We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to The Sands and are already planning our next visit. It is like coming home, as you arrive in reception and take in the wonderful view, you have to check that you are not dreaming. The management and staff are so welcoming, many of them remembering us from our previous visits, everyone making us feel so special.
We were fortunate to have married in this island paradise three years ago, those memories are ones we will treasure always, we were made to feel so special. This visit, the management and staff arranged a romantic beach meal for us to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary, this was totally amazing and unexpected .
The Sands is the perfect romantic resort, the intimate surroundings and atmosphere were important to us when choosing a place to get married in. We hope this will never change.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom-lee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    407
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
301
1,556
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The service was excellent from the beginning of our arrival right through to our departure.
The staff we could not fault in any way. They went beyond their duties to make sure our needs were always met. Our holiday wouldn't have been what it was if it wasn't for the staff. We cant rate them highly enough. From senior management to bar staff and waiters and cleaners.
I had some clothing I needed repaired and this was done without any hesitation and was returned within an unbelievably quick time frame, which left me totally astonished at their efficiency.
The room for a 4 star hotel was well above average. Bordering on 5 star accommodation.
The bed unbelievably comfortable.
Air conditioning was good.
Any queries were attended to immediately.
The decor was neutral which enhanced the location setting.
As for location, the view entering the hotel was beyond belief. We have been to many hotels and have yet to see anything as spectacular as this entrance view at The Sands.
The three restaurants that operated were exceptional for food quality and service. Our thanks goes especially to the Food and Beverage Manager, Tristan de Chalan for his understanding of our needs, and for how he went over and beyond his call of duty not only to us but to so many other guests. Especially guests who were getting married at The Sands.
The best experience we had was how the staff made us feel totally part of the 'family'. We made so many friends and had the most incredibly relaxing time.
The worst part of The Sands experience was the day we had to leave!
The worst part of our trip was having to fly 'Air Mauritius'. When we return we will never fly with them again. The flight was incredibly crammed and the service disgusting. The total opposite of what we received at The Sands. We were led to believe that this was a promotional flight, if so, we feel sorry for Mauritius as it wasn't an experience any passenger would recommend and it put a dampener on arrival into Mauritius.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackyD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I were supposed to be travelling to Thailand but at the last moment we had to change our arrangements due to the civil unrest. We decided on Mauritius and on this Hotel because of the good reviews. We were certainly not disapponted! We have travelled extensively across the globe and this is one of the nicest Hotels we have ever stayed in. Unfortunately, we had to transit through Johannesburg to get to Mauritius due to the late change in arrangements and because of this - we arrived in Mauritius but our luggage did not! One bag arrived the next evening and the second bag in three days with half the contents stolen! However all through this the Management of the Hotel could not have been more helpful to us. They arranged emergency clothing and toiletries, a taxi to Flic en Flac to replace medication in the lost bag and kept in contact with the airport several times a day to track our missing luggage. All of this done with a gentle smile and a feeling that nothing was too much trouble for their guests!

The restaurant was good, as was the standard of the rooms. We had regular complimentary iced juices and snacks bought to our sunbeds on the beach and even our sunglasses cleaned and polished! All water sports were free as were the boat trips which were extremely well organised. It should be noted that Internet Access in the Business Centre was also free - how many hotels offer that now!

There are very few hotels in the world that we have visited that we would definitely say that we want to return to - but this is one of them. As we left, we were planning our trip next year.

I cannot recommend this Hotel and the Staff highly enough, but in a way I don't want too many people to know about it as it is such a treasure!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devontraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Great hotel for couples - not aimed at families with children, very comfortable with a wonderful setting looking out to the lagoon and Tamarin village. Wonderful infinity pool. Great staff - could not be more helpful. Water sports are free - water skiing, laser dinghies, windsurfers, kyaks etc. Food was excellent we were there for 12 nights and expected to eat in the a la carte restaurants quite often as we are both "foodies" - the main restaurant was so good that we did not feel the need to pay the extra for a la carte. Never the same menu during our stay some nights it was buffet style others full table service. We ate out one night at Domaine Anna in Flic en Flac - very good and well worth a visit - not very expensive. One downside is that it is too far to walk into Flic en Flac / Wolmar and the bus does not come as far as the hotel - about half a mile to the nearest bus stop - but taxi into the village not too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tresserve, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

If you're looking for a vacation in Mauritius with all the qualities of a large hotel in a quiet setting, this is the place to go.
All the large rooms face the ocean, (close enough that you can hear the sound of the ocean as you're falling asleep) and there are a number of free activities to keep you occupied if you want to do more than just lie on the beach waiting to see the perfect sunset offered every evening.
This is not an "all-inclusive" hotel, which is a good thing because it means there aren't throngs of rowdy guests getting drink all day long.
We got stuck there because of the volcano, and the management did all they could to help us enjoy the delay (they reduced their rates, for one thing, while the big hotel next door raised its rates!)
I'm now hoping to return one day with the whole family!
(P.S. I used my phone to take the pictures, so they're not the best, but it gives you a good idea)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JST073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varesians
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Fantastic place, fantastic people, excellent food, beautiful landscape. When you go please ask for Vikran and the rest of the team in the boat house ( superb); Giovanni and the gang ( fantastic people) and very good ping-pong player at recreation center; Steven / Catherine / Micheal and the rest of the staff at the bar( they are so nice - great coffee), at the restaurant Nicole and Azair ( great help and always smiling); also ask for Lalita at the SPA ( heaven massages and to finish , the staff front desk ( permanent smilers) , incredible. I can tell you this hotel is the best offer in FLIC & FLAC. You must try it!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaresiansBirdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

To summarise a great hotel, very good value with good staff but food that misses the mark On the Pro's this is a small (93 room) open style hotel built on its own small bay. The restaurant and bar are all open sided and face the ocean with great views of the lights of Tamarin at night. Sitting in the bar with a light breeze watching the sun burn orange as it dropped over the horizon was a real delight. You can walk along the beach past the other hotels in this area as you go to Flic En Flac and for my money the Sands is as good as any of them but the room rate is less than half of the Hilton!! Great value. The hotel has a great infinity pool also with a spectacular view over the bay and when we were there less young kids than the other hotels. The rooms were large especially the bathrooms and whilst not quite at the 5 star level still very good and clean. I travel around the world with my work and I know quality hotels and this was certainly one of them. The staff were for the most part very good and helpful although a little more training would not have gone amiss but hey youre here on holiday not business so if there is a short delay who cares. Now for the con's and it is all about the food. It all looked great 2 tables of cold buffet and a table of hot, generally well presented and inviting. The hot food could however be quite poor. We had an Italian themed night and I ate the worst Lasagna I have ever had. On Indian night the food was bland and all tasted similar what a disappointment. The big issue though was the hot food which was served in hot dishes which meant it all got steamed. Veggies like mush, fish like rubber and meat that was tough all served with non descript bland sauces. Why do this when they could run a bbq on the beach (as they did for weddings) or just cook in front of you. On one occaison I saw a cook mass pan frying fish and putting it into the hot dishes so asked her to cook me a piece fresh and for half the time she cooked the rest. It was fantastic and easily the best hot food I had all the days we were there. The annoying thing is that this is all so easy to fix and unnecessary. My last example was the hot breakfast, what a disaster. Sure you could get eggs cooked fresh but the back bacon was oven cooked, grey and sitting in a quarter inch of oily water in the hot tray yuk. Next to it was waffles and french toast again steamed, soft and worse than awful. By the end i had learnt to ask the chef to cook me something fresh and things (for me at least) improved. Management your main guests were French and they will not put up with this cooking.
So would I go again? Well actually yes I would it was great value, small and intimate with very friendly staff but the hotel itself has everything and the best views by far in Flic En Flac. Fix the food and it would be outstanding especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davo123Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,421 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
868 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing