We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham, england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice quiet holiday”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel looking for a nice quiet relaxing place to stay. Our other choices were La Pirogue or Sugar Beach - both of which we found were rammed with noisy children. (My wife works with children every day, so likes to get away from them) We had a really relaxing quiet time, and felt looked after. Following a long flight via Dubai, we were met at the airport and quickly taken to our minibus and as we were the only ones going to that area, we set off straight away - our own private transport. On arrival at the hotel, we were given a cold towel and offered a welcome drink. We were taken straight up to our room which was nice and spacious with a balcony that looked out to sea - as they all do. There were always sunbeds available, either by the pool or on the beach. Wherever you camped out, the waiter would find you with a tray of cold drinks (slush) on a regular basis - all free. Every afternoon a room boy would leave shots of flavoured rum and a small snack in your room. In the evening, the bed would be turned down and a couple of chocolates left on your pillow.
The boathouse staff were very helpful, offering free tuition and advice on using the free watersports equipment (sailing, water skiing, wind surfing).
Evening meals seemed a little random, as some nights there was a buffet, others it was table d'hote and one night it was a mixture of both! Most of the food was good, and although i'm a fussy eater (apparently) I managed to find something to my liking every day.
We hired a car for a couple of days and went to Port Louis (where the driving is like the centre of Paris) saw the seven coloured earths and waterfalls, and also the 33 metre religious statue at Grand Bassin (though i'm not religious, it was interesting)
I went diving a few times and was well looked after (the dive school is at La Pirogue). I booked at the boathouse and was collected and delivered back to the hotel. You can get as involved as you want with the preparation of your gear, or you can just leave them to it.
We enjoyed our holiday and would return there, no matter what others say about it.
You can never please everybody!
We found everybody to be friendly

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trev9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    403
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
294
1,548
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I should be honest right from the start and say that we don't really do resorts, and I'm a foodie so good food is a big part of holidays for me - but we wanted somewhere with a great beach to stay after our week at 20 degrees Sud in Grande Baie, and Sands does have a lovely big beach, and as resorts go it's pretty small (about 100 rooms I think) so we thought we'd give it a go.

Good things - lots of activities e.g. tennis, water skiing, table tennis, petanque, snorkelling etc. The beach, the pool. If you were sitting by the pool mid morning someone would bring out little snacks and slushies. They were kind enough to be flexible with checkin/out times.

Not so good things - the food (very limited choice and poor quality), the cost of drinks / lunch (The food at 20 degrees Sud was waaaay nicer and yet cost less). The dated, bland looking rooms, the 2 single beds pushed together to make a double. The staff were mostly friendly but at times not very helpful (it says you can hire bikes so we asked about this, the front of house girl didn't know if you could or not so she said to ask at the beach house, where we were told that they did have bikes, but that we couldn't have them for more than 20 minutes because they were very old and in bad condition so it wouldn't be safe....kind of made us feel like they were trying to trap us there to eat their overpriced lunches rather than ride up to Flic en Flac...)

There are always taxi drivers just outside the hotel which is handy, but being charged a tenner to pop up to Flic en Flac and back and the strangely time restricted bikes meant the 40 minute walk up the beach was the only reasonable option of getting out of the resort.

I heard they are closing for a few months to do some refurbishment so hopefully that'll sort the rooms out, so if they could improve the food too it would be a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: There is no sound proofing at all so ask for a top floor room to limit the noise pollution from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mr. HRDean,

The Sands Resort team wishes to thank you for reporting your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We understand that food was an important part of your holidays and we are sad to read that you were not satisfied by the food that was offered at Sands.

Lunch is served at 2 places in the resort, one is the PinkPepperCorn restaurant which is an ‘ a la carte’ restaurant found by the beach and one is the Dolphin bar where light meals like pizza, burgers, salads, pastas, paninis, sandwiches… are available. We would have been glad to learn about your preferences when you were staying with us so that the chef could have cooked the food or a dish according to your taste.

We are very sorry about the fact that the bicycles were not available at the time you requested to rent them. We had a maintenance issue regarding the bikes and management decided that it is better to have them fully revised first before being able to rent them. At Sands , the safety of our guests is our top priority. We apologize for not being able to provide you with the bikes during your stay.

We are most pleased to inform you that Sands is actually renovating all its rooms, restaurants, kitchen and the lobby reception. We will be reopening by this middle of August.

You are most welcome to pay us a visit if you elect to come to Mauritius again and you will be agreeably surprised by the beautiful changes that would have occurred.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We got back on 25 May after a week HB. We liked our reception, the size and comfort of our room and the general setting. But it is a very compact property which must feel a bit congested with full-occupancy. We had heard and read so many good things about the hotel, we were shocked by what we experienced, and in particular the dining.

We ate well at breakfast. However each day the dining room was set-out differently so there was always an element of a hunt - where have they put this out today? Or indeed, has it been put out at all? Yesterday there was muesli, today there isn't. You have to request it and someone happily obliges. Why today are they only putting out strawberry yoghurts? Please can I have a prune yoghurt, and yes, someone happily obliges. The fruit display moves from one end of the room to the other - it is an element of chaos - certainly there is no consistent plan. There is a fixed cooking station for excellent fresh egg service! There are also other pre-cooked offerings but they are unimpressive in quality and presentation and always served on a cold plate.

But dinners were a disaster area. Hotel Information in our room told us that dinners would be buffet though occasionally the chef would prepare a table d'hote. Friends last year had two table d'hote in a fortnight. We had no buffet service at all. We had 7 nights of table d'hote offering a choice of starter, a soup, a choice of main course, and a choice of dessert. The food quality was generally poor, although they had been given the most grandiose description. Much of the food, including soups, came to the table scarcely warm. There were some, but few exceptions.

On night 3 we discovered that there was also some "fresh cooking" going on! The breakfast hot-food counter had about 4 staff and in addition to their service of soup, they were able to prepare a different plate of food every evening, as if as a supplement.to the table d'hote diet. This was never announced to you, and waiters couldn't tell what they were offering. You had to go and look - and because waiters didn't have it in their table-order it invariably meant you were looking at the prospect of eating pasta or some deep-fried stodge after dissatisfaction with your main course. It was at this counter that I saw a senior waiter using her bare hands to pick up and drop croutons into half-filled soup bowls for service - that certainly didn't inspire confidence in standards!

The Head Waiter, aware of our unhappiness tried to help overcome it by offering to have something cooked on request. For my wife a freshly cooked chicken breast with salad was the culinary respite of her week.

And by the way, the poor house wine at £20 a bottle can be matched at £4 per bottle at the Cascavelle shopping mall (bulk imports of lower quality South African wine, rebottled in Mauritius). Sands is NOT where fine wine meets haute cuisine!

I would certainly never return to this hotel. I would not recommend it. More to the point I would positively recommend you to go elsewhere - perhaps to La Pirogue, just up the beach!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inkpen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Inkpen15,

Thank you for spending you precious time to relate your stay at Sands Resort & Spa. We understand that you were not happy with the food particularly during dinner time.

We are glad to learn that you ate well at breakfast time. It is regretful that you did not adapt to the changes brought to the breakfast buffet every morning as the chef wanted to bring new things every morning and this was appreciated by all guests as you may read in other reviews. As you happily stated yourself , everything you have requested have been successfully attended to. Every morning, we have a fresh cooking egg station of which our guests have always praised us and also may hot food offerings such as waffles, pancakes, baked beans, roasted tomatoes, bacon, potatoes etc..

We are very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the ‘table d’hôte’ and that you prefer the buffet style. Our guests generally prefers the buffet but they also found that the quality of the meals served at the ‘table d’hôte’ is far much better as the meals are cooked individually. In addition, you rightly mentioned that there were live cooking stations where guests can order other hot foods like pastas and pizzas. It is very unfortunate that you were unaware of these additional offerings at the beginning of your stay. We are glad that you could let us know what you and your wife wanted for dinner in advance and the chef was happy to cook the dishes according to your preferences.

Kindly note that at Sands we take the hygiene standards very seriously. Rest assured that the corrective measures have been taken regarding the waiter and training in this aspect have been given to refresh all waiters about the high hygiene standards that should always be practiced. Thank you for drawing our attention to this issue.

Wine in every hotel in Mauritius is generally expensive because of the high rates of taxes imposed of all imported wines and spirits. We are very sorry that you could not find the wine that you were looking for at Sands.

Please note that the hotel is now undergoing a renovation which will end by the mid of August this year. We are glad to inform you that all rooms , restaurants , kitchen and lobby will be refurbished. New and up to date buffet equipment including one dedicated for keeping the plates hot will be installed.

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments and you will be most welcome to visit us anytime you are in Mauritius to see by yourself the changes that would have occurred at Sands.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have just returned (one week ago) from a 12 night stay at the Sands. This was our honeymoon but as we were married over 9 months ago, we were not on the honeymoon package. We chose the Sands partly due to the excellent reviews on trip advisor.

We had an absolute fantastic, relaxing honeymoon and now are in love with beautiful Mauritius.
This hotel was fabulous. Lovely pool area, nice design, spacious bar area and room, really nice private beach and a nice spa area (we both had a very good massage while there). My husband also liked the small gym and thought it had everything he needed. From just near our apartment we had lovely views of the hill at Tamarin Bay (being in the Tamarind Wing) and also although Flic en Flac is a long, straight beach, the area near the Sands is a bit curved which makes it visually more interesting. The furniture in the rooms is a bit tired, but we had everything we needed and as the room and bathroom are so big and everyone has a balcony and walk in wardrobe, it feels like a small apartment. Also, the hotel is about to under-go some renovation work, and so It'll soon be updated.

We didn't book any activities with the hotel - we spent the first 5 days relaxing and hired a car for a few days - and among other things, went to see Port Louis which was a surprisingly well-developed city with a bustling lively market (worth a visit!), went to beautiful Chamarel, saw the waterfall, seven-coloured earths and rum factory, and a bit of the National Park, visited Mahbourg and Blue Bay where we went snorkelling (the snorkelling there was great!)- and also went to many of the beaches along the south west coast. There's not much to see in Flic en Flac though it's worth a walk along the beach (though a very long one!).

However, I gave this hotel a 4 rather than a 5 for a few reasons - having read all the reviews I was expecting the hotel to be very warm and friendly but the food to be disappointing. Infact that wasn't our experience... We thought that the breakfast was really good and the buffet was large with plenty of choice - you could have plenty of fruit and veg if you liked, There's quite a lot of Creole food, curried food and casseroles and fried food, rather than Modern European but it's nice for a change. Occasionally the meat was a bit tough but that seemed to be when we came late to the buffet! I also liked having so much choice for desserts as we wouldn't have one at home. We thought there was something for everyone - though maybe not for people with food intolerances and/or people who want to eat plain food or steamed food (but we can eat that at home!).

The service level was very good - the turn down service in the evening with chocolate in the room, the snacks bought to the you during the day, the being greeted each evening in the restaurant etc. However, I wouldn't call all the staff that friendly. There were some who were smiley and jolly e.g. the 2 serving omelettes and breakfast and the staff doing the frying and cooking in the evening were also smiley, so was the night porter who laid out our breakfast at 6am in the morning (on 17th May!). However, we found it a bit strange that the Hostess in the Tamarind restaurant introduced herself to us every single evening but seemed a bit phased if we asked her an unexpected question. We know who she is after a few days and she knows who we are too! We also found it strange that almost no staff asked us questions, such as "did you have a nice day." There was only one lady who pours the coffee in the mornings who did once. Some of the cleaning staff were friendly and the people in the boathouse, & Veroshnee who greeted us on the first day. The service was very good but not very personal. We were often asked if everything was ok but it felt as if they were checking we wouldn't complain rather than showing interest in us, how we were enjoying ourselves and what we thought of their country! Perhaps it's cultural or to do with the language, because although English is the official language - they speak Creole and French first. But, having read in our guidebook that Mauritians are very friendly and curious and often ask a lot of questions- we expected that. Maybe they are trying to leave their guests alone on purpose - I certainly don't think they meant to be unfriendly.

When we arrived at about 9am/10am in the morning, we had to wait until 1.30pm for our room to be ready which mean't digging our beach clothes out of the bottom of large, heavily packed suitcases and we were very tired from an overnight flight. We didn't expect this in this kind of hotel, and I've never experienced this before when booking a package. Also, a couple of times we had a problem and left a message at reception but this wasn't dealt with, i.e. our sliding doors were broken, which one of the cleaners noticed when our stay was nearly over.

The bar area is nice and spacious, there's a large choice of cocktails they are not expensive with the current exchange rate - at 260-270 Mauritian rupees, that's less than £5.50 - better than London prices...
A lot of couples come to the Sands and although the chairs in the bar are comfortable, they are so large that once you sink into them you can barely hear your partner from across the table. There aren't many sofas available where you can sit together. Similarly in the Tamarind restaurant the tables are long and you feel quite far away from your partner. We didn't meet any other guests there. Maybe it's because we didn't go to any excursions (but then other people didnt seem to be talking to each other either) or maybe it's because something about the place - it's very spacious and relaxing, you don't go up to the bar - someone comes to you, there are no lifts where you bump into other people. Or maybe it was just the other guests there at the time were not particularly chatty and they are mixed nationalities. It's nice that they have evening entertainment but the music is often quite slow except there was a good disco on one night.

I enjoyed waking up to the sound of the sea and the birds coming up so close.
Overall we had a fabulous time. One thing I'd recommend to the Sands, is to have a weekly party where other guests can meet and maybe even sit together, also more sofas where you can sit together or chairs where you can sit closer to each other.. Possibly none of this bothers the other guests. It is a lovely, relaxing place - and inspite of a few gripes - it's one of the best hotels Ive ever been to - just it could be a bit livelier and the service could be a bit more personal. We would come back for sure!

Room Tip: The Tamarind Wing is nice to be near the beach. People recommend room 234.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noellewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, the bar ,pool and location extremely good. The rooms also very good although the beds are very hard. A holiday is about location, sun and food. I must say that each of the three nights that we ate at the half board restaurant were consistent - consistently bad. I have never in my entire life - and I'm 67 now - had three nights of inedible food on the trot before . What a shame it could really be a must go to hotel but sadly not.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard M,

It is with great sadness that we read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for taking the time to express your disappointment regarding the food. Our chef has been made aware of your comments. We think that you were not happy with the ‘table d’hôte’ which is a set menu compared to the theme buffet that offers a wider choice of meals from entrées to the desserts.

We thank you to give us the opprtunity to inform the Trip Advisor community that Sands is actually undergoing a refurbishment that concerns mainly the rooms, restaurants, kitchen and the lobby. Rest assured our famous theme buffet will be reintroduced with new creations from our chef when the resort will reopen in Mid August this year.

We are glad to read that you were very satisfied with the hotel in general as well as its pool and bar. The location is great and your room has a unbeatable sea view. You are most welcome to visit us again after we have reopened so that you can see by yourself the nice improvements that would have been brought.

Kindest regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Since my wife ( filet _oh) has already reviewed as below, I would like to add in a few missing points. The concierges' ( 2 of them one with a Catholic name like Felix or similar, in a black robe) really helped us in finding a dentist and that too a good one. They also went through the trouble of calling up a few clinics to check on the dentists availability. My wife is 7 months pregnant and had swollen gums with a swelling in the jaw on day 2, requiring dental assistance. When we inquired about the dentist the next day, never did the Guest relation or Reception staff ask what the issue was or ask the house doctor to be summoned to do a preliminary check. All they were capable of, is pointing to the concierge. This happened on 2nd May around 9 am.
As mentioned by my wife, asking us to go to the boat house to do our booking was pretty unprofessional. A more courteous way, would have been guiding us along with her to the boat house. Such small things, which we compare with Guest Relations personnel in Indian hotels, make us believe that Indian Hospitality is far better and advanced and/ or Mauritian hospitality industry needs better training facilities.( I used to audit the hospitality industry, which is why such small things matter)
When asked for a round to flat pin adapter, I was told to go to the reception, rather than the reception coming to me. The adapter was never available. The only thing that was available at the reception and actually came to us in our room through Veeroshni on day 1 , was the wifi passwords.

On losing our flipflops ( mine were left on the hotel lawn), the least they could do to make us feel better, was to offer a pair of house slippers, but I guess that is expecting too much from a Mauritian hospitality personnel.

Finally, leaving aside circumstantial untoward incidences, I would surely recommend this property to TA readers. The rooms are excellent and big, the bathrooms even more spacious. Toiletries are ample and of good quality. Beds were soft and pillows at par with international standards. Towels are excellent and Beach towels amongst the best I have seen.The infinity pool is amazing and the resort has a very positive and lively vibe to it.

P.S. Pray that you don't require medical assistance ever on a holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms incase you need an enclosed balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 811riteshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr. RiteshHK,

Thank you for reviewing Sands Resort on Trip Advisor and the whole team was deeply honoured to have been able to serve you and your wife during your visit to our island.

It is very regretful that you were not taken care of by the reception staff according to your expectation when your wife suffered from swollen gums. You and your wife was directed to the concierge because the latter is responsible to seek for medical assistance whenever required as he has all the necessary information to assist you efficiently.

Any booking for the free activities of the boat house requires the guest/s to be present in person as there are some formalities to be done by the guest himself or herself. We are very sorry to learn that you have preferred to be accompanied by one of our staff who would have been glad to do so if you would have asked for it.

Please be informed that it is not a coincidence if Mauritius has been awarded with the Best Travel destination for 2014 for the Consumer Choice Awards. We would refrain to compare ourselves from the hospitality standards of other countries like yours but our hotel schools are doing a great job by providing well trained and qualified hotel ambassadors every year. You should be surprised to learn that international hotel groups and cruise companies are very fond of Mauritian hospitality staff specially because we are blessed to be bilingual. We , at Sands we do regularly have trainees from foreign countries in hospitality management from well recognized hospitality schools/universities including your country.

Concerning the adaptor, it is very unfortunate that you did not receive none but you could have called from your room and we would have been very glad to send one to your room when it would become available.

It is sad that you loss your flip flops on the hotel lawn but kindly note that hotel guests and residents remain responsible for their belongings and are regularly reminded not to leave theirs unattended particularly on the beach which is public in Mauritius. If you would let us know that you wanted a pair of slippers , we would have been more than happy to offer you one.

It is good to mention that whenever a guest request to see a doctor , there is a private hospital/clinic which is located at about 5 minutes by car from the resort. A doctor can be called at any time 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. We wish to reassure all Trip Advisor community that medical assistance whenever required is immediately attended to and is given top priority.

We are very pleased that you liked the spacious room, the lively Infinity pool and the very soft linen provided in your room. Thank you for recommending our resort to the members of the TA community. Please note that hotel is now being refurbished and will open its doors by the mid of August this year. We all hope to be able to serve you again when you will visit our island in the sun.

Regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and the stay was fabulous. Room is extremely spacious ( It was the Ocean view garden room) with breakfast included. The check-in was easy and Veeroshnee extremely sweet and helpful. I was hungry after the flight so she told us our restaurant options and let us lunch before checking us in. That, IMO was extremely considerate. The property is gorgeous and perfect for a honeymoon/ romantic getaway. The infinity pool is a sight and the beach is a bit rocky (like all others) but perfect for a walk or a couple of hours of sunbathing.
The only lunch we had was at Pink Pepper Crab which was unpretentious but delicious.
The front office staff however, are not as genuinely helpful as they appear. When we asked for travel suggestions for the following day they were all eager to help until they found out we had a rental car and then suddenly nobody with the exception of the Concierge knew anything about their own country!! Couple of Guest Service staff only wanted to know if we'd gotten a tour of the property (which we hadn't) and didn't care for too much as there was a bit of a medical emergency but not once did they check on our health just kept insisting on the tour. When we asked them to help us reserve a slot for snorkeling (which we had been instructed to do so) instead of simply making a phone call/ escorting us to the boat house (we didn't know where it was) they asked us to do it ourselves.
Also beware of a flip flop scam on the beach. When me and the husband decided to take a little walk on the private beach, we left our flip flops by the sun decks and 20 minutes later they were gone! There was a captain (or security of some sort) standing right where we'd left them but he 'saw nothing'! That was upsetting as it was only day 2 and things were getting flicked! There was another guest who also suffered the same mishap the earlier day. We checked with the front office time and again but no one had turned the flip flops in.
The breakfast buffet was a fabulous spread. It was more or less the same but the staff (chefs and waiters) are extremely helpful and are always looking out for you, remembering your egg choice, beverage choice in spite of running a full restaurant.
There's ample parking and is easy to get to places from the resort too provided you have your vehicle else it's best to stay indoors. The pool is gorgeous and they have a variety of water sport activities that are complimentary and you can spend your time indoors without wondering what else to do.
We would recommend this property without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filet_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,400 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,443 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing