We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The sands truly lives up to its reputation. having done a lot of research (for many days!) as I was looking for somewhere special for our honeymoon, I felt obliged to write something about this wonderful resort...if you are looking for somewhere really special where you will be treated like royalty book with confidence. We got married and flew out the next days, so after a 17 hour trip from London we were exhausted. When we arrived the hotel staff took us to our comfortable room, offering us complimentary drinks and fruit, and we did our checkin on our balcony! It's the small meaningful things like this that were the theme of our stay and this is what makes the sand different to any other resort I have stayed in. All the staff remember your name, Every night the restaurant manager Rishi would guide us through the buffet telling what each meal contained as we could not eat pork. In the mornings the chef Ashok made each breakfast memorable and cooked us the best omelet I have had in my life. The very friendly concierge Deepak spent time helping us plan our excursions around the island, and booked us a very nice driver called Ravi (we highly recommend this gentleman as he gives you a long history of the island and took us to some truly amazing spots not mentioned in the guide book. We negotiated a nice fee with him, around £40 a day to do the north and south of the island. We also asked him to take us back to the airport). I read some reviews that some people complained about the food but we found the variety and quality of food very good, with live music every night. The hotel also arranged a honeymoon dinner for us on the beach with a special cake, very thoughtful! There is free water sports and some paid (like dolphin trip) which was amazing. The sands may not be 5* resort but it definitely feels like it. The location is also perfect for couples, being at the end of a long private beach means its very quite, we frequently walked down the beach and other hotels like the Hilton are located near the public beach which is very loud! It only has one pool, but it has a spectacular view in front of the sea and a mountain, the room was very comfortable (not as modern as some of the other luxury hotels but at the same time its not old either, the view from our balcony faced the sea) and it is cleaned twice a day. The spa is nice and we went to the private sauna and hamam twice. On our last day whilst we waited for the taxi, as a compliment, the staff brought the best cocktail in Mauritius...like the whole stay it was very refreshing!

Room Tip: If you are going on honeymoon I would communicate with the hotel before you go by email so they make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomHom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    403
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
294
1,548
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel was very conveniently located, Port Louis was relatively close by, beaches were amazing and lots of activities around (and to see). Beaches and hotel exteriors were well kept, rooms spacious and tidy. Special mention to the staff, who were more than accommodating to every need, and made us feel like home.

A perfect place to have paradise island type of a wedding (one that we had). We just had to relax, sit back and get married!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTUHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A truly dedicated workforce all geared to making your holiday as special to you as you want it to be. All you had to do is ask and they would bend over backwards to make sure your requests were met.
To anyone thinking of travelling to this Hotel all I would say is that communication is the key. All they want to do is please and what they don't know they can't help with.
I can agree with all the other positive points that all the other travellers have written. Fantastic location, clean comfortable rooms, food.....mmm wonderful and plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and efficient.
But to me it was those small touches that made you feel it was a special holiday. The wecome towels and drink on arrival. The time spent making sure all your needs were met. The drinks and snacks offered free during the day and on return to your rooms. But most of all it was the friendliness of all staff. To each and everyone of you I thank you for making our trip one that we will never forget and we can't wait until we visit you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband had undergone major surgery due to tongue cancer, and was unable to eat solid food. The hotel chef went out of his way to accommodate my husbands special needs, the management and staff were also amazing. Everyone was so warm and friendly.The rooms are lovely, the position of the hotel is ideally situated - nice and quiet. One of the best holidays we have ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room closest to the shore - and away from the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capolago, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It has been a great trip. The hotel is amazingly beautiful and the people are very kind. Great food and the Chef is a master!! The maitre was very open to us, even when we had a special food request. We used the SPA and the girls were very professional. it the perfect place also for people with kids and couples. You can easily organize a wedding there.
We loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The enterance was as you would expect from a good quality hotel located on an island. We were greeted promptly and were provided a drink on arrival - we were taken to the room and shown how to use operate a number of things (eg. air con, safe etc.) and were told to see them in the morning (as we had arrived late in the evening due to delays) for a quick tour of the grounds.We met our 'rep' the following morning whom outlined the tours and things to do on the island. It appears that you cant really use another rep even though they may be significantly cheaper. The resort has a great pool overlooking the sea, but people would just leave the beach towels and then disapear (which I dont agree with) so you had to get out early to get a lounger/sun bed. The main restaurant was good, normal breakfast (toast, beans, omelettes, fruit, yogurts etc) and the evening menu would change daily. But being vegie - they cooked us things seperately if there was nothing on the menu - which was good. We didn't try the other 2 restaurants. The beach was very shelly so reef slippers are recommended. They had a bar with music (dj/live depending on day) until about 10pm. But be warned the drinks are pretty expensive (anthing for the resort really), 1tlr bottle of water approx £2, a tia maria and baileys shot cost approx £16. A normal alcoholic drink approx £4-6, soft drink approx £4. I would recommend a 15mins walk to the hilton and then jumping on the public bus (16rup approx 35p each way pp. to flic and flac Spar shop) 1.5ltr water for 35p and anything else you want to pick up. You can even get a direct bus to Port Louis too approx 80p each way pp to check out the capital and markets to barter in. The tours were extremely expensive approx £90pp for the northern island tour (although not too much to see there unless you like the botanical gdns) and similar for the south tour. We just haggeled for the hotel taxi on a daily charge and worked out approx 3000rup £40 pp (can be cheaper if more people eg 4 people = £20pp) - you could probably get it even cheaper if you can haggle the taxis outside the hotel down. (but if you do this you need to specify exactly what to cover - eg in the south (volcano) 'Trou Aux Cerfs', Grand Bassin lake and temple, Black River Gorges and waterfall, Coloured Earth in Chamerel), although enterance fees were on top it was still significantly cheaper. We weren't awed by the sites and would have been very disapointed if had spent £90pp for this. It was a good hotel with friendly staff, although the 2 main people/managers never said hello and were too busy. There were a few insects (but that is expected). The air con dripped occassionally, the tea bags weren't always replaced, neither was the refill for the mosquitoe plug in that was in the room, and sometimes there was no shampoo but an abundance of shower gel bottles instead. The rooms had comfortable beds, a sofa, table and another chair and were roomy and a flat screen television (although it was pot luck for anything on in English apart from the news). They didnt have the stands to rest the suitcases on so we used the table and sofa for this. The bathroom had a double sink and shower unit and a toilet and was very roomy (presumably to also house the suitacases), it was also where the safe and bathrobes and hanging area for clothes was. There was a balacony with 2 chairs and table. We had a power cut in the evening and it took 2 calls and 30mins to sort out and no apology with was really annoying. If they could address some of the issues above and ideally provide a bottle of water daily included in the price it would be an improvement - otherwisw a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank _En__Kay1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On our first visit to Mauritius . What an Amazing place !!!! The Sands staff treat You in a friendly personal way . Nothing is too much trouble . Down to Eggs Benedict on demand . Will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxed real holiday . Beautiful beautiful location !!! Right on the beach .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smgguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,400 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,443 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing