We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute paradise getaway! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“An absolute paradise getaway! ”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a 10 day trip to Mauritius! 2 days at The Sands Resort and Spa and the rest at La Pirogue. I must say that we are glad to have chosen to stay the longer period at La Pirogue. The staff should be commended for their friendliness and service! Special mention to the GM Mr Clency Romeo who was extremely kind and hospitable for our stay. We appreciated the daily treats and have bought back the wine to Oz to remember our trip! You are a great asset to the Resort! Will bring you a nice bottle of wine on our return! Also Mario at the beach bar was fantastic to us along with the rest of the staff at the Beach Bar, Coconut Bar and Blue Bar. I will definitely miss all the pinacolada's, mangocoladas, mojito's, the champers and my fav Phoenix fresh beer(the only beer I have ever liked in my life). Hubby will miss his Phoenix! I Definitely recommend the All Inclusive package, the selection of foods from; the buffet at Thatches to a la carte at Paul et Virginie, lunches at the Beach Bar to pizza's at the Coconut Cafe as well as a la carte from Sugar Beach restaurants Tides and Citronellas, is vast and we were very satisfied at every meal! Hubby especially was impressed by the food at Tides.

We went on a day trip to Casella national park where we walked with the lions and went quad biking. The hotel packed us a picnic basket for lunch (included in the all inclusive package) and I must admit the amount of food given could feed literally 4 or 5 people! Thank u

The entertainment was a bonus and made our nights quite lively. Thanks entertainment crew for your lovely colorfulness and energy, great to watch. The free water sport activities was great although we only did the pedal boats and canoe. Played mini golf and of course, the 6 tennis courts! A bit of advice if you want to play tennis - bring your own tennis balls as they don't provide this and have to buy it.

The Resort is absolutely beautiful, well maintained. We were impressed of the constant attention to detail put into the garden maintenance. Always something going into the lush green surroundings. The beach is stunning,
the hawkers are not pests and leave you alone if you say no.

The only thing I could say is that our room was a bit small, the superior rooms are much bigger which we will hopefully stay in next time. But this didn't bother as much as we were always out and about anyway.

I would also recommend if you want to get around the island to rent a car as the taxi prices are quite steep! But who needs to get out when all is here at La Pirogue.

Thank you again team at La Pirogue, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you! ---> Kristine & Garreth (Perth, Aus)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GK2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Kristine and Garreth,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

It is a pleasure for all of us to read how much you enjoyed your holidays, the hospitality of our team members and the services and facilities of the hotel. We thank you for sharing your experiences at La Pirogue with other travelers on this forum as well as for recommending us.

We thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your recent holidays and hope that La Pirogue will be your first choice for your next holidays in Mauritius.

Regards

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,138
    704
    161
    44
    19
See reviews for
863
1,786
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Returned yesterday to rainy, wind-swept UK yesterday after a sensational first trip to Mauritius and La Pirogue. The hotel was perfect - beautiful room near the beach (with silent air-conditioning, other reviewers please note), fantastic staff and great food and services. We thought long and hard when deciding which hotel, and are so glad we picked La Pirogue. We celebrated my wife's birthday, with champagne delivered to our patio, followed by a beautiful meal at Paul & Virginie, the a la carte menu. Even the lady at the towel cabana wished my wife 'happy birthday' without prompting. (Clever these computers).It was useful, too, to be able to share the facilities of the Sugar Beach Hotel next door, but in truth we had everything we wanted at La Pirogue. A hotel may be beautifully equipped, but the fact is that it is the staff that makes a hotel, and this is where La Pirogue scores so highly. Perhaps it's the fact that Mauritius is such a beautiful island that makes everyone smile! The 'all inclusive' package is the way to go, there was very little on the menus that wasn't included, and there was a vast range of drinks to choose from. Add to that many free watersports, evening entertainment and other things to do, and it makes up the perfect package. Special thanks too to the gentleman operating the Beach Trolley who, more than once, brought drinks directly to the patio of our room. Thank you management and staff for making our trip so special, we will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash on a Superior room: slightly bigger, proper sea view and a few strides to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanRHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue for your recent holidays. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team members and that they exceeded your expectations. We have passed on your special thanks to Sakil, the gentleman operating the Beach Trolley, and he is happy to learn that you liked the services provided to you.

We thank you again for your review and look forward to welcome you back to La Pirogue in a very near future.

Regards

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Pirogue at the end of September and had perfect weather to enjoy the beautiful beach, clear blue sea and picture perfect palm trees.
Accommodation is in little thatched cottages set amongst mature palm trees which means that this large resort never feels that big it busy.
We stayed on all inclusive basis which I would definitely recommend as drinks can be quite expensive. This also means you can enjoy all the other restaurants not just the main buffet. Seafood in all restaurants and the main buffet is fantastic!
Have a drink at the beach bar and enjoy sunset over the Indian ocean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed mostly the beautiful beach, clear blue sea, restaurants and liked the palm trees of La Pirogue.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holidays and we hope that La Pirogue will be again your first choice for your next holidays in Mauritius.

Regards

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel with excellent facilities for all the family. Can also use the facilities in the Sugar Beach next door. Accommodation was of a high standard and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The beach at Flic En Flac is in my opinion the best on the island. I would definitely recommend La Pirogue to friends and family and will visit again.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly bigger room then go for the superior but I was happy with the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We thank you for writing a review and also for recommending us on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to read that you liked the hotel’s services and facilities.

We will be happy to welcome you back in a near future.

Respectfully Yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire,uk
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited here earlier this month with husband - went with Kuoni do flew with Emirates - A380 to Dubai - then 3 hour stopover and 6 hour flight to Mauritius - so a long journey . Stayed in room 9 which was located well away from the entertainment so we weren't disturbed . We chose the all- inclusive option which was well worth it for us as a round of two drinks was about £18 -ouch..Food was excellent - buffet breakfast - plenty of choice and of a high quality. Paul and Virginie or the Italian were great choices for dinner. Service was efficient and very friendly. Only criticism was that the one pool towel allowed was too small. Everything else great. If you are looking for a boat trip we suggest Jack who sells from the beach - he provided the day we requested at a fair price - dolphins, Le Morne and the bay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rothwell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We are glad to learn that you appreciated the efficient and friendly service of our team members as well as the restaurants of the hotel. We wish to inform our readers that Beach Towels have now been changed to 160 * 90 cm which is large enough to be used. However, your review remains for us an important element to maintain and improve our quality of service.

We thank you for dropping a few words on Trip Advisor and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I live in Mauritius but my brother and his wife came to La Pirogue for my brother's 72nd birthday and their Golden Wedding celebrations. The hotel treated us like royalty and made the one week's stay a memorable one. From little snacks and treats to bottles of wine and champagne being delivered to our rooms in the evenings - it was all very nice! Thank you so much and congratulations to all the staff on your terrific effort. Well done!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at La Pirogue and that you had a memorable week at the hotel. We are also glad that you were treated royally by our team members. We would like to congratulate your brother again for his birthday and their Golden wedding.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back to La Pirogue.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I got a warm welcome when I checked into this resort. We arrived late due to the Air Mauritius flight schedule. Upon our arrival we received our room card, a welcome drink and was taken to the restaurant to have dinner. The dinner was absolutely amazing. We ate and had a live band performing. When we were done they showed us the room. The rooms are not very big but very cosy and surely enough space for two people. Couples, families and elderly people will enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: Depending on the budget, but the standard room (for two people) are phenomenal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from La Pirogue,

We would like to thank you for writing a review on us as well as for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the warm welcome of our team members.

We thank you again for your review and hope to be honored again by your presence in a very near future.

Respectfully yours

The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Property: La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing