We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th time and already planning to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

.I would like to thank you ALL the staff for the excellent service .We returned to La Pirogue for the 7th time and still
l enjoyed every minute.The staff are all so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We would like to thank Furdeen for organising our rooms, to the general manager Clency Romeo for the incredible seafood dinner,to the head waiter Vinod who went out of his way to make sure the food and wine were to our satisfaction. Wow what an incredible evening !
I would highly recommend the seafood dinner on the beach ,every Friday night
I would also like to thank Krishna ,Claudias tattoo still looks good.
A BIG thank you again for an incredible holiday was very sad to leave. See you next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIOVANNA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 3,164 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Although we've travelled extensively around the world,this is our first trip to Mauritius.We are so pleased that we chose La Pirogue as we had an amazing time at this fantastic resort & can't find fault with anything.Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good location hotel .We have been disappointed with some change in this hotel since our last visit. Some members of the staff needs to learn the welcome especially in bars..if they do not deserve working in hotel better not try. this hotel is becoming more and more greedy despite the same service which still not change.aura which is the spa is now to be paid ,yes hammam and sauna.so what else to say.la pirogue hotel needs to be more challenging and needs an urgent change in attitudes.If there is no service there is no hotel,so go ahead for improvement.otherwise we had a good time with family .the boat house staff are the ones to be praise. nothing interesting for kids and teens in la pirogue.poor animation.in restaurant insufficient light to see what we are eating.food was good.can do better
can do better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank skb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The staff is everything. Simply great people from gardeners to management, from house keeping to restaurant people. We love them all…All the facilities are working well and especially water sports are good and easy to do

Room Tip: Superior private cottages are splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arto009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

La Piroque is stunningly beautiful. The grounds are relaxing and native to the environment and well kept. Beach shopping is a joy-where can you buy sea pearl and mother of pearl set in silver for 10 Quid? (Keep an eye out for fakes). The rooms are lovely,comfortable and clean and well tended. The staff are fantastic and very attentive to needs without being obtrusive. Beach is amazing and a lovely swim in the lagoon. Pool is just, well what can I say, just dissolve in to another world. The infinity just floats you away!

Food, fantastic choice of well cooked tasty varieties. Not very hot on the buffet and this rather spoilt the exceptional variety. However, if you are half board or inclusive you can eat at Citronellas or another restaurant. Sometimes with a supplement. However we ate at Citronellas (without supplement) and the food and service was amazing. TOP CLASS!

If you are a smoker you can eat in the pods and still enjoy a cig by after you're meal if you eat in the pods. You can smoke in Mauritius on the beach and the pods are built on sand! INGENIOUS?

I always get badly bitten in the Carribean and the Indian Ocean was the same! Why oh Why can you not put citronella candles on verandas and porches. I flipping hate holidays where I spend all day scratching! Sharm El Sheik have it sorted and spray at night! I still love this resort (2 weeks on the internet and struggling to find anything better) and I did leave a lot of my heart with Sophie and Jaye in our little African pod. Hopefully I will come back. If only to capture the bloody cheeky bird that stole my best pineapple slice EVER!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in October last year and one of the best hotels I have stayed in Mauritius. The grounds are beautiful with palm tree plantations. The service is excellent with friendly bonjours wherever u go. The food was devine even on halfboard. From sushi to wild boar. Quite an experience. The beach is wonderfull and there is a shop u can walk to in walmer to stock up on your drinks etc. Walked the whole length of beach with all hotels and La piroque to me was the best choice. U will not be dissapointed staying there. Kids club was great and the staff really put alot into the children.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604kellyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your recent holidays and for dropping a few words on Trip Advisor. It is with much pleasure that we read how much you enjoyed the food, shopping and above all the Sun Kids Club. We thank you again and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a good hotel, not doubt but defintely not a 4.5 average rating. First of all this is not a cozy hotel but a huge areal with 500+ rooms (including the sister-hotel sugar beach that shares a lot of facilities with la pirogue) and accordingly a very busy place. We managed once in one whole week to get two sunbeds with an umbrella at the beach or the pool (and we did not get up very late) - the rest of the week already at 8am in themorning all the beach sundbeds were reserved with towels with nobody really using them. The hotel states in the booklet that security would remove the reservation towels after one hour in fact this was not the case once while we were there. We even complained to the staff and where told to remove private stuff of other guests ourselfs. Certainly not the kind of fight I want to start on holiday. Similar thing in the restaurants: More then once we hat to queue for a table at the main restaurant and during breakfast you will find queues at the egg stations plus the place is very loud and busy with towels on the floor catching water coming out of a wall. Food is ok for buffet food, but not great. Some of their smaller restaurants are better (e.g. the italian or seafood place) but require reservation 24hours in advance and it did not always work out for us as they were full.

The rooms/bungalows were rennovated some years ago and are ok and pretty much standard but can definitely not keep up with comparable hotel rooms in asia and probably not what you expect from an exclusive holiday destination like Mauritius.

Most annoying were the prices within the hotel. The prices for drinks and food in the hotel are just a rip-off (we were half board). I never paid anywhere in the world more then 6 Euros for a fresh coconut (they grow on the three everywhere in this country) and similar prices for beer and soft drinks. Water costs 10 times the price of the supermarket right infront of the hotel. Prices would be ok if this would be a very exclusive resort but we more had the feeling it is a mass processing place.

Staff is nice and definitely goes the extra mile and the offer on water sports (complementary) is great, as well as the beach.

In summary an ok hotel for people who like huge hotel clubs and lying 20cm next to people they dont know at the pool or the beach and dont care queing at the restaurants and food stations. We would probably not go back - you just get more value for money in asia or the caribbeans.

Room Tip: There are several hundred bundalows in this hotel. Some of them are quite far from the reastaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We thank you for your constructive comments and suggestions on Trip Advisor, it will surely help us to further improve and maintain our service quality and standards. We assure you that every detail of your comments are being considered and that we will re-enforce the “non-reservation” request for the sunbeds in the future. Further to your comments on the buffet, we regret to say that being a large resort, the successful stations at the buffet are often requested and could effectively create some waiting time; we therefore apologize for the inconveniences caused. Last but not the least, the authenticity of La Pirogue is difficult to be compared with New Resorts in South East Asia, as with its 37 years of existence La Pirogue has proved its efficiency and hospitality to its designated guests.

We personally appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,518 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $297 - $1,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing