We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Being a Mauritian, during holidays i at times (for a break from the routine) prefer to spend time with my family at beach resorts in Mauritius itself. Having stayed in other hotels within Mauritius and abroad, my prefered place is La Pirogue. The service delivery is what you would desire for and the place is quiet whereby the brusing of palm tree leaves and sea waves are the most prominent pleasing noise that you would hear. One stay is never enough!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shakeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,147
    711
    164
    44
    19
See reviews for
868
1,795
56
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I booked a 10 day stay to celebrate our last holiday as a couple, shortly before our first baby would arrive. So we looked for ultimate relaxation, good quality, no food issues and a safe country. We were very happy with our choice. It's a beautiful place in beautiful settings. Bungalows comprising 2 rooms each with a separate terrace in very well kept and spacious green gardens, right on a white sandy beach overlooking turquoise waters. The view is so magnificent. Upon arrival, we were in instant relax mode. The rooms are a bit older, more 3 star, but they are clean and convenient. The service is good and staff is very friendly. There is animation/ organized activity during the day and in the evening, but it's not in your face like in some resorts, so easily avoided if you prefer. The restaurants provide a good menu and sufficient variation; we ate at all of them. I was never worried about food quality (because of my pregnancy), all was fresh and well made. I can't say this for the Italian restaurant next door at the sister resort Sugar Beach. We ate here one night as an option for our all inclusive package, but the food was average and there were mice all over the place.

The spa was a real treat, nice massages. Diving was great too (for my partner). Best part of our holiday was the sailing boats you can freely take on the beach. The coral reef is just a few hundred meters away from the shore meaning the waters are great for swimming and sailing (there was quite some wind while we were there) and provide for great snorkeling just outside the hotel.

We hope to return with our daughter one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I have a lovely time at La Pirogue. The staff are so friendly and helpful! We met a British couple that have stayed at La Pirogue 12 times (and they have been to the Seychells, Maldives, Cuba, Florida etc) ! I think that says it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeeBeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in La Pirogue for 9 days and had our wedding ceremony there. The hotel is located on the best beach of the island - Flic en Flac and has very big territory covered with palms. As all rooms are in the separate bungalows all guests are separated by beautiful gardens and has quite a lot of space to enjoy nature.

The rooms are very big and you have a lot of space inside - much more than seen on the photos. As bungalow roof is very high and shaped into triangle making room planning asymmetric and feel very special. It is very different from other hotels.

Staff is very responsive and helpful, rooms are clean.

For the couples that are looking forward to get married on Mauritius we would highly recommend La Pirogue because:
* It is located on the west coast so you can have wedding on the sunset
* It is located on the most famous and wide beach on the island
* The staff in guest relations will help you to organize everything you can imagine for your special day
* Royal suits with private garden are just what you'll want for your first night ;)
* Scenery for the photo shots is great with hundreds of palms you'll never find anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vladimir182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I decided to book La Pirogue having seen the property about 4 years ago on a work visit. This was to be for our wedding an Honeymoon with 12 other guests staying at the property as well - Stayed 14/04/13 - 23/04/13. The hotel surpassed our expectations from how I remembered it, from the moment I arrived till we departed we were looked after by everyone at the resort, the service was amazing, everyone was so friendly and polite and always attended to our requests.

For a hotel in the 4* category you really cant beat this hotel for location, value for money ( sure there are 4 * hotels on the island which are just as nice or better and if you like being invisible, left alone with contempoary rooms and no personal ambience then these will probably suit you better ) - La Pirogue caters for Couples, Honeymooners, Families everyone really.

We loved our rooms ( sure they are older looking but there is absolutely nothing wrong with them, plenty of space, the bathrooms were fine ) and we loved the feel that they were in traditional thatched huts and not a square 4x4 hotel room that you get elsewhere.

we had a party of 6 in our group ( 3 ad 3 ch ) and they had plenty of beds and space with an interconnecting door between them. We all stayed in the Superior rooms and despite us being towards the back of the resort near Sugar Beach ( 160 - 165 Rooms ) the walk through the paths and gardens at night was a welcome addition from walking off all the yummy food.

We were all on the All Inclusive option which I have to say pleasantly suprised me with the options available ( I have been to some AI reosrts where choice is limited or repeated daily ) The number of restaurants between La Pirogue and Sugar Beach that AI's can use is plentiful, some you do need to make reservations in advance or pay a small supplement for seafood etc but this was all explained to us so there was no shock or arguments later , also the drinks selection including the mini-bar also plentiful, Being from the Australian market if you like to have a few drinks outside of your meals times I can certainly recommend the AI option as eating and drinking in Mauritius can be expensive at the resorts, The addition of kids to our party meant that they could just grab a drink or an ice cream when they wanted and their parents would not have to worry about a huge room bill at the end.

We were also pleasantly supprised that when we booked a couple of day tours the hotel provided a massive packed lunch ( all part of the all inclusive ) which kept the troops happy throughout the day.

The pool and resort are beautiful, there are always lots of things going on during the day ( in the pool, on the beach, watersports, competitions, archers, fishing ) the list goes on, I think if we had stayed 3 weeks we still would not have seen and done everything the hotel provided, never mind using the facilities that Sugar Beach had.

On a seperate note those considering using the hotel for wedding and honeymoon options, I cant rave enough about the whole process and the day itself, from the inital contact by email ( Summertimes provided all the assistance on the legal side of things ) to Avi our wedding co-ordinator at the hotel the advice given to me by email with inital photos of flowers, locations and helpful advice about how to prepare all the paperwork made everything so simple ( absolutely no stress to comparing organising a wedding in Australia )

When we arrived we met Avi to go through all our options and becuase they do this alot ( still only 1 wedding per day ) it all moved like a well oiled machine , we were then taken to Port Louis ( the assistance of having a staff member of summertimes come with us and talk through all the formalities in french ) was a godsend.

The photographer at the hotel was great, i had read mixed reviews previously but he has also taken on a younger guy and both had their own styles so we ended up with some great pictures, The whole day was perfect and I never saw all the behind the scences action to get everyone organised and to the ceremony it was all taken care of.

I have to give a special mention to families with kids, i always knew there were kids facilities but never realised the extent that they go to , to look after kids, food entertainment, babysitting services, my nephews had a great time they even had a film with with chicken nuggets for dinner i highly recommend anyone with kids will love this resort

Room Tip: If you have kids request rooms closer to the main hotel, they do provide a golf buggy service but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Funnyonion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We decided to take our kids (9 & 11 years) to Mauritius from 23 - 30 March 2013. This was the most amazing holiday. La Pirogue is situated on the west side where we could see the most beautiful sunsets every evening while having a nice cocktail on the beach.
The pool is absolutely stunning! Lots of palm trees as well. You can snorkel in front of the hotel, with lots of beautiful fish to see.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you need. We stayed in a Superior Room with a double bed and two single beds. It was quite spacious.
We did not go all inclusive. We had a very nice buffet breakfast and dinner every evening, but the drinks are quite expensive. We bought cooldrinks, beer and wine in Flic a Flac and kept it cold in our bar fridge. Even though we had to buy drinks with dinner and cocktails now and then, it still wasn't as expensive as to pay the difference for all inclusive. If you are planning to spend every day at the hotel, maybe it is better to go for all inclucsive, but we went on day trips 3 times and then you need to buy lunch and drinks anyway. A glass of wine was about R75, a beer R65 and 'n coke or fanta R55.
We went on a day trip to Ile Aux Cerfs which was amazing! We took a taxi in front of the hotel who waited the whole day while we were there. We hired a private speadboat to the waterfall, which also took us for some snorkeling afterwards. We also did a catamaran cruise to Gabriel Island for the day. This was organised by Mauritius Attractions.
Swimming with dolphins is a must! It was incredible!
The service at the hotel was excellent in every way from the moment we arrived, until we left.
We didn't go to any markets this time, but we walked to some of the shops in Flic a Flac and bought very nice sauveniers there. It is about 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The weather was absolutely fantastic! Very warm, no wind and no rain! Apparently the day we left there was a flood at Port Louis.

We can really recommend this resort. The rooms, service, setting, food, beach, pool and entertainment was first class!
This would definately not be our last visit to La Pirogue.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but if you have children under 12, choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Best Hotel in Mauritius in 4 * category in Mauritius.Absolutely delightful setting. Central reception area for meals, medical facilities and usual amenities. Surrounded by beautiful individual and grouped cottages in spacious beachside grounds with own beach (including lagoon for safe warm water swimming) and fabulous views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HiteshSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,400 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Property: La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing