We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise with a View to DIE FOR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise with a View to DIE FOR!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a first one for us, cannot say anything negative about this Hotel. The friendly staff, too many to personally mention! Food was excellent, the seafood BBQ was amazing! You even get your sunglasses cleaned beside the pool! Nice touch! They come around the pool / beach with snacks, frozen drinks. At around 5 p.m. there is a surprise in your room, more bites, treats, plus the local rum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    397
    71
    26
    14
See reviews for
286
1,521
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Sands beginning end of October - beginning of November and overall I would say it was a good experience. Once we arrived we were warmly greeted by the staff and the hotel's manager with a nice cold towel and a glass of sparkling wine. We were checked in immediately and we were upgrated in a Ocean suite and had a lovely design on the floor of our room and very tasteful welkome fruit basket. The staff in this certain hotel is very nice, very sweet and helpfull.Anything we asked was answered and carried out. Service I would say was excellent, one of the best we had so far and trust me we travel a lot. Amazing heated swimming pool, great views from every little part of the hotel, and our suite, amazing gardens and plantation, with live band every night and a variety of activities you could participate. Some things as negative: I would say cleaning in the room wasnt great, I could see the same stains in the bath tab, crums from things we ate and sand from the beach bag, all these from the first day, for as long we were there. So I would say cleaning is basic, changing towels and making the bed. Also a very weird smell was coming from the second bedroom like something had died in there, a bird or something. We had to keep the door closed. Internet was really bad, veryyyy slow it would take at least 3-5 minutes to open a link and also they have internet cut (certain things you can surf!!! and by that I mean simple pages like news channels, other hotels, travel tours, taxi companies etc.) We are in 2013 they should get over it, worst free interent ever. TV was terrible almost everything in French, only one channel to watch English spoken movies. We had 3 raining days with bad internet and no movies. Food was fine althought we weren't mesmerised, we only ate in the buffet, it was as the suplement they were giving per person for the other restaurants was only 500MR/per person, so thinking that the cheapest starter was around 450MR, didnt leave us much of a choice. On the other hand food and cocktails in the bar was great.Good value as well and the staff trying new coctkail recipies. Very nice and helpfull was the changing room they offered as our flight was leaving quite late, so we could enjoy ourselves swimming and eating by the bar and then have a quick shower, put our clothes on and take our taxi to the airport. That was great service and something for all hotels to adapt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTSHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Arrived at the hotel with good welcome. Room and bathroom spacious. No mirror in room. Need to move stuff to bathroom where no dressing table available. Noises from interconnected room are heard.

Evening buffet rather average with few varieties. Morning breakfast buffet excellent. Lots of choices and it varies from Mauritian to European food. Good job the morning buffet team. Lots of birds in the morning taking breakfast together with guests. Nice to look at but not hygienic.

Staff in general are friendly although there are some variations in the level of courtesy. Service from the tea serving team at breakfast time is below level. No courtesy.

Evening entertainement rather poor and making sleepy.

Overall hotel rather small and cozy. Easy walking around without losing way. Nice view from entrance of hotel and from swimming pool. Only 1 central swimming pool available.

Room Tip: Rooms from both wings are same. Lots of trees on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinurobinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean, warm, good location, nice beaches, good program, good food, some excellent wines.

This is about all I have to say, what would one like to hear more. However, the settings of the review menu require at least 200 characters before it can be sent..... OK, Done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leol733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were there at the Sands Resort and Spa for our honeymoon in July 2013 and the hotel was just a perfect choice.

This has been a long delay in us writing a review, but i am more than happy to state in our thoughts atleast now. The ambience and rooms were great, quite closely related as depicted in the photos. The staffs and restaurants and kitchen within were very approachable anytime of the day. Infact the chefs also prepared special food when stated with our choices, which was very impressive.

Not to forget the spa and private beaches and swimming pool was also a fab experience!

Will plan to visit once again and a definite recommend to anyone who wants a private and valuable time for themselves!

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are great on the first or second floor preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_p_aruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

we stayed at Sands in Oct 2011 and again in Sep 2013
It is one of the best resorts on the island. We have 2 children, and we were well looked after.

The chef has changed, and the food was much better this time. Too many choices, and too much food. The staff were very helpful, and welcoming. Special thanks to the morning breakfast team, and the sports coordinator for aquaaerobic every morning, and to the management, for making our stay memorable. If you have children, this is the place to be, small, and very private. We will definitely be going there a 3rd time.

Warm regards,

Avinash, natasha and kids

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coyips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent 6 nights at Sands Resort as part of our honeymoon in November 2013 (making this a long overdue review). We arrived there slightly early and were shown to the shower room to freshen up while waiting for our room. Our room was a deluxe on the Albion wing ground floor which we found both comfortable and spacious enough for our needs. Cleanliness of the room was about average though.

The staff were generally courteous although we found there to be some variation in their level of friendliness. The staff did not appear very conversant in English and it seemed to us that French speaking guests and return clientele appeared to get more/better attention. However, the restaurant staff and boathouse personnel deserve special mention; we found them to be particularly helpful.

The food was average although there is some variety. There are a lot of birds in the restaurant (and on the shady areas on the beach) and they can be very persistent in trying to liberate food from diners plates/table. This upset my wife a bit. We also found the price of drinks to be slightly exorbitant. On the upside, again I will highlight the service provided by the restaurant personnel. We found them very patient and accommodating when we had to make several last minute changes to our honeymoon dinner menu.

The view from the hotel and its pool is just beautiful.The beach sand is very soft and its an easy walk to town from there. During our time there, the guests consisted of a largely adult crowd with only few couples with children (which suited us just fine). The evening entertainment was rather tame and ended pretty early. There was a DJ one night and a live band on others. There were also Sega dancers on one night which was nice at first but got a bit boring after a while (in our opinion).

We had a couples massage at the newly renovated spa which was a mixed experience (I liked it, she didn't). However, we both enjoyed using the free hamam and sauna. The complimentary (non motorized) water sports are also worth a try. We went on the glass bottom boat once which was a rather pleasant diversion. Although. the coral around the beach appears to be either dead or dying but the view and the associated animal life becomes much more interesting when you go further out.

All in all, a pleasant experience. Not sure if we will stay there again next time we're in Mauritius (there's plenty of choice on the Island) but it was a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, a room on the Tamarin wing may be preferred to avoid the noice from the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corin_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing