We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been to the Sands on our honeymoon and it was a dream come true... From the friendliness of the staff to the spacious rooms with view of the ocean, the facilities available (gym, librarie, spa, hair salon, etc), the food which was extraordinary and all those little things that make your stay truely special like the free drinks on the beach, the honeymoon dinner under the stars, the attentive staff that always set our "special table", the special night-time goodie etc... It was the perfect get-away and we've thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I cant imagine getting a better taste of paradise and luxury for the price than what we experience at the Sands. 10/10 for value. The view and setting were stunning, the staff manage to achieve that rare combination of polite attention without being intrusive and the facilities (water sports etc) were spot on. Mauritius is a truly enchanted island and the Sands captures so much of the islands spirit. The food was also fantastic- breakfast and dinner provided options and quality every day. I would recommend the Sands to anyone wanting to experience paradise, relax and sun bathe (my girlfriend) or explore and play in the water all day (me)! Sands has it all. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Sands is the perfect resort with fantastic views from each room. My partner & I travelled as a group totalling 18 (freinds & family - some Australian & ex Mauritians). The staff are very freindly & always in a happy mood. The were eager to help & always said "bonjour". The food was exceptional in presenatation & taste. At breaky time, Ashok the chef was always entertaining with a happy smile. The pool is the ideal place to relax with the backdrop of the ocean/hills. Our room was well catered with a nice comfy king bed, spacious & air conditioned. (only tip when booking a room - pick one that stands alone as if the butt against each other, we could hear next door a little. Luckily we had freinds next door) The have a sega show during the week as the sun sets which was very enteraining. Each night we had a band (Tues & Thurs nites were the best bands) & we could chill by the bar while watching the band or have a dance. I highly recommend The Sands Resort to any one wishing to travel to Mauritius. We already are making plans for a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alman1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like many at The Sands Resort, we were there for 2 weeks on Honeymoon. This was our first time on Mauritius and we loved it and The Sands was a key reason as to why. The tone was set when we arrived, a lovely welcome from the staff which included a free drink plus an additional bottle of sparkling wine in the room. Rooms were a good size and we weren't short of space. We were on the ground floor close to the main bar/restaurant and pool which meant it was great for access and we could enjoy some of the entertainment if we wanted to from our room. We're not normally the sort that get into hotel entertainment, but at Sands it was fun. Plus it stops at 10:30/11pm so it wouldn't disturb anyone wanting an early night.
All staff are very friendly, welcoming and look to help at all times. This extended to the Boat House who provide water activities and staff who help get games of beach volleyball, table tennis and petanque going for those interested.
The Boat House are always keen to help with what you want to do, from water skiing to sailing to swimming with dolphins. I'd swam with dolphins before, but not like here...it was incredible and you got a great personal service from the guys catered around what you want to do.
Reading the above makes it sound like Sands is not a relaxing honeymoon destination...but it absolutely is. The resort is peaceful and the beach beautiful. Having walked down the coast past some of the other resort's beaches (some of which are more expensive than Sands) I would say that ours was the best.
The pool is lovely and never crowded, and service (drinks/food) is available to order throughout the day.
Every day we got complimentary canapés and a shot of run each brought to our rooms c.5pm which was a nice warm up to dinner.
As for food, through work and socially I eat out a lot including some of the best restaurants in London. While it wasn't Michelin starred (you wouldn't expect it to be) it was great with a huge choice and variety. A big breakfast on most days saw us through to dinner. Before arriving we thought that we'd go out and eat elsewhere on more than one occasion. However we only did once as we loved the food and didn't want to miss out. We over ate for 2 weeks...and it was great.
I generally say never go back, but Mauritius is very tempting...as is returning to Sands. That's the biggest compliment I can give it. Especially as our normal holidays are the complete opposite, independent travel and trekking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motown78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is just a wonderful place on earth! Beautiful design, every little detail is being taken care of, staff are absolutely friendly and helpful. The setting is elegant yet not too posh, the perfect place to give you a real little treat. For those looking for a calm place it is the perfect choice - no disco, no loud animation (sports activities were great, the staff doing them were very discrete, not noisy), just beach, swimming pool etc white sand and wonderful water. food at the buffet is of good quality and there is a different buffet every evening, always with a few outstanding dishes. We loved the Exotic and the Mauritian buffet best, and the candlelight dinner on the beach is especially romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marietta232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hey this resort was the best resort i have been to in mauritius so far! Nice clean resort and the people there made the place better. So many people there to help although there was 1 or 2 who were useless but that was out of a 100 others. They were so attentive, maybe sometimes a bit too much but anyway all the people there were great and cant really fault it! Nicholas was a great bloke, Micheal in the bar was the master of cocktails stephen who served us dinner was the most polite person ever and adrien who served drinks in around the pool was awesome. Just to name a few. Thank sands!

Room Tip: The bottom level room was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Since seeing a documentary on Mauritius over 40 years ago it has long been a dream for us to visit.This year we finally made it and spent 10 days on this lovely island after a very hectic 3 days in Dubai. This hotel is the perfect place to relax which was what we were looking for and the staff are so friendly and interested on how you spent your time. We knew before we came out that we wanted to do the "Walk with the Lions" at Casela Park and it was truly wonderful to be able to walk alongside and stroke these wonderful creatures. We also did a speedboat trip to see the dolphins in Tamarind Bay. We did struggle a little with the food and this was picked up on by the attentive staff.We did not complain because as we don't like fish this did limit us a bit and I was aware the hotel would cook us what we wanted. We always found something and didn't go hungry but it was nice the staff approached us to ask us if we wanted anything different. I had a spa treatment which was relaxing and the treats on the beach were fantastic. Cool drinks, mini snacks, neck massage and friendly service were great. We did have a minor problem but this was sorted out amicably and speedily by Kevin, the Duty Manager. This hotel is beautiful and when on the beach I truly felt part of a travel brochure as with the Morne mountain and the Bay it is truly breathtaking. Many thanks to our lovely waitress Nicole, always smiling and genuinely interested in our day. The gardens are lovely and the colourful birds a delight. Our dream became a reality. Thank you Le Sands.

Room Tip: All rooms are seafacing but I would suggest a high floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,516 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
891 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
22.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $296 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing