We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful unforgettable place for a honeymoon or a anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful unforgettable place for a honeymoon or a anniversary”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed there for our honey moon. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Room service excellent- nothing is too much trouble. Very approachable rep. The food is very varied and delicious. Lots of it! We had full board but could easily of managed half board. We had a superior room facing the sea front, the rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean. Ours was cleaned every day. Fresh towels the works. Toilets decorated with fresh local beautiful flowers everyday. Lots to see and do on the Island. We used to hire a car and go off sight seeing. We had a wonderful time. I'd highly recommend this resort. Don't forget to visit the sister hotel next door - Sugar beech- equally beautiful hotel. We were well looked after and had a superb time. Ideal for all the family, even if your not steady on your feet as its all flat. Great entertainment every day. Love this place - would love to go again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,121
    700
    159
    44
    19
See reviews for
859
1,771
55
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quatre Bornes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A nice place for a nice hotel like la pirogue.just fine for family and the fact that you spend time at sugar beach resort.good opportunities for spending a complete familial holidays.a professional service .thanks.unfortunately lack of some activities for teenages and loss of animations as before.swimming pools and beach bars are closed at 6pm unfortunately.

Room Tip: facing the sea for a marvellous sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2012 and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you do enjoy a cocktail or three then the all inclusive option works out cheaper as the drinks can be a bit pricey. The food was superb, especially at Paul and Virginies. The beach bar was a great for lunch and it served the best burger we've ever had. Tea time cocktails at the coconut bar was a must. All in all we had a great time made possible by the staff La Pirogue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having just returned from 12 nights at La Pirogue we thought we would share our views of this hotel. It was our first visit to Mauritus and i would recommend Oct or Nov as being a good time to go, it was hot but not unbearable. The customer service was excellent and everyone had a smile on their faces. In the restaurant the service (thanks Rajesh) was first class nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and the maids again provided excellent service (thanks Maryvonne) with flowers and decorations regularly provided. The beach and sports services were again all excellent. We chose half board as we aren't big drinkers and often don't feel the need for a full midday meal. Yes drink prices were not cheap but then again you have to look at the overall package and besides there was a supermarket oppersite and a mini bar in your room and we made full use of both. We also used the facilities of the sister hotel the Sugar Beach which is handy as we alternated between both hotels evening buffets and the Italian Citronella's which was good. Have to say having read a few of the negative comments regarding customer service at the Sugar Beach we agreed its no where as good as La Pirogue's although the buffet setting is superior.

The standard rooms at La Pirogue were ok, very clean and functional but some people commented that for a 4+ hotel they expected more.

If you want a great day out try Casela's Nature Park and walk with lions or tigers its not cheap but is a once in a lifetime experience.

If your looking for a great location to unwind, sip your cocktails and watch fantastic sunsets then you'd have to go a long way to beat this place, we loved it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAPHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

our 6 nights stay in la pirogue was just amazing...when we arrived,we were too tired to do anything,the staffs were so warm,professional and helpful.we did just a simple checked in procedure,and sent us straight to our beautiful hut..;) a few minutes in the room,they sent us some delicious meals,so that we dont have to come out for dinner free of charge...how thoughtful..
we chose for half board instead of all inclusive,since we were always on excursion in the afternoon...the food was super nice and they changed the menu everyday so you wont get bored..
the hotel,the beach and surroundings were beautiful...we were able to enjoy the sunset on the beach every evening..and not to forget the kids club that always make our daughter refused to come back to us every night..;p
and are we going to go there again?yes....absolutely...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were there in October 2012 for our honeymoon. Although few clouds, the weather and temperature were great and we could enjoy this fantastic resort. Very well furnished, people around always smiling and helpful, and also superior food. We suggest the "swimming with the dolphin" experience... simply amazing!!!
The only spot was that small boats can come very close to the shore, which may be dangerous, and also polluting for the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StefanoLion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Good for scuba diving as the Padi centre is on site and has a very good service. You can do two dives a day, and possibly three if there are enough divers up for it (4). The hotel serously lacks in good customer service skills and consistent service. It seems to be properly staffed (in numbers) but many of them seem to be lingering around doing nothing or slowly one thing at a time; there is no concept of multitasking or timeliness! The paid Internet service is terrible & much slower than 3G. You are tied to the hotel as only a few Restaurants in walking distance and taxis have no meters and charge up to £20 for a 10min ride in a country where you can have lunch for £1.

If you can get a good deal where you get an all inclusive package and enjoy free aquatic sports, buffet dinning and sunbathing, then this might be your dream holiday.

On the other hand, if your expectations are set for that little bit extra that tends to come with a 4+ star, just look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagnetikRob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
27.5 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
28.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Property: La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing