We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed at the hotel in April for 3 days on a work trip. The room given to me clearly was in need of an upgrade for was a relic from the 80's. The reception staff too were not the friendliest in the world. The shower was odd and inconvenient to use and I also happen to find a dead cockroach in the bathroom one night. The breakfast buffet was certainly not comprehensive and so too was the case for dinner, both of which lacked veg options (I could manage only 1-2 dishes in the menu). Its sister hotel Sugar Beach is far better an option then this one, however the best I have stayed would certainly be the Oberoi Mauritius.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Mr Alokie,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your comments on Trip Advisor. We deeply regret that the hotel standards were not up to your expectations. However, with its 37 years of existence, La Pirogue has undergone several renovations during the past years and recently renovated its rooms so as our valued guests enjoy a more comfortable stay. Furthermore, upon your reservation with the TO as well as on our website: http://www.lapirogue.com/en/accommodation an accurate description of the rooms and the different facilities are given.

Besides, we have communicated your comments to our entire team members so as an internal enquiry is done in order to distinguish and amend the reasons of the issues mentioned.

We are flattered to be compared with the best hotel you have stayed in, whose rates are far much higher. We wish to thank you again for your comments and sincerely hope to welcome you back again at La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 3,251 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 9 days in Mauritius and La Pirogue. From arriving at the airport, to our return, was calm and peaceful and no bother. Our welcome at La Pirogue and all our interaction with the staff was exceptional. Everyone was so helpful. We loved our room, which was always cleaned to an exceptional standard. The buffets at breakfast and dinner are overwhelming with so much excellent food available. The facilities at La Pirogue are outstanding with so much variety, and Sundivers are very professional ensuring all their dives are safe and fun.
Thank you too La Pirogue for a memorable birthday, something quite unexpected.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Ian H,

Happy belated birthday to you! We are happy to note that the birthday surprise was well appreciated and that you had a fantastic and a peaceful holiday at La Pirogue. Your thankful review has been passed on to our entire team members especially to the SunDivers team where international courses such as Resort Course, PADI, CMAS and Nitrox courses are available. Diving lovers are pampered at the resort.

We thank you again for choosing La Pirogue for your stay and remain available on: infolap@lapirogue.mu for any further queries with regards to your next holidays in Mauritius.

Respectfully Yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at La Pirogue, flic en flac with my partner in September 2013. What an amazing place! Beautiful surroundings, lovely beach; we stayed just a few feet away from the beach in a clean and comfortable and large premium room; had a lovely terrace where we would sit in the evenings; beautiful and colourful birds would be there in the mornings. Staff were brilliant; could not be more helpful; thanks to them all, in particular Sakil; he was extremely helpful and hard working; all the staff were helpful and friendly. Restaurants were very good and in lovely secluded type settings, buffet meals were reasonable, but I would recommend booking the restaurants as the meals in the restaurants overall were excellent. We have stayed at sandals before with a Butler but found the both the service and the food to be far better here. Good evening shows; there was a jazz band one night that was excellent. Cannot fault this resort; expensive to stay here, but would love to return one day!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annielovessimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear annielovessimon,

We are glad to read your experience of September 2013 holidays at La Pirogue and wish to thank you for both writing a review on Trip Advisor and for recognizing the hard work of our dedicated team members. It is indeed the required motivation for our team. La Pirogue has two restaurants; Thatches and Paul and Virginie but gives you also the possibility to dine in the three other restaurants upon reservation at Sugar Beach Hotel which is its sister hotel.
We thank you again for your review and look forward to your next stay at la Pirogue. Sakil and the others will be more than happy to welcome you back here.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay at La Pirogue. We went for seven nights (all inclusive) and were constantly blown away by the sheer excellence of this place. The staff were all so friendly and on the ball. You can see that they take pride in the jobs they have and in what they do.

From reception to checkout was pure bliss! We got lost in this breathtakingly beautiful place filled with smiles all around. The rooms in Plumbago area was well equipped with more than what is needed (i.e. television) and was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay.

All facilities, restaurants and bar areas, as well as the beach, were kept nice and clean. I really appreciated the heartiness of the staff and how everything ran so smoothly. Yes, sometimes we did wait a bit for our drinks, but there were so many people and we were on holiday so we had all the time in the world anyway! This team is a force to be reckoned with!

La Pirogue pays attention to small details which just gives a nice rounded off feel to it all.

To all the staff at La Pirogue. Well done! I am looking forward to the privilege of returning to you soon.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rosmarinusbufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Rosmarinusbufo,
It is a such a pleasure for us as well to read your appreciations on your recent stay at La Pirogue and we do not have enough words to thank you for these wonderful words. We assure you that your review has been passed on to our entire dedicated team members who are equally overwhelmed to read that you were blown away by their services.
We thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in for you to enjoy a nice holiday and remain available on: infolap@lapirogue.mu for any queries you might have for your next stay. It will be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just returned from 7 days in Mauritius. Business and pleasure. First visit and probably my last as I doubt I would have reason to visit this beautiful place again. The La Pirogue was opened in 1976 and has been updated on several occasions. The chalets are of a very reasonable size and very clean. The only moan was that the icebox needed defrosting. The surroundings are beautiful with coconut palms providing shade. It is only a short stroll to the beach. The staff are without exception well trained , very polite , and can't do enough for you. On the down side I did not appreciate smokers at breakfast. In fact there were ashtrays on the table. I would advise people to take out half board as the buffet (with excellent food and plenty of variety) is very expensive. With one drink around GBP40 per head. Some excellent restuarants just a short taxi ride down the road at half the price.

I would recommend La Pirogue for a business stay, holiday and very much a family place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Mr McLeodnz,

We would like to thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your recent business and pleasure trip and are glad to read that you rather appreciated the thatched rooms which are neatly cleaned by our professional housekeeping team. Thank you for mentioning the icebox issue, it has been communicated and the necessary steps are being taken. Furthermore, with regards to your comments on the smokers for breakfast we would like to inform our readers that Thatches Restaurant's main building is for the non-smokers both for breakfast and dinner.

It was a pleasure for the entire team to welcome you at La Pirogue and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future. For any further queries with regards to your next holidays or business trip, Mr McLeodnz, we invite you to get in touch with us on: infolap@lapirogue.mu

Warm regards

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 7 night stay at La Pirogue.
The resort has fantastic gardens and the chalets are in a quiet setting. Rooms are a bit tired but not a major concern. I always find that 4star hotels in Mauritius are in my opinion more of a 3 star. We were an all inclusive which was great as prices are not accessible for south Africans! I found the standard of the food at the various a la carte restaurants between La Pirogue and Sugar beach well above expectation ....we only had 1 meal at the buffets. I found that Sugar Beach was closer to a 4 star. The gardens very perfectly manicured. The beach could have been cleaned a bit more..we never saw it cleaned during the whole stay. Some waiters gave fantastic personal attention and others were pathetic.

Room Tip: room 166 was quiet and had a nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your 7 night stay in Mauritius and are glad that you mostly enjoyed the authentic Mauritian hospitality as well as the food. Surrounded by the coconut trees, La Pirogue is set in between nature and the wonderful beach and we have a special team who looks after the magnificent garden and cleans the beach every morning for you to take the utmost of sight.

It is highly appreciated that some of our waiters gave you a special attention during your stay and we are concerned that you had the feeling that others were pathetic. We assure you that we have taken good note of it and will enquire and brief our team accordingly.

We thank you again for your comments and will be delighted to welcome you back at La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

La Pirogue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Following arrival in Mauritius we were successfully delivered to the arms of La Pirogue an old and well established Mauritian hotel. Arrival was pleasant and following some minor paperwork as usual in a hotel we were greated with home made ice cream and a cool drink. Staff were exceptionally welcoming, pleasant and outgoingly happy. The rooms were spacious and clean and the gardens surrounding the rooms were well kept fully established and lush. I found staff very well mannered and happy to be doing their jobs and very professional at all times. Overall the hotel position was wonderful, on the beach always works for me. Service was excellent and I would struggle to find fault. Local beer and hotel prepared food was excellent with mainly local and European varieties. There was an abundance of acts every night from singing to dancers and live music. Bar staff were very pleasant and happy and eager to please. There was a good variety of things to do during the day including water type activities such as parasailing, kayaking, scuba diving etc some of which are chargeable. There is also mini golf and table tennis all great for couples and families alike. There are several shops within easy walking distance from the hotel (cigarettes and alcohol are about 75% cheaper in locel shops). Overall I would fully recommend La Pirogue ro all holiday makers, if you are looking for night clubs and excessive drinking then there are bars in the local town (Flic en Flac) to accommodate but not in La Pirogue, it is in a class far above these desires.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernie_0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Mr Bernie,

We are so happy to read your descriptive comments on Trip Advisor and would like to express our sincere gratitude for the precious time taken to write it. We are equally glad to learn that you appreciated the mango sorbet served upon your arrival and the warm welcome you received at the hotel. We thank you for numerating the different payable and free activities at La Pirogue. There is a gazette at and near the reception desk where information about the different activities organized during the day is available.

Our entire team is glad that you have had an excellent holiday with us and that their dedicated services were above and beyond your expectations. We thank you again for acknowledging the efforts put in to make you live an excellent holiday and look forward to your next visit to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,585 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,235 reviews
9.9 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
22 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $300 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing