We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WoW !”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When I was planning for my holidays in Mauritius, I shortlisted a few resorts 2 months back and kept checking their current reviews. I was amazed to see how many "Excellent" reviews Sand Resort and Spa was getting, it was too good to be true. I booked two rooms form my family.

After 8 hours flight from New Delhi, we were tired. When I stepped in the Hotel the view of the sea from the reception was mind blowing. We were taken straight to our rooms for check-in. This was the start of Wow's. I had requested for a interconnected room and we got it. The staff at front desk was very courteous and warm. Rooms are far more spacious than they look in the pictures.

Food : Our package was half board so our breakfasts and dinners wet included. Food in the resort is "Awesome". Breakfast Buffet has a wide choice. Dinners have a theme like Mediterranean Indian Ocean, Italian which is repeated after 14 days. When you check-in Hotel staff ask you for your food preferences and allergies. Look for the "Omelette Guy" this guy is amazing and after the first day he would remember your omelette preferences.

Dolphin Bar is well stocked, I spent a lot of time tasting the local Rums and rum based cocktails. Food menu at the Bar is damn good too. Try their Club sandwich, Pizza, Beef Burger, Dholl Puri (local food). There is a live band post dinner.

Hotel Activities like Beach volleyball, Tennis, aqua gym are really taken care of and are good fun. One of these activity was cycling to Flic En Flac village, the hotel guy with us took us to the best of street food in the village. My son and me had great time cycling.

Downside - Internet ! Although it is free you have to punch in your username and password many times in a day. For those using iPhone save the User ID & Password as a keyboard shortcut, that will save a lot of time. The internet connection is not secured and my dropbox sync refused to work till I switched on my VPN. For some reason Instagram (photo app) is blocked ! Again if you use VPN you can overcome this.

We asked for late check out and we were allowed to stay till 5 PM. WOW !!

A special thanks to all the staff of Sand Resort & Spa. You guys were very warm, welcoming and caring. You guys made our holiday special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maninder_Pal_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    407
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
301
1,556
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for a week in this lovely property with an infant and must say , I didn't think it would be so comfortable. They had the infant bed placed in our room before our arrival. Had a in room check in , which was wonderful after the long flight. Our room was on the ground floor with a great view of the pool and the sea. Rooms are spacious and ESP. Liked the bathroom with its twin sinks and bath tub. Toiletries , not so great.
Pool is very clean and overlooks the sea which is a beautiful sight. We were half board with breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was the same every day but its a large spread so one can have scrambled eggs one day and an omelette the next for some variety ....it tends to get boring though.
Dinner was varied and quite good. Special mention here for the lovely desserts section, a lot of variety and delicious too. Dinner buffet had an Indian section every day but except potatoes and Dal , they didn't get any Indian dish right.
Over all a very pleasant experience with friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable stay.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room if you want direct access to pool and beach. Esp. With kids to play in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manni567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!
This hotel is smaller and more 'boutiquey' than many of the resort-style hotels around. The location is stunning, and the entertainment areas are situated around a massive infinity pool.

We were travelling with two children (3 and 5) and we were thrilled to be told we'd been upgraded to their beachfront suite - wow! 2 bedrooms, lounge and massive wrap-around balcony! Not to mention the 5pm Aperitif and snack brought up every evening, compliments of the hotel!

The check-in done in your room, really impressed my husband, whereas i was blown away by the ability to choose the 'flavour' of bath products we wanted to use for the week!

This hotel is all about the "small touches" e.g., midmorning frozen fruit juices get brought around the pool and beach for everyone, then a midday its a small snack (e.g. a bite-sized pizza or sandwich etc) and lets not forget the man who walks around the pool and beach cleaning your sunglasses!

The buffet breakfasts and dinner were great, and the choices were varied and plentiful, but special mention must be made of the bar food - it really was exceptionally good! Without fail, every single day, my daughters ordered a platter of mini-potatoe-samoosa's! yum!

The bar area itself was very classy and nicely done - set in the gardens alongside the pool - it had a real clubhouse feel to it. The cocktails were reasonably priced (for a hotel!) with a different Cocktail of the Day on special.
Lots of activities to do, and all the water ones were free - glass-bottomed boats, skiing, kayakking etc. Also, to note that the dolphin excursion only happens just in front of The Sands hotel, so we could just stand on the balcony and watch them!

There is no kids club or play ground, but the hotel staff were wonderfully accommodating to our two - including a birthday cake and special table decor for our eldest's big day! So much so, that they really didn't miss it - who needs a swing set, when there are sandcastles to build!
There were a handful of other kids around, but 99% of the people there were couples, and i think this would be a fabulous place for a wedding / honeymoon/ romantic getaway!
Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: If travelling with 2 or more children - try get upgraded to the 2bedroom suite - HEAVEN!! Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carmenbaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in an absolutely jaw dropping location. You can gaze at the beach indefinitely during your whole holiday. Staff is friendly and the free canoes and other boat trips at the beach is a very nice addition.

Don't let the other highly positive reviews in this section fool you into thinking that the Sands Resort is a five star luxury hotel. It isn't:

- the amount of beach space and (especially) pool area space per guest is VERY limited. It's pretty crowded, with kids running around, one having to fight for empty sun beds near the pool, etc.;

- the food was OK but not inspiring and nothing to write home about;

- the 'night entertainment' was truly a disaster. If management reads this, please get rid of the night entertainment altogether! Music selection is horrible (eg. the live act had the most kitsch songs ever, the DJs were even worse - i dont think people come to Mauritius to have to endure Beyonce and othet terrible 'top 40' songs at max volume). The music was very loud and if you are an early sleeper, you really won't like it as it can be heard throughout the hotel (even our room, which was at the other end of the restaurant area);

- the 'clientele' of the hotel is not what I was expecting to see in Mauritius. A significant portion of the guests had tattoos (always a telling sign, I find...!);

- the 'card' system for the towels somehow made me feel like a criminal (or that it was at least the presumption of hotel management!). I would have expected a system like this in the Copa Cabana Club in Benidorm, not in a high class hotel in Mauritius;

- rooms are not of a particularly high standard (although they are quite comfortable). It's a shame that very few of the rooms have uninterrupted sea views (in our third floor room, we could see trees but hardly any of the sea beyond the trees);

- cleanliness was so so. Plenty of dead insects in the bottom of the lamp bulb in our bathroom.


Having said all the above, the hotel is indeed set in a paradise-like setting and this makes up a lot of the faults described above. Also, this hotel is pretty inexpensive compared to other options in Mauritius, and is half board. So overall probably not a bad option if you can't afford or dont want to splash on one of the better hotels on the island. But don't let the other (slightly over-enthusiastic, I find...) reviews lead you to believe that you will get a five star hotel for the price of a 3/4 stars - what you pay is what you get!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RedJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Sands Resort and Spa from the 25th May. It was as good as all the reviews say, we loved it and will hopefully get to return in the future, we will certainly be recommending it to our friends and family. The holiday started well when we were met by the staff as soon as our car pulled up at the hotel, we were offered cool towels and shown straight to our room where we were checked in. The room, 219 on the first floor in the Tamarin wing had an amazing sea view which I hasten to add all the rooms have although some may be a liitle obscured by the palm trees. The room was large and very clean, the bathroom had supplies of shower gel and shampoo and very large white towels. The bathroom not only has a bath but a separate shower to. The room was cleaned daily and the bedlinen changed every 2 days.The food was varied and we always managed to find someting we liked, the chefs at breakfast made amazing omlettes and waffles that were large enough to feed a family, The infinity pool was beautiful and clean and was never crowded, there were always free sunbeds available either around the pool or on the beach. The staff work hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay and nothing was ever too much trouble, any request was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The watersports equipment available free of charge at the boathouse was great and the staff there were helpful and accommodating. All in all a wonderful holiday with many happy memories.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corka59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was in Mauritius on my own on business and stayed here as one of the hotels offered. A great location and would thoroughly recommend. Food and drink are a little pricey (as in most hotels in Mauritius) and I would recommend HB or FB. This hotel is right at the end of Flic-en-Flac so is a little isolated, however, the setting is great and a very quiet location. Rooms were clean and well-maintained and I will be returning to Mauritius next year for business and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This Mauritian resort is set on beautiful grounds with a very nice beach. Our trip began by being picked up by a friendly and informative driver at the airport. As soon as we arrived at the Sands Resort we were met with cold towels and respectful staff. Check-in went quickly and we were met at our room with our luggage and complimentary Sparkling Wine.
Our room was a very unique one for the resort, it was a suite with more then one room, also, more than one balcony to relax on. It was decorated tastefully and very clean aswell. Our first trip to the restaurants were above expectation. The employees are beyond efficient and absolutely courteous. They do not give the impression that you should tip them, but they make you genuinely want to. I can't say that about the Caribbean to date. Our week there was filled with complimentary room service bringing shots of local Rums and treats, wonderful bar/restaurant service and calm weather.
The only two concerns I had were handled as follows.

1- We were full board guests, but we quickly found out that drinking water wasn't included. We were told not to drink the tap water but they then proceeded to bill us for our water at the restaurant and bar. We felt that safe drinking water was a human right and necessity, so when we brought the matter up to the Manager one day as he stopped by to introduce himself, he quickly agreed with us and provided one free bottle of water with each meal. This was much appreciated.

2- As Honeymooners, we were gifted one free Honeymoon dinner at either of their 2 restaurants. This letter came written in French and was delivered to our room. We don't read or write French so making out the basics was difficult enough. We booked 24hrs in advance as recommended and had a great dinner at their Spices restaurant. Upon check out we received a bill for thousands of Rupees to cover the cheque. We were unaware that the menu was limited and we were to notify the restaurant that it was the "Luna de Meil" dinner which wasn't made clear to us. I felt we were mislead and made this clear to the night Duty Manager who was less then accommodating. After 30 minutes of debate he agreed to include the dinner and have us pay for the wine service. We agreed to this. He seemed to be the only employee with this attitude. Really our only draw back over the whole week.

I would absolutely recommend this resort based on location, facility management (with one exception) and most importantly, the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,422 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
868 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing