We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
$327
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$889
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$370
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Beach Resort(Flic En Flac)
$235
$205
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$245
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
$331
$275
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Manisa Hotel(Flic En Flac)
$92
$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Oiseau de L'Ocean(Flic En Flac)(Great Value!)
$52
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aanari Hotel & Spa(Flic En Flac)
$142
$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
$182
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,337)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveler rating
1,755
449
87
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,755
449
87
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink peppercornspices restaurantdolphin barinfinity poolour honeymoontamarin bayhalf boarddressing areaevery eveningboat housele mornewater skiingrooms are largebreakfast and dinnerwalk in closetwater sportsglass bottom boat
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited The Sands in November for our honeymoon for 11 nights. Upon check-in, we didn't like the location of our first room, it turned out this wasn't our designated room, just that we had arrived early so they'd given us an available room, there was a little confusion with changing rooms and several phone calls from reception urging us to vacate the room ASAP which felt rather stressful after an 18hr journey (I had misunderstood and thought we were allowed to freshen up first!) but this was really the only minor blip.
The location of this hotel is perfect, I'd looked at several in Flic en Flac prior to booking and definitely made the right choice, being located right at the end of the stretch of beach ensured privacy and meant the beach really was almost entirely for hotel guests only.
The rooms were well appointed, a couple of bug problems but I think this is to be expected in a tropical climate and reception did try to deal with our concerns promptly. Bed was huge and comfortable, lots of storage space (although short on hangers, I realised later we could have requested more!)
The customer service in this hotel is really excellent, especially Melvin the concierge and all the bar staff, especially Michael (fabulous award winning cocktail maker!), the most minor of critiques is it seemed quite difficult to get coffee and usually resulted in asking a second member of staff as the ladies that seat you seemed to take our request and then not pass it on to the wait staff - a very minor point but in such an idyllic place, nothing wrong with expecting perfection! :-) The breakfasts are fantastic, great chefs who cook any type of eggs, fresh pancakes and waffles by request (the crepes were addictive!) The buffet evening meal was very good although a few nights weren't to our taste.
There are plenty of comfortable sun loungers round the pool and on the beach, although the hotel was full, it never once felt too busy, there was always a choice of where to sit in the bar/restaurant etc. The infinity pool was lovely although I was rather put off by a guest repeatedly blowing his nose into the water, disgusting, just wish a member of staff had spotted him and put a stop to it, ugh! (Writing this in the hope he sees this and changes his ways!)
The evening entertainment was very tame and finished early, we enjoyed it but it probably caters to an older crowd (in our early 30's, we were probably amongst the younger of the guests staying), maybe a slightly later finish would have been nice?
The thing that really makes this hotel exceptional is the service and the wonderful extra touches (rum and canapés brought to the room nightly, cold drinks and snacks by the pool, plentiful complimentary bar snacks in the evening, water sports equipment complimentary, etc), these really set the place apart and made us feel so well looked after.
Overall, we loved our stay here and will definitely be returning to celebrate our 3/5/10 year anniversary depending on when we can afford it again!
We also booked a couple of tours through White Sands and would highly recommend! Also the Domaine Anna restaurant just outside Flic En Flac was fantastic to make a change to the buffet.
An amazing honeymoon, thanks so much to all The Sands staff!

Room Tip: If you like privacy, opt for a room above ground floor level.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As everyone says the views are breathtaking. They really are. The view of the infinity pool across to the mountains is completely and totally amazing. It is one of the most beautiful places I think I have ever seen.

We took the full board option - so we got the buffets for breakfast and dinner... they were ok. Some of the food was quite good and some of it was a bit interesting. One thing though with the food that we noticed (particularly with the desserts) - a lot of the food wasn't kept cool. Which considering the heat caused some of the food to melt/wilt/liquify. Which was a bit weird considering the fruit for the breakfast buffet was put on ice.

The pool side service is quite nice as are the free fruit juice and snacks. Also there is someone who will occasionally come around polish your sunglasses - which is definitely appreciated.

The food at the dolphin bar which is where we normally had lunch was pretty good. They do also provide kids options (although rather basic). The drinks from the bar tend to be quite strong as well (I suspect they free pour) - which isn't a complaint, just a warning!

The staff are brilliant. Most of the staff were fantastic with our three year old twins - even at one point I was told to not chase after one of them as the staff would look after them. I want to give particular credit to Melvin the concierge for his Donald Duck impressions and going the extra bit to get us some food when we left the Sands. Also one of the maintenance people was so kind and let one of my daughters feed the Koi which completely made her day.

The rooms are fine. The beds are comfortable. The only complaint really is that there is one english language channel and that's BBC News.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the minute we stepped off the plane we were welcomed and looked after by the sands resort staff. The entrance and grounds of the resort were stunning and the ocean/mountain views were breathtaking. Accommodation was clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic with lots of variation and themed nights. The entertainment was fab at night and there were many activities available during the day. We particularly enjoyed the scuba diving and Vishal the instructor was excellent,very friendly and professional. This was the perfect place for our honeymoon, set off nicely with our dinner on the beach. A massive thanks is owed to Avinash our nightly waiter who was extremely friendly, always welcoming and a really top guy. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having spent the last eight years travelling to the Caribbean at this time of year, we decided on a change and chose Mauritius. After reading the many glowing reports on Trip Advisor we chose The Sands. Yes, as many have said previously, it is stunning as you arrive and take in the view over the infinity pool. We enjoyed our nine night stay, however we felt it did not have the ‘wow’ factor we have experienced in hotels of this size we have stayed in previously.

It is very expensive for drinks, (£7 for a large beer, £5.50 for a (very small) glass of ordinary wine and £2 for a litre of water) and as much as the manager has replied to previous comments that these prices are comparable to the level of Hotel on the island, it is still very expensive.

One factor we have found in the smaller hotels (like Sands) in the Caribbean great care is taken in the training and incentivising of staff in customer care, every member of staff takes great care in introducing themselves, they make sure you know their name, they know yours and they are there to look after you. Each department has a team member that is voted the best for that particular week by departing guests and they are proud to wear badges confirming this.

We found many different attitudes by different members of staff at Sands. Some couldn’t be more helpful, Adrian stood out in the bar, remembering our names, our room number and even which drinks we preferred. However a great number of staff just seemed that they couldn’t be bothered, going through the motions of their job with rarely a smile, eye contact or a word.

After every meal or drink when you leave you have to sign with your room number, this is no problem. However on some occasions the wait was not acceptable - well over twenty minutes. On one occasion we paid for a special Valentines meal on the beach, finished our meal and asked to sign. After waiting for over twenty minutes we decided we had waited long enough and walked off the beach. On approaching a member of staff we were told ‘Yes there is a problem with your bill’ - no apology, even when we asked why we weren’t told previously. Asked to wait at the entrance while it was sorted we said no and asked for the bill to be brought to our room. We were told no as it will only be a moment and amazingly the bill appeared, again with no apology. Not the service you would accept from a restaurant when you have paid well over £100 for a meal. On another occasion I was interrupted in the middle of my meal in the restaurant asking me to sign an incorrect bill that I had signed previously in the bar.

Lunches at the Sands were lovely, great choices every day, especially the set lunch. It was nice having table service. The evening buffets were OK, however even though they were themed evening by evening, the courses were very similar, nothing really stood out. The desserts were very nice with plenty of small choices. On holiday you don’t want to feel that you are being rushed at your meals, however on many occasions at meals I had to stop staff taking away plates when one of us had not finished.

One of the most annoying things was the so called ‘Dress Code’. Booking the Hotel it does state that there is an evening meal dress code. This is reiterated at the entrance to the restaurants on the menus. – “A casual smart dress code is requested for the evening in our restaurants & bar. Please be advised that shorts, Bermudas, T-Shirts, swim-suits, flip flops & caps will not be accepted”. It took my wife and I seventeen hours travelling to get to the resort and in our baggage (with plenty of allowance) we carried clean shirts, trousers, dresses, shoes etc., so that we could dress up, and make our evening meal special. Surely, as the manager has stated in previous replies, if we are paying for four or five star service we should expect a four or five star venue. Sitting in the bar before going in for our evening meal we watched people (mainly men) going in to dinner with, T-Shirts, shorts, cut-offs, cropped trousers, cargo pants, flip flops, trainers, branded sportswear etc..
What is the point of a dress code when it is not adhered to nor enforced?

We stayed in a first floor room in the Tamarin wing. The room was spacious clean and room service was excellent. Small touches like the tots of rum and petit fours every evening were nice. You could even choose what time of day you wanted room service and what time you wanted turn down in the evening.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday at Sands, however as you can see there were some small points that niggled. Would we return to Mauritius? – perhaps. If we did it would still probably the Sands that we would chose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dandjhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Dandjderbyshire,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post your review on Trip Advisor. The Sands team is highly appreciative of your detailed and constructive review and we are deeply touched by your concern.

We are very sad to read that our team did not manage to create the necessary conditions to ‘wow’ you and we have taken good note of some aspects of your stay with which you were not happy . As previously stated, drinks prices in Mauritian resorts and hotels are more or less the same. Therefore any visitor should expect to pay this range of prices in Mauritian resorts.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for having made you and your wife wait very long before the bill was presented to you on the evening when you had your Valentine dinner and for the attitude demonstrated by the waiter. Necessary actions have already been taken and the restaurant manager has been instructed to focus his training with regards to the weaknesses that you took care to mention.

We understand your feelings quite well regarding the dress code but rest assured that our team members have been briefed to enforce it by all means. We take this opportunity to inform all readers interested in staying at Sands that a ‘dress code’ is effective in the restaurants and bars in the evenings and for more details kindly visit our website.

We are very glad to learn that on the overall you enjoyed your stay at Sands particularly the spacious room and the housekeeping service. As you rightly mentioned, guests have the freedom to choose the most convenient time frame for the room cleaning as well as the turn down service in the evening. We are pleased that you liked this style of service.

We are proud to read that you would choose to stay with us at Sands again if you decide to come back to Mauritius and you will always be most welcome to see by yourself the improvements that would have been brought.

Thank you and kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have really enjoyed our recent stay at the Sands and we were very sad to leave. All the staff were friendly, accommodating and always went the extra mile. From entering into the property the first view is spectacular and the experience got better and better. Everything was clean and well presented and the drinks / food choices were varied and good quality. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews