiva because we had heard that it was a nice local luxury resort brand in Flic en Flac. We arrived on Sunday, 8 Oct at around 3pm and was greeted with smiles at the lobby/reception area. The theme of this resort seems to be heading towards an Indian-Mauritian concept hence it gives an unique, authentic ambience. The concierge staff (Kenny) had helped us arranged a club car to take us to the bar. He was very detailed as when he realized that we had been waiting for a bit more than 5 minutes in the lobby, he had quickly asked one of his 'trainee' colleague from reception to drive us to the bar in a club car.

As we had arrived at the bar around 15.15, we sat ourself in a sofa at the bar. The service team did not really greeted us until we sat ourself down and saw us. After giving the menu, he left and never came back to take an order. We tried calling but seems that the team are busy, hence, we walked over to the bar counter to place our order so that we don't waste any time. Most importantly, when we had placed our order, we had repeated our orders 2x just to make sure that the service team had it right, we said 1 cocktail (zacocoa) 1x mocktail colada& 1x peach ice tea.

While we were waiting for our drinks, we went around the resort and had found that even though it is a 5 star resort, it doesn't feel like one because it was not well maintained. We were able to see staff walking casually, eating (while walking) and even smoking while walking around the property ( in front of lobby, near entrance). Honestly, as a hotelier, it is not professional at all. The property was dirty, there were rubbish everywhere on the grass/ sand area. The boathouse (water activity house) was dark and small. The sofa in the bar were old and had many 'cigarette' burn holes. The service team at the bar was really slow and relaxed, we saw a few service team & bartenders at the bar counter gossiping or talking amongst themselves as if it was their "free time". The guest toilet in the bar area was also being used by housekeeping staff. It makes us wonder if Maradiva trains their staff properly, very unprofessional. Plus, the tap in the sink seems like it is worn out (very hard to open, close tap).

Our drinks came about at around 15.55, 30 minutes after placing our order. In our opinion, it took too long to serve just 3 drinks when it was not busy at all as there were only 1 other family sitting the bar (who came later than us) and a few other couples (about 3-4) on the swimming pool area (who were there already before our arrival). When it came the mocktail of virgin colada was wrong because we were served a cocktail as it had alcohol inside. When we mentioned that it was wrong, they quickly replaced it to a non alcoholic colada. The Zacocoa was good, the flavor was well balanced but price was bit expensive Rs750. Perhaps it is because they use Zacapa rhum. The virgin colada was also great, sweet and creamy and price was average about Rs350.
We did not stay long as we did not enjoy our stay in Maradiva, so around 16.15, we went over to the bar counter again to pay because there were no one watching over the tables. The other family who came later than us also went over to the counter to pay like us. Funny thing is, when we told the bartender that we would like to pay, he asked us what we had in our order. It seems that they have lost our order slip as he did not seem to have any of our order in their system or perhaps they did not even put it in the system in the first place. Imagine, if there were many dishonest guest, claiming that they only had 1 glass of water when they had maybe a few glass of cocktails or a bottle or two, how much will the loss be to the F&B revenue. HENCE, we had to repeat our order AGAIN just to be able to pay.

Overall, Maradiva is not a resort we would come back to, service of F&B and Housekeeping team in particular are below any of the 5 star hotels standards. It seems that there should be more training for staff to be more professional or how to work in a 5star resort otherwise Maradiva will definitely loose it's reputation if guests are not satisfied with service. If we receive this kind of experience as a visitor, it is unimaginable to be staying here as an in-house guest. Hopefully, other facilities such as the rooms, restaurants are better maintained and that in-house guests have better service!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Destination F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Destination Feet,

Thank you for the time to share this detailed review on your recent visit at Breakers Bar.
On the first instance, I sincerely regret that your expectations were not met.
We are very concerned about the detailed feedback you provided us and rest assured that necessary actions are taken to correct encountered service issues that don’t reflect the Maradiva experience.

Once again, I wish to express to you my gratitude for your feedback, which will undoubtedly, inspire us to strive to achieve greater heights of excellence in the services rendered to our esteemed guests.

Yours Sincerely,

Michel FOUQUE
DIRECTOR OF FOOD&BEVERAGE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

The villa was beautiful, inside and out, and the beach is stunning. The spa facilities are very relaxing and the on-site restaurant menus at Coast to Coast, Teppanyaki and Cilantro are absolutely outstanding. the service is also very amazing specifically from Avi and Jogesh who gave us a memorable honeymoon experience. I would definitely recommend this location for newly weds.

Room tip: Room 101 is close to the restaurant and with this room the beach is literally your front yard.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neyney96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Naomi C

May I take this opportunity to thank you for having taken the time to share your memorable honeymoon with us.
I am glad to note that you experienced the hospitality of our dedicated team specifically Avi and Jogesh, appreciated the location of the villa, the stunning beach, the relaxing spa facilities and our outstanding services in our two restaurants.

We therefore look forward to welcoming you back again.

My warm regards,

Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

The villas at the Maradiva are incredible and actually like the pics on line. Stunning, large, clean and private. The service is great as well with nothing being to much trouble. The whole place is very quiet and if you use the gym or pools you’re probably going to be the only person in them.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank glennreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear glennreis

My heartfelt thanks for this fabulous review.

We are delighted that you loved our villas with their private pool, our gym as well as the services.

Your positive observations and praise are sincerely appreciated.

We shall look forward to warmly welcoming you soon among us.

My warm regards,

Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews