We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 101 - the Ocean Suite is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I think we are the first to review a stay in the fabulous Ocean Suite (room 101) at The Sands so I will focus mainly on the suite.
We arrived at the Sands at about 10:00 and were greeted with cold towels and a friut juice. The formalities took 30 minutes including a guided tour of the beautiful facilities and then we were shown to our suite.
It is huge! See the photos attached for details. Being ground floor it has a grassed lounging area outside as well as a covered terrace with sitting and dining areas. There is another terrace with chairs and a table outside the bedroom.
Inside is a lounge/dining area, huge bathroom with 4 person (!) shower and a large bedroom. Seperate aircon for both main rooms.
A bottle of wine and a fruit bowl awaited us.
The suite is right on the beach with uninterrupted views out to sea and La Morne in the distance.
I agree with the previous posters who have raved about The Sands. The location is ideal. At the end of the road, it's lovely and quiet. Having walked passed the Hilton, Sofitel and The Taj The Sands has much the best feel about it. It is smaller and more intimate. It blends beautifully into its' surroundings.
The staff are great, greeting us with a smile and remembering our names. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our flight on Emirates was at 23:30 so we had to leave the hotel at 8pm. They allowed us to continue to use the suite right upto that time. We effectively had 4 full days for 3 nights payment.
We were very sad to leave after those wonderful days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed @ the Sands from 10-01-09 to 24-01-09 and I have to say it was as close as the idea of paradise as it gets, in my books.

We'd never been to Mauritius (or the Indian Ocean) before, although we have travelled to the Caribbean a few times, and have a good knowledge of nice hotels both in Europe, US and the Caribbean. What we found at the Sands was probably the best experience we have had to date.

We flew with Emirates (booked through Mercury Direct) via Dubai, from Manchester and the outward flights passed with no problems, great entertainment system on both Airbus A330, and the fact that we had booked our seats in advance on the net made it a little more comfortable especially on the night flight from Dubai to Mauritius, where we had bulkhead seats.

Once arrived, the baggage claim was a bit slow like the passport control, but once outside we started feeling the scorching heat and humidity of the place. We were greeted by a Mercury (through Cathay Tours) rep, and we got into a minivan after having changed Sterling with Rupees. Overall in 14 nights stay (cash+hotel drinks and daytime meals+excursions+3days car hire) we spent about £1200.

The hotel transfer went without a hitch and we started savouring the traffic around the central plateau town, and the very changeable weather.

Once at the hotel, the first impression was fantastic, the view from the Reception was breathtaking, and the zesty orange essential oil smell accompanied us throughout the stay.

The Customer Relation Manager was very helpful, showed us our room (229, great room Tamarin wing) and we got the complementary honeymoon package too, very nice!

The first couple days we relaxed at the hotel (we had stocked up on water and drinks to put in the minibar on the way from the airport, suggest you do the same!), discovered the huge portions of the snacks from the bar (from then on we only ordered 1 pizza to split between the 2 of us whenever we were at the hotel during lunchtime), the pricy drinks (thankfully we don't really drink alcohol!), and the very very good quality of the a la carte and buffet menus.

Something we noticed early on was the abundance of very pretty and colourful birds who even come to your balcony and get had fed if you let them. There were also big lizard-like mini iguanas, crabs on the beach (very small sand-coloured ones) and fish right on the doorstep to snorkel at will.... nice!

We did the glass-bottom boat free of charge, which was nice and where we saw many types of fish and coral.

Hotel facilities were top notch, service very attentive and friendly, and although we had a safe (and we used it) in our bedroom, you can tell you could trust the staff there. One episode confirms this: my wife once left her brand new mobile by the pool one night, only to realise at 6am the following morning what she had done. She went straight down to reception, and the mobile had been handed in by the pool man, to which we gave a nice tip as thank you for his honesty.

Food was mostly very good, with abundance of fish and good quality dishes, in all buffets and a la carte menus. The only buffet we didnt particularly enjoy was the Indian themed one, but I guess it was only due to personal taste. We had 2 meals at the Spices restaurant, the Giant Prawn extravaganza which left me a tad disappointed (for the price): it's not that the food wasn't good, but the main course wasn't as I hoped it would be. All other dishes were really nice though. From that experience we decided not to go for the Lobster special meal, which was even dearer. What we did have though was the honeymoon meal at the gazebo, with full floral decoration and that was a meal to remember. Every single dish was very nicely presented (we both chose the fish menu), service was great, the sunset was mesmerising. Afterwards the Sega dance show topped off what was our last night of the holiday.

Entertainment is very low-key but if you want to get involved, there's lots to do! Played very good table tennis games and also beach volley games, and the wife and I even did a couple sessions of aqua-gym, very invigorating!!

The room we stayed in was a very very good size, good aircon, great bathroom and shower, good service. We never got the bed decorated which seemed a bit unusual, but you can't have it all.

The spa we used in 2 different occasions, once for the steam room and sauna (was a rainy day anyway) free of charge, and the second time was for the 30 minutes free massage as part of the honeymoon package. I wish we had done this earlier in the holiday as we would have probably booked more sessions, it was so good!

Overall, the experience in the hotel was very good! That's it for the hotel review, check the forums for my holiday review, as we basically visited the whole island!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank TheMinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

It is for us a "paradise" in any view and the most perfect hotel for summer holidays which we ever had and this since more than 40 years and at many famous places round the world.
We have stayed there 3 years in a row and we decided already to stay again next November/December which is our preferred time because of very comfortable temperatures and humidity.
To express and describe all the very positive impressions it would take pages, but some we want to mention with short words as follows.
- All the guests we spoke to used the word "paradise" as well and did love it totally.
- The Hotel never appeared crowded, not the infinity pool, the restaurants, the bar, the white beach with plenty of room even sunbeds are available later than 10 o'clock.
- The 92 deluxe rooms are all the same size (except one suite), very spacious, very good equipped and clean down to the detail all facing the ocean respectively Tamarin-Lagoon with its mountains. All rooms are well positioned in a half-circle and thus all have ocean view from the terraces on the ground floor and balconies on the 1st and 2nd floor through a nice garden with bushes, trees, flowers and palmes.
- The hotel service was just perfect, highly professional and very polite. The staff and the boat-house boys - nearly all the same over all the 3 years - impressed us very much with their friendliness and were incredibly attentive. You could feel that it came from heart and never was made by will or excessively
Not only the white sandy beach was raked daily, as well we got our sunglases cleaned, iced towels and a small snack every day.
- The food was very good and varied. Every meal was an agreeably surprise from à la carte, entre deux menues up to buffets which were creolic, indian, italian, à la chef, etc.
We loved as well the table service which was very attentive and in case of a buffet even your plates were carried mostly to your table.
- The Music entertainment: There is a very discret live music from 2 musicians who changed daily during the dinner time until 20:30h and then next to the bar until 23:00 h a band plays slightly louder music of course as well for dancing. Sega and Indian dancing shows are presented once every week and are impressive.
The hotel does its best to entertain without causing problems by too loud music.
- Sport activities are quite a lot available e.g. waterskiing (twice a day), windsurfing, sailing, tennis, pedalo, kayak, petanque, beach volley, watergym, snorkeling and of course there is a glass-bottom boat as well - all is free of charge and coached from an enthousiastic group of 7 "beach boys" operating from the "boat house" at the beach. The boats and all the other sport-equipment are in a good condition.
There are more sport activities to be payed at very resonable rates such as diving, scuba diving, dolphin watching, big game fishing, bicycle rental, trips by boat, etc.
- Totalizing our impressions and experiences including facilities in the Sands Resort we can rate all with the best mark of 6,0.
Last not least we can really recommend the Sands Resort as an absolutely fantastic hotel with true value of money.
Within our three weeks stay we never heard any of the other guests complaining about anything.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank uteBluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Sand Resort and Spa and found all staff to be of exceptional standing and the location to be excellent.

We wish to thank all staff again for delivering unique, smiling and friendly first class customer service that far exceeded all our expectations.

It is obvious that you are working hard to preserve the friendly and smiling characteristics of the beautiful island people and protect the historical and past island high service standards and, further develop a unique, welcoming, and exceptional modern
international service standard that can only be experienced in Mauritius and further, the Sands Resort and Spa. You are fast becoming leaders in your industry and truly at the elite International level.

We wish you the very best for the future and hope to join you and your staff at the Sands Resort and Spa again at a later time to experience and celebrate with you the teams forever growing successes and achievements.

We highly recommend ths Sands Resort and Spa Mauritius.

Paul Marshall
www.aioc.com.au

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PaulMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We have just returned from The Sands having spent Christmas and New Year there. This is our second visit, we went there last year and the second time was even more impressive than the first. We have been to Mauritius many times and it is the first time we have returned to the same hotel. The staff are totally fabulous, gentle, polite and soooo helpful. The rooms are lovely and the views superb. We particularly love the fact that it is Mauritian owned and therefore has a real 'family' iintimate feel unlike so many of the 'chain' hotels. We had specific needs and the hotel met them without question. All the guests we spoke to during our stay were also totally loving it with most describing it as 'paradise.' The only danger with writing such a rave review is that we may not be able to book our rooms for next year! Credit crunch or not we are determined to return!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank penny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We loved this hotel so much last year (2007/2008) that we booked again for this Christmas 08/New Year 09. I didn't think it could get any better, but it did.
The personal touches, the warmth and helpfulness of the staff and the fact you feel part of the family, is only the icing on the cake.
I could not find a fault and filling in the questionnaire at the end, where you rate your stay is the only hotel for a 2nd year running that all marks where 10 out of 10 and a pleasure to fill in. EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DodgerEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

All the good things that have been said are completely true about this place. We don't recognise criticisms about unfriendly staff as that was NOT our experience at all.
Busybee11 gave a good detailed review recently and we share the same memories and experiences.
Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon so memorable. (9th-20th November 2008)

Our only comments about the resort are that it's quite a walk to the nearest civilisation (apart from other hotels) so if you like to wander from bar to restaurant to harbour etc on an evening you could be disappointed. We did know this beforehand and on a couple of evenings it would have been nice to walk out beyond the hotel. However the cocktail bar is excellent and the urge soon passed....

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jes_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
921 reviews
19 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,827 reviews
19.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $234 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing