We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days. It was amazing!!! I haven't seen that good service in a long time... wherever you'd look there would be a very friendly staff member ready to help you. The location was good if you'd want to spend most of the time relaxing at the hotel... if you want to go to the beaches on the other side of the island it can get expensive, and the beach right there is ok... nothing amazing. We also went to Port Louis for a day and it wasn't exciting at all, therefore we ended up spending more time at the hotel by the beach or swimming pool. and if you're looking to be relaxed and just get some rest while having great service this is definitely the place to go. There wasn't many kids, I think it's better for couples. w\We booked out trip through OIT hotels and they were great! someone picked us up at the airport on our arrival and the next day they sent a representative to the hotel to book toours for us. Overall it was a great experience and great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My best friend and I visited The Sands in August and it was just what the Dr ordered. We both have stressful jobs and after a very negative experience in the Caribbean last year needed this one to be great. It did not disappoint. It was quiet, peaceful and allowed us to recharge our batteries. The staff were always polite and friendly and nothing was too much bother. The buffet was varied and a good choice was on offer every evening. The beach was beautiful and although the water was slightly bracing we managed a swim every day. If you are feeling like a walk turn left on the beach and go around to the next bay where the shallow water is heated up by the reflection of the white sand and the water is much warmer.
Will we return ? Most definitely yes. See you next year.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank jtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Ocean view is spectacular. the hotel is small enough that every room has great access to every amenity. A couple of hitches that were remedied quickly and effectively. Could not ask for better front office service. Beds were a little hard for my taste, but well appointed rooms. "Free" activities great.

Room Tip: First floor, while open to all eyes, is excellent for quick trips to/from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corinneshumard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at the Sands Resort after a no hassle pick up from the airport, an informative & friendly driver, met on arrival at the hotel with cold towels and a choice of welcome drinks, all very relaxed and informal. This was the start of all good things that continued.

The service was excellent, all staff friendly and each offered a personal service. I can not fault the service in any way and the extra little touches that they offered freely made our stay really special. The surprise cake and sparklers for our anniversary was a lovely surprise and all staff seemed to be aware.

The little touches were appreciated and everything they did was for the benefit of the guest, nothing was too much trouble.

The only comment i will make is that the rooms and more so the bathroom were a little tired and could do with a make over, however rooms were comfortable and little time spent in them, the service made up for this more over.

I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKKaren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I'd like to mirror all the positive comments made by other travellers. The Sands Resort is gorgeous. There are some points I would like to highlight which may be useful; Arrived 19th Aug and stayed for two weeks. Weather mostly beautiful with a couple of cloudy days (got a nice tan with the warm breeze!)
I have a dietary requirement (coeliac), I emailed the hotel when I booked my holiday earlier in the year, and they responded immediately. When I arrived, I met with Rishi, Spices Restaurant Manager, who advised that I would meet with the chef every evening to go through the buffet menu. They were brilliant - if there was limited choice, the chef would prepare me a stunning meal (Steak, fish skewers, fresh tuna, Risotto, etc) and the most amazing desserts. They baked fresh gluten free bread and rolls for me. Most restaurant staff were aware of my requirements and delivered my bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Note to the Senior Manager; Your staff are an absolute credit to your hotel, they made our stay perfect in every way, and because of them we will be returning and recommending your hotel to friends and family.
A very, very special thank you to Rishi, Chef Christophe, Rajinee, Yash and Jennifer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank podpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Sands hotel enjoys a great location with amazing views from every room. The pool area, probably recently updated, is very impressive with a large infinity pool and 28 degrees water temperature. The breakfast and dinner are suprisingly good offering a good choice of high quality food from a buffet. We were however disappointed by the 500-600% markup on poor quality wine by glass and lack of choice. Suffice to say we ordered once and not again. The staff was overall friendly but at times we felt we were being told where to sit for dinner rather than being treated as guests. The hotel offers many leisure activities for free but if you want to rent bicycles these are at charge. Water skiing was not possible due the weather every day for a week. One starts to wonder if this was really due to weather or rather due to cost reduction ( waterskiing was free). The room is average size and we had one on the ground floor which was convenient (no stairs) but less privacy (other guests can look inside). The bathrooms are outdated and could do with a renovation. On the other hand one gets both bathtub and shower as well as a large dressing room. The Sands is a very pleasant hotel in a very good location and spectacular views. It could become fantastic if they updated the rooms, bathrooms, trained their staff in courtesy and improve wine pricing and selection.

Room Tip: Ground floor for convenience, upper floor for privacy, rooms with higher numbers tend to be farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelbunny9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a good hotel - superb situation with a good beach area, stunning views and beautiful sunsets. Rooms were spacious and attractive with pleasant balconies and the advantage of coffee-making facilities. More storage space (ie drawers) would have been useful, but this is a minor point. Service was excellent, with polite, welcoming, responsive and helpful staff at all levels. Our only complaint - and the reason why this review gets only 4 stars - was the food. Breakfast and bar food were good, but we were disappointed by the quality of food served in the main restaurant, especially given its cost. As a non-meat-eater I found the choice just about sufficient (especially starters), but the quality of some dishes was poor - eg risotto and a chickpea curry that were too salty to eat and soggy polenta. Location-wise, although the setting is wonderful, it's too far to walk to Flic-en-Flac, so a car or taxi is needed to go to restaurants in the town - we paid Rs500 (about £4)for a return taxi - and it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LintonVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
923 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $235 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing