We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maradiva Mauritius 2013 - A holiday of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Maradiva Mauritius 2013 - A holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Maradiva Mauritius The Holiday of A Lifetime

Wien you come to a fantastic resort as The Maradiva and you want to give a well imformed Trip Adviser report, it would be tempting to try and find faults with this hotel. We all know that every hotel even the best ones will have something one dosent like or something that they could do better, but at this hotel these points were so negligable (for us) that they are not worth mentioning in this reaport. I am therefore going to describe to you all what a wonderful hotel The Maradiva Spa Resort Mauritius is.
First, how did we find out about this hotel? It was indeed our Travel Agent in Oslo .... Escape Travel. They were brilliant right from the start ... Coming with suggestions and ideas about how we can get the best value for our budget. In the end Maradiva was the choice and we were not to be dissappointed. And it all started when we arrived at the airport in Mauritius. We were greeted by agents of Escape Travel there we were given damp cold scented towels to wipe our hands and faces. We then received various information then given bottles of water and sent on our way in an airconditioned taxi. Plus they were there at the end also helping us with a fast track check in.

On arriving at the Maradiva just 45 minutes later our expectations ( allready high) were hightened even more as we drove through the wroth iron gates. It looked as though we were arriving in a botanical garden. Which is in fact how the whole 25 acres of this hotel seems ... The Botanical Gardens. Perhaps a few words of warning here ( and yes i know i said i wouldnt be saying anything negative) but this kind of luxurious colonial type of living is not for everyone, but if you can accept that all your needs will be taken care of 24 hrs a day then you will never want to stay anywhere else.

Our reception was wonderful . They knew our names and all the staff were very polite informative, friendly and above all very proffessional. We began to think Wow! We have arrived somewhere special. After registration, we were given more bottled water (you cant drink enough water on this Island) and then taken on a small driven tour in one of their eco friendly electric cars. On arrival at our villa the wow factor rose a few descibels more. I wont describe the villa for you because what you read on the hotels website is as exactly as it says.

From this very first day to our last, the standard of service, the quality of the facilities, and the gourmet restaurants were second to none. Our villa was cleaned every day to an extremely high standard. We received complimentary cakes every afternoon and bottles of water was placed by our bedside in the evenings. It was also possible to receive room service ( In villa dining) and the service and quality was just as high as in the restaurants.
I mustnt forget the hotel beach ... You dont need to go anywhere else for even here the service was superb! The beach butlers would reserve sunbeds for you and you receive yet again complimentary bottles of water. Here again you can order what you want and the quality is again excelent. Even the beach toilets were just (or almost) the same as in your villa.

Maradiva Spa resort a must for new lovers, old lovers, or those that want to revive their love and even for families. But as the old english saying goes, "you get what (and here even more) than you paid for. More than good value for money.

Extremely highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take the villas that are nearest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    108
    44
    23
    15
See reviews for
140
577
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Maradiva in December and it was very good indeed. The location is beautiful and the gardens lovely. The staff were a delight and nothing was too much trouble. We had a beautiful, large villa with a stunning view of the ocean and the bathroom, complete with outdoor shower ...wow! Unfortunately, the air con in the living room was very loud and not effective. The spa is top notch and all our treatments were excellent. We loved the Indian and Japanese restaurants but the main restaurant was a little disappointing, although breakfast was good. I wouldn't recommend the BBQ at the villa as it was expensive and the cooking really quite poor with mushy prawns and tough steak. The only niggle was that no matter how often we reminded the breakfast delivery waiter or the housekeeper that our daughter was with us everything was always for two! Overall prices for extras are rather high so beware. However, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday so thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well, my girlfriend and I have been home for just over a week after a two week stay at Maradiva.......we loved every aspect of hotel, the staff were without exception superb, all members in all departments.

Breakfasts were a treat, and we were welcomed with smiles and cheeriness every day. The executive chef was also on hand to ensure that his delicious pastries were just right. We dined on several occasions at the Japanese teppanaki restaurant which we found world class and a very entertaining way to have dinner. After dinner we often enjoyed a drink or two in the Breakers bar where the welcoming staff introduced us to some local cocktails.

The guys who managed the beach service were entertaining with wicked senses of humour, very attentive, and enjoyed a game of frisbee when they were not busy with other guests.
The guys at the boathouse were superb, they arranged for us to swim with dolphins, and a private catamaran charter, all wonderful, as well as the usual water activities.

We had a complimentary treatment at the spa as part of our package and were very impressed by the therapists who were very experienced and knowlegable and the calm environment. We visited the spa nearly every evening near sunset to enjoy a steam, sauna, a breathtaking plunge in the ice pool and a leisurely relax in the pool/jacuzzi. My girlfriend used the gym on several occasions and reported that the trainers were very friendly and attentive.

We loved our villa and the private pool both of which were kept immaculate by the friendly housekeeping staff who on several occasions fashioned an elephant, swan and fish out of towels to greet us on our return to the room.

We have stayed at a number of hotels in Mauritius, Maradiva is now our favourite, we are not strangers to five start hotels, at Maradiva we were made to feel very special, and increasingly we have been staying at 'villa' style accommodation witha private pool, what more can I say, we loved every minute of our stay.

There was a minor issue with the air conditioning, the Manager,Eric Molle, heard about the problem, he came and found us on the beach, and the problem was resolved, it was not a stumbling point for the holiday, it was dealt with discreetly, and satisfactorily.

We have every intention to revisit next year, and for those who are new to the island, in our experience the west coast is the best coast.

Thank you all, far too many to name individually.

A & D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strictly-5-Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thannhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

After a very stressful year of work, this was the best relaxation holiday for me. My own little peace of Heaven. The Hotel, the staff and the level of service was outstanding. My one week holiday was not enough. From the minute we arrived we felt special in every way. The warm welcome from the Manager Eric Molle and Stephanie was the best start of our holiday. After the unique tour through the Hotel and premises, we arrived in our private garden villa. Oh, my God it blew us away. We have never stayed in such a luxurious Resort before. The private Pool with day bed was a really nice touch to it. The genuine friendliness from the staff touched us. Everything - starting from the service in each different restaurant till the SPA was really great. Even Jackie the nurse who was needed to assist me :-).
The only thing left to say now .... BOOK NOW before you miss out. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

I am delighted to know that you felt special throughout your stay and were pleased with the various aspects and amenities of our resort including the ease of check-in, location of the villas, and the friendliness of our staff and even the attention offered by Jacky, our nurse.

We all hope that your feet is going better.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went here in the off season and it is lovely and quiet. As we both dive we chose this place due to the proximity of a dive centre (about 100m from the edge of the hotel)..

The diving was really good and the organisation of the boats excellent. The RHIB they had got a puncture but they just went out and hired a really nice hardboat instead..

The hotel was great, the food choice really good, and the plunge pools/out door living area really is worth it.. It was a pity that it was a litte too cold (about 16C) to use the pools that much..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both wonderful and memorable for you and your family. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The resort itself was beautiful. Staff were very friendly, but not very helpful at times. The indian restaurant within the hotel was amazing. The food at the retaurant down by the beach is not so great, overpriced and quality average.
The rooms themselves are gorgeous with private swimming pools.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010traveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

To hear of your experience while staying with us is a pleasure as your suggestions in every area are very important in allowing us to improve our service and exceed your expectations for future visits.

I am delighted to know that you enjoy the villas with thei private plunge pool, the Indian restaurant, recreation activities and the friendliness of our staff even if they were not helpful at the time. We have taken note of the areas that you felt were below your expectations and have adjusted accordingly.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I returned from a wonderful trip to Mauritius staying at Resort Maradiva. We stayed there from 20th to 25th of February 2013. I can confirm that each moment were enjoyable. The villa in which we stayed was very comfortable and well serviced. We could have a beautiful view of the sea and at the same time enjoyed our private pool. You also arranged beautiful Cuisines in your restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Indian food in Cilantro. All the staff were extremely hospitable.

We both hope we can come back again and spend time with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawood Ozair O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Dawood Ozair,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both wonderful and memorable for you and your wife. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
27.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Property: Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing