We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Truly wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I have written a review of somewhere and the only reason I thought about not doing is - do I really want to tell everyone else about such a lovely place - in case it's full when we would want to go back!
If you want a quiet place with relaxation and privacy - with great service but not obtrusive service - with enough space so that you don't feel crowded, great food and a chance to breathe again in a busy world - this is it!
We spent 10 days - it rained for maybe half of them and yet I would still say it was one of the nicest places/holidays we've had. We just wanted somewhere to recharge our batteries - this was perfect. I read and chilled and my husband water skied with a great guy called Christophe. When he wanted to try to get specific tv channels for watching an (apparently) vital football game or rugby they did everything they could to help and went the extra mile. On the beachfront we were so well looked after by Wessley and the rest of the guys - and the bar staff and restaurant staff were charming.
The villas are spread out enough that you never felt overlooked and could really feel secluded and the beach has more space than others in Mauritius we have been to.
Trying to think of ANY negatives - and all I can think of is that my husband moaned a bit about not being able to wear shorts for dinner (it's one of his obsessions - he feels he is on holiday then) but they weren't snooty about it - and he did wear flip-flops so felt OK about it!!!
In short - loved it and will go back

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    100
    40
    23
    15
See reviews for
134
550
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We picked Maradiva for our honeymoon and I am so glad we did!

As soon as I walked in I got the 'WOW' factor. Although we arrived late, right away the staff were so helpful and efficient with checking us in straight away.

When we arrived at the Villa, I was blown away. I knew our stay was going to be something very special. Everything was clean and neat and very spacious.

Throughout our stay we dealt with numerous members of the Maradiva team, including the beach crew, which made our time there very enjoyable especially by the attentive service of Wessley and the rest of the boys.

The Boat House team also never hesitated in taking us out on the boat or assisting us with other water activities.

The Japanese restaurant would have had to have been our favourite. The food was amazing, and again, the staff were so attentive.

Thanks again Maradiva
Mr & Mrs W

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_qoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Incredible service! Great on site facilities! Really enjoyed the tennis court and spa. The food was top notch. After staying there for ten days I wasn't sick of the food in the slightest... It really blew me away. The rooms are lovely we stayed in a villa with our own private swimming pool. The outdoor shower was a great touch. Tastefully decorated and very secure.
We got married here and the wedding planner was amazing! We didn't have a worry our whole stay. We did many day trips organised by maradiva which where great. The staff would happily help with any requests - champagne on the beach, dining in a tent on the beach, butler service breakfast/dinner in our villa. Highly recommend and would love to go again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwidetraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have seen many resorts during our stay, but this 1 totally blow me over. The setting of villas is excellent. Can highly recommend this hotel to honeymoon couples. Everything you need is at your own personal villa, with food and drinks being serviced from the restaurants, open private beach infront of you or you can just relax in your own private swimming pool!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Note: The hotel's infrastructure is breath taking, this is just our view of the service.

We arrived at the hotel, the staff opened the car door and greeted us with: "Welcome Mr. von Rechenberg". My first thought was: "Exceeding service will be awaiting us". Unfortunately I was wrong. The service at Maradiva is very inconsistent. From excellent to embarrassing. Let's start with the great experiences: The GM greeted us upon arrival, the driver we rented for a day to discover the island was fantastic, one guy in the bar (I think his name was Stephan) was extraordinary. But we expected consistency in this kind of hotel.

Here is one example of inconsistency:
On the second day we want to the beach to meet an impudent waiter at the beach bar. I looked at the drinks menu and saw that they offer all the things they offer at the main bar. So I ordered a banana milkshake. He says that they only have strawberry and chocolate. Fine, strawberry it is, even though I had a banana milkshakes there before. My girlfriend orders a drink from the menu. He says they don't have it. She orders another drink from the menu. He says they dont have it. Wow. At this point I get upset and show him in the menu that they serve everything they serve at the main bar. He then leaves and comes back and says ok. We wait over 20 minutes to get our drinks. When he comes back he complains that he had to to walk all the way over to the main bar to get our drinks. Well guess what. I don't care. If we are in a hotel like this and I order something from the drinks menu it is not my problem how you organise it. It's not a special request. I don't want to think, I don't want to care and I certainly don't want excuse myself for ordering something from the standard menu. Yes, it might be just a detail and it's only a stupid drink, but hey, I'm on vacation and don't want to argue and I don't want the waiter to tell me they don't have certain drinks just because he has to walk over to the main bar. There were maybe 4 guests in total, it wasn't like he was super busy.

The service was inconsistent through out the whole week: At the breakfast you had to tell your room number 3 times every single time, but at dinner time another waiter greeted you by your last name. You get the most beautiful table in the restaurant on the your last night but they bring the wrong main courses. They organize you a friendly taxi driver, but they send you to the wrong location. You book a personal driver to discover the island, but the car is not available on the day it was confirmed "due to a technical problem".

Executive summary:
All in all we weren't impressed by the service we received in a hotel of this league. Part of the staff was excellent, but honestly the other part of the staff ruined it. We expect consistency.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrin-vR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at this wonderful resort. Private, charming and utterly wonderful in every respect. Amazing service, staff,excellent food, beautiful location.Nothing was ever a problem and everything requested executed with amazing efficiency.I have traveled to over 100 countries worldwide and have never been to a more charming destination. We will be back in May for another experience of this truly beautiful resort and island. Top points: Food , staff and quality in every respect anyone could even wish for.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.We actually looked around several villas and they were all exactly the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know that our hotel stands out the most among the properties you have visited worldwide. We are pleased to read that the privacy, the charme, the amazing service, our staff, our excellent food and the beautiful location maid your stay utterly wonderful in every respect.

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again next May.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to Maradiva for our honeymoon in the first week of September 2011 for 10 nights in the Luxury Suite Villa. Maradiva seemed to tick all the boxes for us; private beach, luxurious villas with plunge pools and as it was a villa only resort meaning you would not get the cheaper hotel 'riff raff' people. It was slightly more than I was hoping to pay for the honeymoon but I can assure you, it was worth every penny!

Upon arriving in Mauritius, our driver was waiting with his sign. He was a great guy who gave us refreshing face towels, water and took our bags to our private car parked very close. We chatted on the way about Mauritius, the history, things to do etc. Upon arriving at Maradiva, everything was like clockwork. The car was parked just a few metres away from reception, staff were ready waiting, opening our doors, taking our bags and the manager sits down with us to briefly explain a few things and answer any questions. Within a few minutes we were on a golf cart being driven to our villa. The villa was in great condition and we could fault nothing. We were more than impressed.

I could go on and on about how amazing everything was but I'll try and just pick out the best bits.

- Beach was near on empty at Maradiva compared to the Hotel resort further along the beach whose beach was full of people. We loved the space and privacy.
- Amazing food! Great variety of vegetarian meals.
- The chef came out to ask about how our food was. We are vegetarian (no egg, meat, fish) and no alcohol and we mentioned this and that how there could maybe be a couple more vegetarian deserts. By the next morning, the chef had created a new specially made vegetarian menu which arrived at our villa containing lots of starters, main courses and deserts!
- The staff were amazing, every single one of them. They all seemed like good old friends within a few days. A few examples on how great they were:

The waiters on the beach who bring you over water and towels when you sit down knew our names on the first day before we even introduced ourselves, talk about personalised experience!

The great friendly waiters in the restaurants who would crack a joke now and then and make you feel special. Felt more like friends than waiters.

Staff going out of there way to say hi and seeing how things work (never intruded our privacy). On the day before we were going we even had some staff who seeing us wandering around came over to say bye as they were not working the day we were leaving.

All in all, the weather, location, accommodation, food, staff etc were all amazing. My brother is looking where to go for his honeymoon now and I'm helping him find something, that's what prompted me to finally leave my review. He'd like to go somewhere different to where I went but we are struggling to find anywhere that may be better!

Me and the wife always remember the amazing experience we had at Maradiva and would love to go back one day, maybe our 25th Anniversary. Obviously at this price (expensive but great value for money), for us, its something that may only be a once in a lifetime treat.

# Few Tips #
- Our flights stopped in Dubai on the way, don't do that, we found the total journey time becomes way too long and the airport staff in Dubai were not good at all.
- Use the bikes to go to the local town, We bought some things from there and kept them in our mini bar fridge to have at lunch. Works out a lot cheaper.
- There a fairly local place where you can do Quad Biking, definitely recommend it. Views are spectacular.
- There is great live entertainment at the bar. We normally went to the restaurant besides it and then relaxed on the beach. Only realised the last night that music was actually live and not just a recording playing - doh!

Many many thanks to everyone who made this an amazing experience for us.
Thanks Gurjeet & Harvir!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Gurjeet & Harvir,

I am thrilled that your honeymoon was both wonderful and memorable for you.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you for recommanding our resort to your brother for his honeymoon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of further help.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again, and why not before your 25th wedding anniversary !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
27.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Property: Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing