We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six days in heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

It is difficult to conceptualise a resort such as the Maradiva in Mauritius! During the Easter weekend of 2012, we chose to celebrate my daughters birthday. We were fortunate to have 4 villas at the end of the row (407 - 410) which provided us with the privacy we needed. Each villa is superbly designed and fitted, with wonderful luxuries such as the chunkiest of bath robes and the nicest toiletries I've used at a hotel. The service was faultless - nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff members - from the the time we were warmly welcomed to the time we reluctantly left at 6 am - after being served with room service breakfast!! The food - sublime, facilities - exceptional quality and the beach - pure heaven! The outdoor showers - phenomenal experience! A word of caution - this is not your average resort, such awesome experiences come at a price!

Room Tip: We stayed at the furthest end of the resort - which was a bit of a walk to the main dining areas and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday and your daughters birthday was wonderful and memorable for you and your family. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday or celebration.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 913 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

I spent 6 days in utter paradise for my birthday with my family. The setting is unbelievable and the villa's are something out of a fairy tale. The staff made my birthday dinner on the beach incredibly special and the food was incredible. The resort is primarily for honeymooners but my family and I had a superb time! The little touchs from the afternoon sweets to spa rituals really make the entire experience at this resort one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

The staff really made our stay very special - we will definitely be back soon!

Thanks for an unforgettable experience :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly, please accept our sincere appreciation for choosing Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa to celebrate your birthday.

On behalf of the management team at Maradiva, we wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to write to us and to convey such gracious comments.

Your comments are not only a welcome endorsement of such belief, and a great testimony to associates’ professionalism and dedication, but will also serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of Maradiva.

It is always a great pleasure to read through notes such as yours, for they help us in our continued commitment to see to each and every need of our valued guests and to exceed their expectations, so that they may keep enjoying the finest services in the renowned tradition of the Mauritian hospitality.

As per your wishes, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending our honeymoon at the resort. The Maradiva looks beautiful on the website and as a result, and having regard to the cost, we expected it to be something special. However never in our wildest dreams did we imagine it would be as good as it was. I am not a person who has a difficulty in finding fault with hotels, staff or food. However throughout our stay neither of us could find a single problem. From our first attendance at reception until our departure every member of staff seemed to be intent on ensuring that we enjoyed our stay to the fullest extent. The quality of the food in all the areas of the hotel was superb. At breakfast every day we were served with a platter of fresh fruit with up to 12 varieties. The waiters in the Coast to Coast restaurant were very attentive with particular mention for Akeel who was anxious to ensure that we were eating enough as well as having us sample various local dishes.
The Cilantro restaurant provided a totally different culinary experience with a mouthwatering array of Asian cuisine.
The bar staff were equally attentive and adept at making a significant number of cocktails.
The villa was beautiful with a good sized and delightful plunge pool as well as a fabulous patio area where dinner could be served if you wished. There was a supplement for this but it was well worth it.
I think on every day of our stay we spoke to the manager who appeared to be very genuine in his, and his staff's efforts to make the stay the best it could be.
It would be fair to say that the resort was quiet during our stay but there was nothing to suggest that the level of service and attention to detail would be any different if it were full.
This was a truly wonderful experience which hopefully in the future we will have an opportunity to repeat.
Brian McConnachie and Catherine Smith

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank SmithMcConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

we spent 5 days in this lovely resort (we had the villa number 211) and it was an unforgettable experience. The beach is magical, the food excellent in both restaurants, extra clean, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly! We recommend it strongly! Last (but not least) they let us keep the room until 8 o clock in the evening on our last day, because we were flying out of Mauritius at 23:00, with no extra charge! Thank u very much Maradiva for a wonderful experience in Mauritius, we can not wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday was an unforgettable experience for you. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Maradiva for a week for our honeymoon and it was amazing!!! I would highly recommend it to anyone - it really is a "couples" resort, having said that there were a couple of families with children staying there when we were there. We were glad we chose a private villa resort over a hotel resort. Hotels located up the coast such as the Hilton, Sugar Beach and Sofitel all looked really busy when we cruised past on our various boat trips, whereas Maradiva was so peaceful and quiet and there were plenty of sun beds available on the beach (which is also patrolled by security).

The service is fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The price of alcohol, in particular wine and champagne, was very high, but we had expected that. Our taxi driver on the way over told us to stop and buy local rum (highly recommended) and some local phoenix beer and we stored that in our mini fridge which was a great idea.

The villas were great - the outdoor shower was great and the private pool was nice and a good temperature. I loved the large walk in robes in each villa too.

One of the highlights for us was dining at Cilantro!! What a fantastic restaurant!! The food was wonderful, and my partner - who can be fussy - said the curry was the best he had ever had! Coast2Coast was nice too and we really enjoyed the breakfasts and being able to eat 'alfresco' and watch the ocean in the morning.

The resort's honeymoon package was great - a discount is applied to each room and there are bonus inclusions with the spa, have a champagne breakfast (champagne is so expensive so I chose to drink cocktails most of the week!) and dine in one of the white tents on the beach which are beautiful and private. I also had a facial at the spa which was nice but also very expensive.

I also just read a recent review that said the landscaping inside the resort was poor and very scrub-like?! That is nonsense!! The gardens were immaculate!! Most days we walked around the resort we would see over 20 gardeners working away and clearing the leaves, raking the sand and the plants are amazing! I enjoyed walking around and looking at all of the different gardens, it was a standout feature of the resort.

Definitely recommend swimming with the wild dolphins which the resort can organise for you! Being from Western Australia we have seen lots of dolphins before, but we swam with at least 30 dolphins in Mauritius and the water was so clear and it was a great experience. Also recommend hiring a speedboat to go snorkelling down near Le Morne - the snorkelling is much better there than the reefs near the resort. We both love the water so it was ideal for us and my partner also spent an afternoon wake-boarding in Tamarin Bay which he loved.

The resort is not cheap - if you're reading the reviews and have made your own enquiries you would already know that - but it is beautiful, peaceful, relaxing and pretty much perfect!! I would love to go back again!!

Thanks to all the staff for making it the perfect honeymoon :)

Room Tip: All villas are great - I preferred not to have a beachfront villa (which are more expensive too) bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

To hear of your experience while staying with us is a pleasure as your remarks in every area are very important in allowing us to improve our service.

I am delighted to know that you felt that it was beautiful, peaceful, relaxing and pretty much perfect throughout your stay and were pleased with the various aspects and amenities of our resort including the Cilantro, décor of the gardens, recreation activities and the service.

We have taken note of the areas that you felt were below your expectations and have adjusted accordingly.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your honeymoon. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We got married here 2 years ago & it brings back wonderful memorise. Theres no better place to stay, everything & all the staff were simply amazing...If you've book to go here, your in for a dreamy holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you were able to take wonderful memories of a honeymoon in paradise that you can cherish forever, we are thrilled to receive feedback such as yours.

Thank you once again for your stay with us. Congratulations to you both and we truly hope to welcome you back to Maradiva to celebrate your next anniversary.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

On arrival everything is very impressive. Stunning public areas, manicured gardens and villas with private pools well laid out along the (public) beachfront. Inside the villas are pleasant, but our outside seating area was desperately in need of updating.Cushions dirty and faded, furniture battered.
Butler service and room service seemed quietly efficient. What let the place down was the totally inefficient and unfriendly staff serving in the two restaurants. The food was fine, if not exactly 5 star, but the service was woefully inadequate. Not enough staff to serve the few people there, and even then extremely slow - we waited an hour for food after ordering one evening. This was the case in both eateries. Seeing as we had paid for ultimate luxury we found this a very irritating disappointment - twice a day.
Highlight of the trip was the swimming with wild dolphins in the bay in front of the resort - magical.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastroBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you were impressed on arrival by our resort .

we are thrilled to receive feedback such as yours. The suggestions you have provided are a crucial element in fine-tuning our services for our future guests.

we are continually finding ways to ensure your stay is as luxurious as possible and meet the needs for your ideal romantic getaway. Since your stay, we have unveiled a improve the efficiency of service throughout the resort. We regret that you were disappointed with your experience in our restaurants and hope that this incident will not tarnish your overall impression of our property.
Thank you once again for your stay with us. We truly hope to welcome you back to Maradiva for future holidays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,558 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,538 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,223 reviews
22.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $446 - $1,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing