We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
nürnberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I liked my stay in La Pirogue very much. A very authentic mauritian hotel in a beautiful setting and sporting a lovely beach. The service is very friendly and the rooms are also very nice, built in the style of an upside-down mauritian fisherboat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmgerlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Tmgerlach,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

It is with much pleasure that we read your comments on Trip Advisor as we conduct constant on job trainings in order to maintain the level of service in our hotel and your satisfaction is the fruit of this hard work. We are indeed pleased to learn that you experienced a stay at La Pirogue.

We thank you for your review and hope to be honored by your presence in a near future.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    683
    158
    44
    16
See reviews for
833
1,729
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lovely family holiday with excellent service.The setting was lovely and the service was great. The staff were kind, pleasant and helpful. overall a wonderful family holiday. The range of food at the buffet meals was wide and catered for all tastes including vegans.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room make sure you check before you arrive even though you requested it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slam312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Slam,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

Thank you for these few lines on Trip Advisor and for choosing La Pirogue for your holidays. We are glad that you had a wonderful family holiday with us and enjoyed the Mauritian hospitality. We will definitely pass on your comments to our team members who shall be equally happy that you had an excellent holiday with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

everything about this hotel is wonderful we were there to celebrate my partners 60th birthday and they made it extra special for him all the staff were very friendly and helpful and we are looking to return same time next year

Room Tip: we had a superior room nice and quiet and just a short stroll to reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Linda,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

Heartiest congratulations again for the 60th birthday of your partner and our good wishes are with him. We are very proud of our team who put in all efforts to make your celebrations a success. We will definitely pass on your comments to all of them.

We cannot thank you enough for choosing La Pirogue for this special occasion. We assure you that we will be more than happy to welcome you next year.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Me and my fiancee actually got married at La Pirogue and it turned out that we could not have chosen a better place. Vanessa, our wedding coordinator, was absolutely fantastic: she organized everything impeccably and made sure that our special day really was special.
The whole place is very romantic and peaceful, perfect for a relaxing holiday. The food was excellent, the hotel garden is well kept regardless of its size and the staff are always ready to help. On the beach there are a lot of watersports to try out (I tried windsurfing and we went for a lot of snorkeling) and I would definitely advise diving with the Sun Divers (diving centre located on the hotel beach. They are great, but you have to book a spot at least 2-3 days in advance and it's worth it). The rooms are situated in small bungalows with thatched roof (2 rooms per each), very clean and cosy. As honeymooners we were entitled to an upgrade to a superior room (upon availability), but unfortunately there was no availability at the time since we stayed there in peak season. However, they offered us an upgrade to the neighboring Sugar Beach hotel superior room instead (both hotels are owned by the same company), but we liked it so much at La Pirogue that we decided to stay there.
For us, this was really an unforgettable vacation, and not only! :-)

Room Tip: The rooms with a lower number are located north of the hotel, those with a high number to the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Maeng,

Greetings from La Pirogue,
Our warmest congratulations for your recent wedding at La Pirogue and wish you a happy married life. We thank you for the small tips on Trip Advisor as well as for choosing La Pirogue for your wedding.

Indeed the hotel proposes both land and water activities to our valued guests in the hotel in order to make your holidays more enjoyable. We would also like to inform our readers that we also have a team who organizes exciting Catamaran Cruises.

We thank you again for your comments and assure you that it will be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you back for your next holidays.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Médine, Flacq, Mauritius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The fist time we stayed at la Pirogue was on our honeymoon and after that we came back again on 2 more different occasions! This hotel is simply the most amazing beautiful resort Ive been to. The little huts are so really nice and so comfortable inside very spacious with luxurious bathroom. The environment is so peaceful green everywhere which will make you relax. The staff are extremely friendly always ready to help special thanks goes to fardeen and nizam and also to mustapha who has been very patient with us during dinner time. Well i dont have enough word to praise this hotel. However i would like to suggest something to the hotel management.. It would have really been more than perfect if the pools were heated in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Falihah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Falihah A,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

The entire team of your authentic resort is glad to learn that you enjoyed a nice holiday at La Pirogue as well as the great service of Fardeen, Nizam and Mustafa. Your comments remain for us a valuable and motivating one which will help us to better improve and maintain our services and standards.

As you have witnessed all of our rooms are grounded and immersed in the magnificent gardens of La Pirogue, giving our valued guests all space and comforts. We thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your holidays and for dropping these few words on Trip Advisor.
It will be to our biggest pleasure to welcome you back to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacoas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was there with my family. I realyl appreciate the friendly and welcoming staff of the hotel. We were taken care of very well. The room was nice spacious and the hotel surroundings very calm. ITs ideal for those seeking to cut off from the external world.The best palce i would say to go and really relax yourself and to get pampered. There was a large variety of food for breakfast and dinner. I would definitely come back again this year......

Room Tip: The standard room already is very spacious and has all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Luvvy,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

It has been well described in your comments that La Pirogue is the place to be for relaxation and we are grateful for this wonderful feedback. La Pirogue has renovated its rooms for our valued guest's comforts. Your comments have been well appreciated and we thank you again for choosing La Pirogue for your recent relaxation destination.

We trust you had a safe journey back home and would come back soon to La Pirogue for your next holidays.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel and the staff highly enough. Awesome food, superb service, great activities, well thought out layout in the room (separate shower to bath and hair dryer right by the mirror) - comfy beds, pretty units, and the beach.....!

I particularly enjoyed the supply of tea and milk in the room - I hate that creamer powder and running out of tea. Not gonna happen at La Pirogue!!

Well done everyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mr Peter,

We thank you for your stay at La Pirogue and are grateful for such a nice review. La Pirogue offers a large variety of sea and land activities for all aged group and we are glad that you enjoyed most of it. It will be to our biggest pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Mauritius.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,080 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,275 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
27.5 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,295 reviews
28.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Property: La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90504
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing