We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Maradiva Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I have had the fortune of staying numerous Small and Leading Hotels of the World. The Maradiva Villas are by far the best! Firstly, we have been so humbled as to how polite, courteous and delightful all of the staff are at this resort, right across the chain of command (special mention to Bils and Oliver at the Beach Bar and David on the Front Desk). The ambience and surroundings of the resort make it very intimate with the private plunge-pool villas being exceptional. Like a previous review, we were originally booked into the St Regis and also had our booking cancelled two weeks before departure. We too feel totally blessed to have discovered the Maradiva Villas. The food at all the resort restaurants' was exceptional and the waiting staff were always discreetly attentive. Felt very sad to leave and would love to return one day. Thank you Maradiva for making our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Villa 301 had a great view of the ocean but still remained very private. It was also centrally loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_S567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to read that The Maradiva Villas are by far the best Small and Leading Hotels of the World where you and your husband had the fortune to stay.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 942 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

** OVERVIEW **
We stayed here for 5 nights due to limited budget, and we cherished every moment!
From the moment we got to the resort we couldn't stop WOWing.
My recommendation - if budget allows, and you are looking for an amazing experience, you must go there!

We had the half board (+Honeymoon) package (Breakfast & Dinner)
As part of the honeymoon we got Spa treatment, Dinner on the beach (Under the Raj Tent) and Champagne breakfast.
Since we had no lunch, we took a 200 rupees 5 minutes taxi (hotel price, street 150) to the center of flic en flac, where there's a SPAR (supermarket) there you can get a lot of goods for good prices.

** FOOD **
There are 2 restaurants - Coast 2 Coast and Cilantro.
Cilantro offers asian food, we booked the Japanese restaurant where they make the food in front of you, it was REALLY good and really fun to watch, but due to not being big asian kitchen fans, it was our only time there.
Coast2Coast serves an AMAZING breakfast menu + buffet, it was literally our best breakfast ever! (I was a sucker for the Cheese Selection)
at Coast2Coast we also had our amazing dinners. We couldn't wait every night to try something different (I recommend the Lamb Chops and the cheesecake! )


Every day at about 16-17 we got some special cookies delivered to our room, it was really tasty and right on time for our afternoon coffee :)

** Water **
Every morning and night you get complimentary water in the room \ terrace.
Also at the beach you get water, the Gym \ Spa has water and the business room has water.
Otherwise - water costs about 200 rupees, but we hardly needed to buy.
(and the tap water should be fine aswell)

** Gym & Spa **
The gym is well equipped with new devices, and there's table tennis and tennis court.
Christian is very nice and there for assistance and guidance, he's always happy to help and advise!

as part of our honeymoon we received an hour spa treatment;
30 minutes of massage - after looking at the watch it turns out it was only 20 minutes, and it consisted of mostly petting us, so we were not so thrilled about it, plus - the room didn't smell very good.
Followed by a 30 minutes in a nice big warm bath tab in the same room as the massage, very fun and relaxing!
Maybe paid massage is much better, we however - were not satisfied with it.

** Service **
Service is very good, the staff is pleasant, welcoming, attentive and helpful.
Upon every inquiry \ request someone will come to the villa to handle.

99% of the time everything was perfect except for a few mishaps -
* One breakfast the service was INCREDIBLY slow - took almost an hour to receive a meal, which was even served cold. (The staff was very apologetic and made sure the following day service was better)
* On Tuesday night - not sure why - all the staff at Coast 2 Coast seemed to have changed, the waiter barely spoke English, couldn't explain the menu, and when I left my desert untouched (blancmange it was i believe) and explained to him that it tasted bad - the reply was "ok"...
* We asked to have our Champagne breakfast at the beach in front of our villa, it was confirmed twice by the staff, yet in the morning we woke up to an empty beach... after calling the staff someone came to take us to the table which was at the beach in Coast2Coast, They apologized for the misunderstanding.

** Villa **
The Villa was absolutely amazing - very spacey, fresh flowers every day, Shower, Bath, outdoor shower (fun for sunny days), big walk-in closet, Big terrace by the plunge pool also really fun if you are too lazy to walk the 100 meters to the beach and still want to lie down by the sun, or sit for afternoon coffee
We had an ants issue, but I think the whole island is blessed with ants and there's nothing to do about it... (also happened in a different resort we stayed in)
The villa was well cleaned every day and organized twice a day.

** Beach **
The beach is very nice and clean, there's enough sun beds (never was fully occupied) and in a very short walking distance from the villa.
Not too much space to swim by the beach, I guess it's too rocky.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 403, it was very close to the beach, the gym, Reception and Cilantro restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you have read any of my other reviews you will see we only ended up staying at the Maradiva because the St Regis reneged on our booking two weeks before we were due to stay as the hotel was not ready to open and thank goodness or we would never have been to Maradiva!!!!
This hotel is truly amazing!!
Everything about it is fantastic - Villas are beautiful, food is out of this world, staff are all so friendly and fun, spa is breath taking and the general ambience is prefect for a relaxing peaceful break in paradise.
We can not thank you enough for your hospitality during our stay!!!
If you are going to Mauritius you must stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sensational, luxurious and stunning is the only way to describe this place. The villas are out of this world, pay extra and get the exclusive suite villa with a faboulous ocean view, really is worth it. We had a huge lounge, huge bedroom and a fantastic twin bathroom with a private pool right on the beach, pure bliss.
The food is worthy of a Michelin Star, my fiancée and I are both vegetarians and the meals have been nothing short of exceptional, the deserts are soooooo good! Special thanks to Vikash in Coast to Coast, he leads a brilliant team, thank you to Akeel, Niraj and Koonal and all for the attention to detail and the constant smiles! Priya on front desk again is brilliant! All the 3 restaurants have ample choice and I still find it hard to read some of the reviews criticising the choice of food, madness!

The rooms are cleaned twice a day and Pamela would leave fresh flowers and decorate the rooms impeccably, so sweet!

The word "no" does not exist at The Maradiva, everything we asked for was catered for and done with a smile.

The facilities are brilliant, the spa is worth every ruppee, book well in advance. We went on a couple of excursions with Olivier at the Boat House, thanks guys, had a great time!

This is the best place for couples who want privacy and intimacy. Thank you to everyone who made this trip so special for us.

Room Tip: Get a villa close to the beach, we were in 115 and it was the ideal location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was excellent, the only thing wrong with it was that the heated pool was out of order during our stay and the weather was not great, so we didn't get to dip into our private pool. Best time to visit Mauritius is October. The other downside (personal) the bed was too hard, had to keep going to the aryuvedic spa for massages, which was fantastic.

The food was exquisite, service was phenomenal, would highly recommend it to any couple or young family.

Room Tip: My advice is that if you are in a group of adults/ teenagers, then any room location is good. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KishanShapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Greetings from Maradiva Villas resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know you were thoroughly pleased with our resort and that we were able to deliver wonderful memories for your honeymoon.

It is unfortunate that the weather at the time was not on your side, but with our world-class Ayurvedic Spa, various dining outlets, schedule of activities on offer and, of course, our comfortable villas; it seems you were still able to maximize your time spent with us.

Regarding the issues with the heated pool, be sure that everything as been fixed now. I hope this incident has not marred your perception of our property.

On behalf of all at Maradiva, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests and your compliments will serve as added inspiration to our team. I look forward to welcoming you again when the season has changed for the better.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed here for 9 nights and 10 days, and never got bored with the food, infact, we never even left the resort. they had everything from spa(decent only) water sports, amazing food, amazing location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverdragon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Greetings from Maradiva Villas resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know you were thoroughly pleased with our resort specialy with our various dining outlets, schedule of activities on offer and, of course, our comfortable villas; it seems you were still able to maximize your time spent with us.

It is unfortunate that the Ayurvedic Spa did not reach completly your expectation. I hope this isolated incident has not marred your perception of our property.

On behalf of all at Maradiva, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests and your compliments will serve as added inspiration to our team. I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although a relatively new management team they have the level of service just right. Friendly and attentive, but knowing when to leaving you alone to enjoy your time spent on the beach (we were looked after by Oliver in the beach bar) both the restaurants served excellent food and the breakfast options were varied with nothing being to much trouble. The barman Naz and his wife Rachel were especially helpful with local advice and great service. The Villas are kept scrupulously clean with some Guests never leaving their villas for the whole trip, this gives the resort a sense of exclusivity as you think your one of the few people walking around or using the pool or beach. Whilst most visitors were on their honeymoons I would recommend this Resort for anyone who wants to totally relax and be spoilt.

Room Tip: The lower numbered Villas i.e. 101, 201, 301 are the closest to the beach although non are more that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkpDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, please accept our sincere appreciation for choosing Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa.

On behalf of the team at Maradiva, we wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to write to us and to convey such gracious comments.

Your comments are not only a welcome endorsement of such belief, and a great testimony to associates’ professionalism and dedication, but will also serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of Maradiva.

It is always a great pleasure to read through notes such as yours, for they help us in our continued commitment to see to each and every need of our valued guests and to exceed their expectations, so that they may keep enjoying the finest services in the renowned tradition of the Mauritian hospitality.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,633 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,254 reviews
27.1 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $429 - $1,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing